Ratings based on 1,134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany, CA

Nice location, there for a conference

Posted May 22, 2015
I really like the Hotel Staff. They are friendly and helpful, responsive to requests. Downsides: 1. The floor of our room was filthy; our feet turned black right after bathing just by walking in the room. 2. I overpaid for this stay by booking through Expedia instead of through the conference rate. I thought we were getting a Superior room for this difference but that turned out to be wrong and so I was very disappointed. The hotel wouldn't make an accommodation, citing 3rd party fees.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, great location

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The location
Hotel charges a no show fee even if you call ahead and tell them your flight is delayed. They will not inform you that they are going to not only charge you for the room. But will also add on an additional night. They advertise pool side service, but do not provide it. The gift shop is way over priced. They do not restock towels. Bike rentals are 3 times higher than off the island. They have extra fees beside the resort fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Truly paradise

Posted May 18, 2015
Beautiful room, lanai and grounds with excellent customer service. I will definitely go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted May 18, 2015
It was an awesome place to stay but I think just because I got my booking through Expedia, the room was not that great. I think I could have gotten a better room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Paradise in San Diego

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The tropical Beauty
OMG It was like being in the Caribbean. Felt like a tropical wonderful place to spend my wedding anniversary.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Francisco, thank you for sharing details of your visit and congrats on your anniversary! We’re delighted you choose to celebrate such a special occasion at Paradise Point, and even more pleased to hear the resort exceeded your expectations. We’d be honored to have you as our guest again in the future. Best, David Hall Managing Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom napa, ca

Almost Paradise! Had a blast!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Food, grounds, beach, pools, ponds, fish, fire pits, bike rentals
Cons: Mini bar would be nice, nicer towels, softer beds
Location: Ponds filled with beautiful fish, wild exotic birds, turtles, pool area with bar and taco stand, so much to do! Rent bikes, tennis, paddle boarding
We loved our stay at Paradise Point and would like to stay there again, and stay longer next time! Beautiful grounds, waterfalls, ponds, pools, wildlife, so much to do and see! Pools were lovely and pool area very clean and comfortable. Restaurants were excellent. Staff very friendly and efficient. Hotel store had a wide variety of items, so if you forget your swimsuit or just want to buy sunglasses or a hat or a new dress or shirt, they have it all - even toys and ice cream for the kids! I loved how they have bags of food you can buy to feed the fish and ducks and turtles. Restaurants for any occasion from breakfast, to lunch, happy hour, pizza joint, taco stand, or fine dining. Tried them all and they were all excellent! Well, pizza was a bit greasy and salty, but yum! Kids and I had a blast! Wedding we attended was so beautiful even though it rained! :-) in my opinion, it was perfect! Only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because the beds were very hard and the towels were a bit rough and rooms don't get cleaned every day, or at least mine didn't. Went a couple days with no toilet paper and only 2 towels. I'm sure they would have brought me some but I just made do. Also walls are very thin and we could hear our neighbors tv and hear them talking.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star review on Expedia! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our San Diego resort, including our friendly staff, tropical grounds, wildlife residents and assortment of dining options. We appreciate the comments regarding the guestroom beds and amenities, and will look into improving the quality to better our guest experience. We’re looking forward to your next vacation at Paradise Point! Best, David Hall Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island, Canada

Kid friendly resort with amazing amenities

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We recently spent a week at this resort and wished we could have stayed longer. We chose this resort because of the beach access and beach-like entry pools that our two year old could walk into and play in the shallow end of. It turns out that they have 4 of these pools and we tried 3 of them out. Warning... The website photos show a sand-bottomed pool which doesn't exist as they got rid of the sand. The staff were very friendly, the wifi coverage was great, the island market carries many clothes/souvenirs and alcohol but no food beyond snacks, the resort is surrounded by sandy beach, the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are quaint. There is also a bus stop right in front of the resort that goes to Seaworld and Old Town which we used daily. Our only complaints were that the bathtubs weren't very nice and felt dirty, the Caveman pizza was nearly inedible and the salad was bagged lettuce, and the bike rentals were crazy expensive. I also had called in advance for a room that let out onto a garden for our toddler and was checked into a room that let out onto a road. They were gracious and moved us the next day, but it was an inconvenience. I would come back to this resort for sure because the positives far surpassed the small negatives. An amazing family retreat !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Melissa, thanks for the excellent review of Paradise Point! It makes us glad you had a pleasant stay at our San Diego resort. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed our pools, friendly staff, tropical grounds and transportation options. We appreciate your comments regarding the bathtubs, all of which we will be overhauling soon. Regarding your experience with Caveman Pizza, we sincerely apologize for the subpar quality. This restaurant is typically a favorite among guests for its value and variety, so we have passed your comments on to our Food & Beverage Director to see what may have occurred during your stay. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again for a chance to explore all five pools! Best, David Hall Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Great place to stay! The main pool was so warm, even on a windy day. The food however at all three restaurants wasn't impressive at all. We were disappointed with food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect island

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful place with great views. I'm so going back
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Hotel is old not worth the money. Good location.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We had a problem with the toilet constantly overflowing and the room had a backup sewage smell.