Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

O K

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Staff are kind and helpful.
Cons: computer in business center should have someone to help.
Location: many resturants
1. The first night the blancket is too thick and hot. After changed to a thinner blancket then is OK. 2. The computer in business center cannot go to internet. It is only for check in and money exchange money. No staff can help me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Zion, IL

Nice hotel..walking distance from night life.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Staff
Location: Walking distance to any club or restaurant you would like. We walked to the zoo (about 2 miles) and visited Petco Park....
I booked the room through Expedia - the "surprise" booking so I was not surprised (nor disappointed) that the room was VERY small. That said, it was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff was excellent! Very helpful and friendly. The Salt Box bar/restaurant (equivalant to a "lobby" bar was excellent! Overall our stay was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Great rooms! Very confortable beds and great staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the five star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Chicago, Illinois

Great boutique hotel in Gas Lamp district

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: Gas Lamp district is full of fabulous restaurants, the House of Blues, and Horton Plaza is just a block away from the hotel.
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Staff was extremely courteous, warm and friendly. Closeness to restaurants, shopping and Petco Park made it very easy to walk. Very upscale feeling with beautiful interior design elements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the five star review Kelly. I'm really happy you enjoyed our warm and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Lee from Sweden

Nice for pet-friendly hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Modern look
Location: Good location. In walking distance of various restaurants and stores.
Was not aware it was a pet-friendly hotel. Upon arrival there was a dog smell in the halls and also the bottom of the beds had scratches and found silverfish in the room. Hotel staff was friendly but just didn't feel comfortable in the room so had an early check-out
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Sorry about the pet issues Lee. We do have non-pet floors. I'm sorry we didn't get you on the right floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Palm Springs

Amazing staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Short one night stay with two well behaved companion Labradors. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and efficient. These people obviously love their job. As for being a great pet hotel, I haven't found any better than the Kimpton chain. Hardwood floors take the worry out of any possible accidents and ensure optimum cleanliness in the room. Brilliant hotel design. Only wish more would take a similar design approach. The only small negative is that the street culture outside of the hotel door is not the most inviting. Not unsafe, but definitely a bit of a downscale streetscape type of feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks Scott for the great review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great area and great room

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The hotel is in a great area (gas lamp district) and my room looked exactly like the pictures (only the view was different). If they renovated the hallways to match the rooms and loby it would be a 5 star experience. Parking is expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the four star review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall - a good stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in close proximity to the main transit lines - both trolley and buses.
Cons: Why not offer non-alcoholic alternatives during the happy hour (ie. coffee and juice for the kids)?
Location: Close to Horton Plaza (mall), Petco Field, convention center, Waterfront walk; historic Gaslamp district is just down the street
We enjoyed our stay at the Palomar. The room was clean and the staff were friendly, competent and courteous. Downtown location was quiet for the most part - some early morning (2:00am) noise as guests returned to their rooms. It seemed to us that the hotel catered to the "party crowd" rather than families as free glasses of wine were offered each afternoon at the main entrance. The hotel restaurant was too expensive and offered a limited menu - again more of a cocktail lounge than a restaurant. The sign on the street outside the hotel restaurant read: "Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker." Hard to miss the emphasis here. Appreciated the complementary morning coffee and tea. Overall it was a great place to stay and relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Henry from Buena Park

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel me and my girl had fun!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks Henry, glad to hear you and your girl had fun.