Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Great hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, right on the edge of gaslamp quarter, and on the trolley. Hotel itself is very cool, rooftop pool and bar are particularly nice.
Cons: Real bathroom doors are better than semi-transparent sliding glass doors...
Location: Downtown San Diego, trolley, airport, Balboa park, Petco park.
Went to San Diego for some business meetings downtown and stayed a few more days with my wife. Nice weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale,Fl

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: In walking distance to everything downtown and the water front.
Cons: I think you could improve the frosted glass bathroom door! You need to change that! No privacy!
Nice boutique hotel. Close to water front and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice, but you pay for it!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff.
Cons: Give us a breakfast at least.
Location: Right down town - if you like that - go for it!
Nice hotel, friendly staff, but you pay extra for everything but the bed and bath. NO PARKING - $40 for valet service. NO BREAKFAST - just coffee. If you have money to spare, by all means stay here - otherwise think twice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel quality was OK.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The hotel quality wasn't great seeing its 4.5 star rating. Housekeeping was poor and not timely. Amenities were basic. AC was not working satisfactorily in hot climate. Location and Valet services were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a great location in the gaslamp

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location and style. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Met lots of interesting people during the wine tasting in the foyer
Cons: We like a hard bed and the beds are slightly soft
Location: Eating and entertainment nearby and a short drive to the harbour. San Diego zoo within walking distance. Cafe 21 nearby has a breakfast to die for.
Great location, very near to lots of great restaurants and entertainment, lot of live music. Love the Kimpton tradition of wine tasting every night between 5 and 6. Met some really cool people and able to swap stories of San Diego and its surrounds. Fantastic front door. never seen anything like it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Best choice ever.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We landed in San Diego with no idea where we were going to stay. We looked at a few spots but didn't like the reviews. Finally we decided to go to Palomar. The price was a lil high we paid 161 a night, but that was a discounted price and we booked it at the last min. The reviews looked pretty good, but it wasn't until we actually went inside when we were blown away. The staff was friendly and upgraded us to a suite free of charge due to the room being sold. The room was so spacious and very appealing. The only thing I wish they had were a pullout sofa bed so me and my brother could sleep comfortably, and not in the same bed. Besides that it was the best decision ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

One of the best hotels in the Gaslamp District

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Location: In the Gaslamp District there are a ton of restaurants, bars, hookah lounges, etc.
My experience at the Palomar San Diego was amazing. The moment we walked in the staff was amazing and very personable. When we go to the room it was very clean with a great view of the gas lamp district. The hotel is right in the heart of the gas lamp district so my boyfriend and I were able to walk around and find the best restaurants and bars without driving or taking a taxi. Lastly, their pool and outdoor bar is amazing. I will definitely be staying there again and I recommend that everyone stay at such an amazing hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great stay!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Amazing, Good price and the staff were absolutely brilliant. Very comfortable indeed! Didn't want to leave :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

Nice hotel close to the Gaslamp are of San Diego

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Room was larger than expected. View on 4th floor (#405) was terrible and only other drawback was the location of the TV, on a desk at side of bed, so in order to watch it you ended up with a stiff neck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks Gordon. Sorry about the TV location in that room. We'll take a look at it and see if we can move it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Big dog friendly hotel in the Gaslamp

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Let us check in early, dog friendly, hosted happy hour.
Cons: Have ice bucket in room, clean glassware in room, updated furniture, friendlier front desk agents,
Location: Walking distance to many trendy bars in the Gaslamp distance. Exciting nightlife and fun pool.
We booked this hotel for a staycation getaway with our two dogs. Kimpton hotels do not have breed restrictions, and with a Rottweiler they are nearly the only hotel chain that I can bring my pup to. I had never stayed at the chain, but they boasted dog beds and bowls upon request so I went ahead and filled out the online form to request this and figured I'd be all set. We showed up and not only was the front desk agent quite rude, but got to our room and we didn't have any of the items we had requested for our pets. After multiple calls for dog bowls, beds, and an ice bucket, we were able to relax. Maybe it was because we had a pet-friendly room, but the furniture was extremely scratched and worn. The hosted wine hour was a nice touch, and we had a cool balcony that we could look down to the pool from. The concierge was really helpful since we weren't given basic info when we checked in. Overall, a decent spot and like I said one of our only options to bring our big dog to. Don't think I would stay here again, but wouldn't rule out the chain in general. Pros -Accommodated early check-in request -Big dog friendly -Hosted Wine Hour Cons -Rude front desk agent -Had to call multiple times for dog beds, bowls, ice bucket -No pet relief area, only a little strip of dirt around the corner -Lipstick on our in-room glassware -Extremely Scratched and worn desk and nightstand