Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great rooms, friendly staff

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Very impressed from the second we checked in. Staff was very nice and always willing to help. Free breakfast was very good compared to most I've had. The room was awesome! Great bathroom, soft bed, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

classy cottage on the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Words can not describe waking up to the sound of the ocean and close up view of sea lions and dolphins . You will get your peace back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and atmosphere

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff, the flowers, the free parking, the breakfast....
Location: I love to walk to the shops in La Jolla and stay locally for meals....when I am in La Jolla I don't need to go anywhere else.
I was on a getaway for myself and was warmly greeted. I was given an upgrade which was a nice surprise. Instead of a studio, I enjoyed a large one bedroom apartment with a beach view. I have stayed at many places in San Diego and the Pantai Inn was the best yet....free parking, a nice continental breakfast and right next to the beach in La Jolla...it doesn't get any better!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to the ocean!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We had a great view and great sitting deck. Unfortunately the room next door had one also. The guests next door had a two year old that continued to throw tantrums that the parent thought was very cute. Unfortunately we were unable to use this commodity that we paid $500 a night for. Front desk just said a oh well I'm sorry we were all sold out last night. I wanted them to know how disappointed we were before I wrote a review and the manager on duty really could have cared less. We could have paid for a cheaper room and gotten the same use of the hotel. We will not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great location!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Pan Tai Inn. Close to retail, restaurants, seal cove and beaches. We will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Partial View is a Stretch

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Great location, just across from the park above the cove. But unless you choose a bungalow with full view of the ocean don't count on a view or any sense you are at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Not on the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: New and fresh
Cons: Take it as it is, you will be pleased.
Location: We ate at George's and a few other local restaurants. You can get anything from a 5 star eatery to just local fast food on Prospect, two blocks up.
It is beside a park and across the street from the beach. So you get some traffic and noise from street and park. But it was not a big distraction. Overall we were very pleased and plan on returning to this "boutique" hotel. Wonderful breakfast every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

the hotel is Very Very Nice!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The location is great! The staff is very nice and thoughtful! And the warmly yard, the beautiful view of ocean. We have a great family holiday here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield UK

Great hotel and great location.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Lots! The bed and bedding were quality.
Cons: A small on site shop for basics maybe?
Location: Very close to the beach and open green spaces to picnic and play ball games etc. There are lots of galleries and a museum of contemporary art.
Warm welcome by friendly, helpful and professional staff. Ideal location for beach and restaurants/shops etc. The cottage had everything you could need and was well appointed and very comfortable. The grounds were well kept and attractive. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from La Quinta, Ca

Great ocean view

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The rooms are actually little apartments, separate BR, LR, Bath and Kitchens. A bit pricey but great value.
Cons: As of June 2014 they are expanding right now, so they are still gearing up their maintenance and service to accommodate the extra units and traffic.
Location: Steps from the oceanfront park and waves. Short walk to Prospect St where all of the restaurants, bars and shops are. Location is a 10.
This was our 6th time visiting this property. We will not stay anywhere else in La Jolla Cove.