Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't like how it was downtown. .

Posted Sep 12, 2014
I'm older so would have preferred to not be downtown on the main strip... If you wanna party and night life.. great location then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, only issue is the noise downstairs

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Hotel is very nice, lovely staff.. Noisy bar downstairs and some street noise, even on the 8th floor. Good location in downtown very close to good restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in awesome location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Awesome new, clean, comfortable hotel in a great location close to Gaslamp District with plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs etc. Staff were friendly (including the dog at reception). Nice pool and good value for money!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel downtown San Diego

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Very nice, clean hotel. Only complaint is due to it's location, noise level was high. Hard to sleep through all the noise. Other than that, great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Palomar: Nice but Staff/Organization Issues

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: LOCATION! Clean, nice, tidy, fast elevators, attractive, nice people.
Cons: Front desk organization/procedures. Could not find CLEARLY addressed box with my conf number, could not make wake-up call anywhere near on time.
Location: Lots! A block from Orange and Blue Line trolley stop & buses. Half a block from Broadway. 5th Ave has tons of Gaslight Quarter restaurants. Shops.
This hotel is in 5th and Broadway, close to everything and to transit. GREAT location. It is a boutique-style, very stylized and comfortable. There are available treats and beverages in the room, but high prices ($6 for a pint of bottled water, as I recall), so get your room treats and water elsewhere, like the 7-Eleven on the corner of 5th and Broadway. Has complimentary wine hour, and coffee in the lobby in the morning. Comfy room and bed, very cool/spacious bathroom, nice appointments and style. Very nice lobby, good for hanging out, reading, chatting. Nice and pleasant staff, fast to visit the room as needed. I did not choose housekeeping while I was there. Issues: - I shipped a box, which arrived before I did, and they could not recognize who signed for it, or find it for well over 1/2 hour after I checked in. Someone at the front desk had put it in the wrong place. - TV programming freaked out on night 2 - showing ALL channels as "restricted" , and one of the "listed" channels (SyFy) disappeared forever). - Clock doesn't seem to have any alarm time changing ability. - Therefore, I specifically requested a wake-up call for 8:30am, and they didn't do the call until 9:15am. Same guy at front desk that morning as the day my box was signed for and "went missing". Probably pricey, but I got on an Expedia package deal. I would stay again, but would bring my own alarm clock, and ship box at least 3 days earlier than I did, and harangue them BEFORE I arrived to find it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good for city folk...

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Great bar downstairs and comfy bed
Cons: Staff attitude (except the car valets who were incredibly helpful and kind everyday)
Location: Great for bars and restaurants at night. No worry about drinking and driving as everything was in walking distance.
We were expecting a boutique hotel vibe downtown and Hotel Palomar lived up to expectations. I think we were confused about what we wanted though... The hotel is great if you want a downtown, city feel. There is a great bar downstairs and it is really conveniently located to all the bars and restaurants of the Gaslamp. What we forgot was all the drunken, loud people that would be staying at this hotel. Our room was on the same floor as the pool, so there was constant foot traffic outside the room during the day, and what felt like a rave going on at night at the pool bar. Not to mention the drunken idiots stumbling back to the room, slamming doors at 3am EVERY night. I know I sound older than my years and I like a good night out as much as the next person, but this was ridiculous. Hotel Palomar is clean and comfy with a great location, but just be sure you know what you're signing up for. Also, parking was a pain. There were no overnight parking lots close by so we were forced to valet the car for a $40 charge each night. Next time we are in San Diego, we'll be staying closer to the bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

I Enjoyed my stay! Good Value for the price!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Comfy Bed and nice rooms
Cons: My bar fridge was overheating a bit and a bit warm...
Great comfortable hotel at the top of 5th St, near loads of restaurants in Gaslamp district and 10 minutes slow walk to convention centre where I was heading. They had a free wine tasting between approx. 5-7pm. Pool area was a bit crowded when I went there so didn't hang out there and the pool is small compared to the larger hotels like Marriot Marquis but the price is also different. As I was attending a conference rather than a resort holiday it was great for my needs and price range. No breakfast buffet only a la carte and the serves are generous! Overall it was an enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel but for the price could be way better.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
At arrival noticed some stains and areas that could be cleaner in the room. The bed was extremely noisy. Certain items where very upscale and comfortable. Tv location could be set higher for comfortable view. Windows where dirty. Overall it's a good hotel for $100-$150 not $250 ... But it's all Bout location location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Quality, cleanliness and location
Location: Convention center, harbour with boat tours, Petco Park, San Diego Zoo and 100's of quality restaurants.
Awesome hotel, close to everything with the Gaslamp Quarter. We were able to walk anywhere, including the convention center and pier. The staff were very accommandating and helpful. We would stay at his hotel again, no questions asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Nice environment
Cons: Need coffee machine in the room!
Location: The location was wonderful!
I didn't want to leave. It was in a perfect location.