Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Comfortable spot in convenient location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The complimentary wine happy hour and convenient location were wonderful.
Cons: The bathrooms!
Our experience at Hotel Palomar was great, with one major exception--the bathrooms. The design of the rooms' bathroom doors prevented them from being fully closed. The sliding doors left large gaps on either side, making using the restroom a very public experience for anyone sharing a room. Also, the showers did not have doors/curtains and were glass paneled, preventing any sort of privacy. Luckily this was not an issue for my boyfriend and I, but I can imagine this being an issue for many travelling companions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

4 night stay

Posted Nov 19, 2014
We just returned from a four night stay at the Palomar. First thing I have to say is the hotel staff is phenomenal from reception to the bar and everyone in between this hotel showers you with friendly service. The hotel itself is located in the heart of the gas lamp district and is walking distance to a million restraraunts, bars and shops. The hotel has a really great bar called the saltlik that made fab margueritas. The atmosphere in the bar is really nice open funky concept. The hotel itself is nice, clean and the pool area was never busy and comfortable. As for our room the bathroom was completely remodelled and is really nice the only complaint I had about the washroom was the shower head is a rainfall from overhead and there is no directional water flow - in my travels I have found most rainfall shower heads are accompanied by a directional hand held at minimum. The bedroom area was really small but it was more about the configuration of the room the huge king bed ate up the whole room and the really small closet runs along one side of the bed so it's a one person area that is crowded to get your clothes in and it's pretty cramped. The desk and tv sit at the foot of the bed and the desk is a little worn and tv a bit small BUT I didn't go to San Diego to lie in bed and watch tv so it was no big deal. I would stay again and maybe upgrade to a suite for space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice hotel closs to the Gaslamp district .

Posted Nov 11, 2014
I really enjoy how young and hip the hotel is . The complimentary wine between 5 and 6 in the evening is an awesome touch as it brings together the folks from the hotel . I also enjoy that the hotel is a pet friendly hotel, it makes me feel like I'm at home .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I had a nice experience. Staff was friendly. We got two free drink vouchers upon arrival, that was nice. Our room was upgraded for free loved the balcony. I did have trouble with the t.v. It turned itself off constantly and took a while to turn back on. I think it would also be nice if they had an in room coffee maker. Over all I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again and just bring instant coffee next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Patty, Hotel Management
Hello Christina We appreciate the feedback and nice comments about your recent stay I'm sorry that you missed the coffee maker in the guestroom. We do have complimentary coffee service in the lobby and I hope you were able to enjoy that during your stay. If there is a way we can make your stay even more comfortable in the future, please do not hesistate to let me know. Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel room with hardwood floors!

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Loved the hardwood floors and yoga mat. Staff acted quickly on maintenance request and gave me a very early check-in (9 AM)!
Stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at the Convention Center. It's about a 10 minute walk. Hotel rate was very reasonable. Good coffee available in the lobby instead of coffee machines in each room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about yyour recent stay! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that it was convenient for you related to the conference you were attending. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Perfect position.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Virtually everything.
Cons: Breakfast excellent.evening meal not as good.
Location: Location could not have been better.
All dealt with professionally. Room well thought out.Bed very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Patty, Hotel Management
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Palomar San Diego. We appreciate reading your kind notes about the staff as well! Thank you! Sincerely, Patty Fletcher
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough but overpriced

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Free wifi
Location: Walking distance to some fun restaurants and bars
The staff was very friendly and the location was great. I just think for the price it should at least come with complimentary wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the four star review. At Kimpton Hotels if you sign up for our Karma Rewards Program, wifi is free at any of our hotels. Hope that helps for next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Location: excellent location in Gas Lamp...restaurants of every cuisine within a few blocks. Stayed here for a convention. Nice walk to CC every day.
Great hotel. Concierge Mike is awesome and totally helpful. Fitness center, pool, restaurant, location all great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the five star review and the shout out for Mike our amazing concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria Bc Canada

Great place!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: This is the place to stay, perfectly located next to the Gas Lamp district and within easy walking distance of everything
Location: Sooo totally centrally located to everything!
Really nice hotel, exceptional staff and service, rooftop bar and pool were great, concierge was fantastic, if you need anything this is the guy to see! we were on the 8th floor at the back, not bad view, rooms were very well laid out, only con was the bed, frame stuck out beyond the mattress and made for some bruises/cuts on the shin. Call the front desk for ice, they had it to your room lickety split.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for such a nice review Schmenge. I'm glad you had a great stay and Michael our concierge took care of everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton AB

Excellent location, exceptional staff,great choice

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were very nice with huge bathroom. Complimentary coffee every morning and wine sampling at 5pm daily.
Cons: Bed wasn't very comfortable- Slight crater on one side shows the wear (or staff should flip mattress). Valet parking was $40, bit steep for guests?
Location: From restaurants to bars to shopping, it's all there within a mile. Be prepared on weekends as it is the Gaslamp Quarter and there are lots of people
Down the street from the Gaslamp Quarter, very close to all restaurants, shopping and activities. Close proximity to San Diego Zoo and airport. We stayed for a week and were able to walk to most places including Petco Park. Valet parking was a bit pricey but the had the car out front in 10 min and staff always opened and closed doors for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks Blair for the great review. I'm glad you loved the hotel and our location.