Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Chicago, Illinois

Great boutique hotel in Gas Lamp district

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: Gas Lamp district is full of fabulous restaurants, the House of Blues, and Horton Plaza is just a block away from the hotel.
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Staff was extremely courteous, warm and friendly. Closeness to restaurants, shopping and Petco Park made it very easy to walk. Very upscale feeling with beautiful interior design elements.
3 out of 5
by Lee from Sweden

Nice for pet-friendly hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Modern look
Location: Good location. In walking distance of various restaurants and stores.
Was not aware it was a pet-friendly hotel. Upon arrival there was a dog smell in the halls and also the bottom of the beds had scratches and found silverfish in the room. Hotel staff was friendly but just didn't feel comfortable in the room so had an early check-out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Palm Springs

Amazing staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Short one night stay with two well behaved companion Labradors. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and efficient. These people obviously love their job. As for being a great pet hotel, I haven't found any better than the Kimpton chain. Hardwood floors take the worry out of any possible accidents and ensure optimum cleanliness in the room. Brilliant hotel design. Only wish more would take a similar design approach. The only small negative is that the street culture outside of the hotel door is not the most inviting. Not unsafe, but definitely a bit of a downscale streetscape type of feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great area and great room

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The hotel is in a great area (gas lamp district) and my room looked exactly like the pictures (only the view was different). If they renovated the hallways to match the rooms and loby it would be a 5 star experience. Parking is expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall - a good stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in close proximity to the main transit lines - both trolley and buses.
Cons: Why not offer non-alcoholic alternatives during the happy hour (ie. coffee and juice for the kids)?
Location: Close to Horton Plaza (mall), Petco Field, convention center, Waterfront walk; historic Gaslamp district is just down the street
We enjoyed our stay at the Palomar. The room was clean and the staff were friendly, competent and courteous. Downtown location was quiet for the most part - some early morning (2:00am) noise as guests returned to their rooms. It seemed to us that the hotel catered to the "party crowd" rather than families as free glasses of wine were offered each afternoon at the main entrance. The hotel restaurant was too expensive and offered a limited menu - again more of a cocktail lounge than a restaurant. The sign on the street outside the hotel restaurant read: "Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker." Hard to miss the emphasis here. Appreciated the complementary morning coffee and tea. Overall it was a great place to stay and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Although we didnt get to spend much time there, we had a great stay except fornthe hallway noise.... perfect!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel, great staff, clean rooms.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Wood floors, up to date furniture, clean, friendly staff, great location.
Highly recommend!!!!!!!! The hotel was in an excellent location. The staff was very friendly and always readily available when necessary. The hotel room was extremely clean and up to date. I love the wood floors in the room and the furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel near the Gaslamp District

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Spacious, beautiful rooms. Free Internet. Inviting pool and gym. Board games in the lobby! Wine tasting each evening.
Cons: We wished that parking were free. Pastries to enjoy with the morning coffee and tea would have been nice.
Location: Perfect location! The Gaslamp District and convention center are within walking distance from the hotel. Balboa Park is an easy drive.
Very pleasant! A beautiful building with a rooftop pool and almost every amenity you could wish for. Delicious coffee in lobby in the mornings, nightly wine tastings, and cucumber water all day long.
3 out of 5
by Terri from Salt Lake City

Nice hotel but located on a noisy street.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Wine hour, friendly staff and gym, pool were a nice bonus.
Cons: Sound proof the windows or at least provide a white noise machine in the room.
Location: Great for bars and dining and very close to Balboa Park and airport.
The staff were wonderful, I arrived early and they were able to allow early check in. Nice lobby and so nice to have free coffee and wine! My only complaint was that I had a room facing 5th Street and the noise made sleeping incredibly difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Gas Lamp District San Diego

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: See above
Just a great experience and great to be able to walk to all destinations.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thanks for the Five Star review!