Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk River, MN

Best Stay Ever

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: I can't think of anything I would improve.
Location: Being in the city there were homeless around, but that is the experience I would expect. It was convenient to be able to take the metro transit.
I have never stayed in such a lovely hotel! The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the design and style were beautiful. I loved the shower head being on the ceiling and having the water pour over me like rain. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure my needs were being met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fabulous stay in the Gas Light District

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful. The rooms were excellent. Overall, I loved everything.
Cons: A full shower door would be a nice improvement.
Location: The use of the hotel bikes were great to get to the bay quite quickly as well as the ferry to Coronodo. Lots of great places to eat all around.
We had a wonderful stay at the Palomar San Diego. The rooms were clean and modern, yet comfortable. A great stay for a romantic weekend. The only complaint about the room would be the lack of a shower door (a cool modern look, but makes for a chilly shower. We loved all of the features that the Palomar offered, including the free bike rentals. The staff was impeccable; all were very attentive, friendly and super helpful. I highly recommend staying at the Palomar San Diego. It will not disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Alberta

Central location with form over function in design

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, contemporary design, convenient location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Balboa Park and the waterfront are walking distance, and there's a trolley stop right outside.
It's a nice little hotel with a lot of contemporary design features. They seem to have selected form over function, as the showers spray water all over the bathroom floor and the sinks don't drain properly - but it all looks very nice. The staff are fine. The exercise room is barely adequate. The cleanliness is questionable - we found hair from the prior guest plastered all over the shower wall, so they clearly aren't doing a thorough job of cleaning the place. The windows in the exercise room are literally caked in filth. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is quiet - no street noise noticeable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel, but not for families

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Location: It is near multiple restaurants
This is a nice hotel but I went with my wife and two kids (10 and 12) and it is more of a club environment than what I was expecting. Of the three days we were there, the pool was closed for reserved parties for two of the days. The one day we did go to the pool, it was more of a bar hangout. The beds are pretty small, but comfortable. Parking is $39 a night. We booked this through the Expedia "mystery name".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wouldn't stay at again

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: the location and the staff were both great.
Cons: Plumbing, and if there is any way to help with being able to sound proof the rooms just a little bit more.
Location: it was a great location, in the middle of the gaslamp district, super close to a lot of things that were easy to walk to.
The hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating, I cannot say enough good things about them. But the room itself was oddly set up, the TV was in a weird place, the bathroom sink and shower seemed to be backed up because the water would take forever to drain. But the worst part was I could hear EVERYTHING in the hall way and in the next room. I mean I could have joined in my neighbors' conversation. For those reasons I wouldn't recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from newcastle england

Location great with this high end hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Hotel and rooms are fabulous. Very clean, comfortable bed with plenty of space in the room. Concierge very helpful. Complimentary coffee in the mornings in the lobby and wine in the evening. Located on 5th ave so few minutes walk to the bars and restaurants and about 15 to the marina. Only downside is the parking. Could not see self parking option and the valet was $39 per night which I thought was expensive given have paid for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jorge Colombia

Nice hotel, very convenient location; near all

Posted Jun 5, 2014
I was with my family spending 3 marvelous days in San Diego Palomar hotel is located just in the heart of touristic San Diego; close to the beautiful touristic places and fantastic reataurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
I'm so glad you and your family had a great stay at the Palomar and San Diego. Come back and see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Chanfe

Downtown gaslamp

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Great boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, Gaslamp district. Very modern decor, have a interesting large single door entry into the lobby. Valet was very helpful unfortunately is 35.00 a day for valet parking, but that is common for all downtown hotels. They were able to check us in an hour early, which is a treat. Rooms have dark hardwood flooring but are a little plain. Need to put some artwork on the large bare wall. The bed and linens are very comfortable and we slept well. Unfortunateyou they don't have a coffee machine in the room, but offer free coffee in the lobby. For being on the 17th floor, we had a horrible view, but it is understandable considering we got the room 50% off thearly normal rate. Would definitely stay again, asking for a better city view
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks John for the nice review. Yes, parking is a premium in San Diego and most downtown areas. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and hopefully we can find a nicer view your next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Las Vegas, NV

Awesome hotel in the heart of San Diego

Posted May 27, 2014
This hotel is right in the middle of it all. The staff was great and very accommodating...we had a noise complaint with our neighbors and they dealt with it effectively. The valet service was awesome and well with easy in and out rights (though a little pricy at $39 a night). My only one 'complaint' was that the bathroom doors are a little awkward. There is about a 1" gap between the glass on the door and the wall...so ever single sound that could come from a bathroom can be heard on the opposite side of the bedroom. If you are comfortable with who you are staying with then it shouldn't be a problem. The bottom line is that I would definitely stay here again...a phenomenal hotel with a great bar in the lobby, awesome staff, right in the heart of downtown. I couldn't ask for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review Steve. I'm really thankful for the comments about our great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel downtown San Diego

Posted May 3, 2014
Great hotel!! The staff was Great, the room was perfect and my overall stay there was awesome. Highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great comments about our staff.