Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Something Different

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Recommended if you go with kids, a lot of activities and noise for them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

A tired resort in the middle of a bay.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff. All very friendly and helpful. The main pool was nice.
Cons: The room(s) need some serious updating. The resort fees could include a lot more. Think Hyatt.
Location: Essentially an island in Mission Bay. Sea World is across the street. Legoland was a quick drive, as were the local beaches.
My expectations were high with the description and reviews. Upon arrival, I knew I had made a mistake. Our room had a mildew smell, our bathtub/shower was old with rust spots, and our "garden view" consisted of a 3x6 patio against a hedge. Sure, there are other rooms with better views, but it wouldn't have been worth the additional rate increase. The description boasts of all the things you can do with your "Paradise Passport", which isn't included with your room rate. Basketball & tennis courses, the pools, gym, all the standard stuff is included with your daily resort fee. Everything else, plan to pay a premium. The beach, really is a bay, big difference. Fire pits you can use, if you supply the firewood, etc. They didn't even provide beach umbrellas or chairs without a rental fee. The highlight of the trip, the staff is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Traveler, thank you for taking the time to provide us with both compliments and suggestions for improvement. We regret hearing that some aspects of the hotel did not meet your expectations, but trust that the many positive components —convenient location, five pools, friendly staff — will bring you back for another stay in the future. Best, David Hall General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Nice relaxing location, close to everything...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The pools were lovely, and the grounds are very well maintained.
Cons: There needs to be menus of all the resort restaurants, opening and closing times of amenities, etc.within their information booklet in the room!
Location: The location is nestled in central San Diego area, with almost everything within a short drive! Loved it!
Paradise Point Resort and Spa was a welcome respite at the end of our trip. The staff at the resort were always very helpful for whatever we needed. Many of the staff went above and beyond our expectations! As for the location itself, the grounds are very well maintained. They have done a very good job of making it lush. If you didn't know better, you would think you were in Hawaii!! You can tell the resort is older, but everything is kept very clean and maintained. My biggest complaint about the resort is that you had to actively find any information regarding opening and closing times of any of the amenities, menus from the resort's restaurants, etc. Travelling with a family, it would have been nice to have this information at our fingertips so that we could plan our day within the resort instead of wasting time trekking all over trying to find out. All in all, a lovely experience, and I will definitely go back there again! Just one tip: be careful when wading out in the waters by the beach in Mission Bay. There are small round rays in the water that can come very, very close to the beach, and while they are not poisonous, they can cause you significant harm. Make lots of splashing and noise as you enter the water, and they will go away!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from europe

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The resort is pretty old and you can see that from the rooms in particular. There are many pools but pretty small..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beautiful view and property

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: I liked the location that it was closed to everything.
Cons: Either include the extra fees in the total price so that you don't get an unexpected bill at the end.
Location: Sea World, Mission Bay
I liked the location and the beautiful property. I didn't like that they tack on a extra resort fee of 24.00 and 34.00 for car fee. Our room didn't get cleaned one day and they didn't clean it very well. The room also had some dents on the wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bay view rooms are great, beds not so much

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This was our third stay and probably the last. The location and ambiance is great, but the beds have very creaky springs and the partying neighbors can be loud and obnoxious (the latter more prominent in the summer; much quieter during spring break). The sofa bed is cheap, poorly padded and also very creaky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Layout of grounds, pool, restaurants on premises.
Cons: More 2 bedroom options.
Location: Seaworld, Mission Beach, La Jolla
Too short because we were coming from another hotel. We loved the main pool, Barefoot restaurant although very crowded. Kids loved the Caveman pizza and mini golf. Didn't have time to do the water sports, bikes etc. We would definately come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
High price Bad internet They are just locking for collecting money from the customers without giving any thing except lies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lima

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The place is beutiful but the rooms are not what we expected
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I never recommend this hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The price is very expensive, in addition, you have to pay for parking ($34/per night) and a passport ($24/per day). But, if you cannot use this passport to rent a bicycle, you have to pay additional fee. Moreover, breakfast is not included. It is not "all inclusive" at all. In terms of room, we can see only road. I must say again, it is too expensive, but too disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Traveler, we appreciate the review from your visit. It sounds as though our hotel did not meet your expectations, which were for an all-inclusive resort experience. Unfortunately, this is not an option we offer to guests, and we apologize for any confusion that led you to believe and expect this from our resort. Nonetheless, we feel we offer an exceptional vacation experience for a great value, and hope you will reconsider staying with us again the next time you visit San Diego. Best, David Hall General Manager