Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stolen stuff, and hotel crew mishandling our case.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We went there with our parents, and booked 2 rooms. They are coming from Europe, and we wanted to have a good time in San Diego. This hotel was one of the top recommended places. On our second day, we decided to stay in the hotel and enjoy the pool. Right after breakfast we received a call from the next room, our father told us that his shirt was gone missing from the hanger. We notified the front desk immediately, and gave a detailed description of missing item. They told us that they would follow up and we went to the pool. After coming back to the room, I called the front desk, since we did not hear back till then. Nobody was aware of the situation, they patched me to lost and found and someone hung up the call. I called again, somebody told me that loss prevention would be following up. On the following day, the third day, we received a voice mail at around 440pm when we were back in the room. The message was asking about the definition of the missing item. The fourth day, our last day, we noticed that there were a couple more items gone missing, stolen from our room, when we were out the day before.Throughout these days, no one from the hotel followed up, or contacted us. Their behavior was dismissive, and made us feel unimportant. We will never ever stay at a Hyatt anymore. It wasn't about a couple shirts stolen from the bag we left in the room, and one taken from the hanger - it was that the hotel staff did not care of this at all and made us feel like check books.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful facility with luscious gardens.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: Golf, peaceful. Great for families or couples
Wonderful. Such a polite and responsive staff beautiful room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in nice location away from San Diego

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Great location away from San Diego in a quiet location. Very kid friendly. Good food at restaurant. Games room. Pool and spa and great exercise facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

A Great Resort

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, beautiful property and great facilities.
Location: The location is excellent. It is about 10 minutes away from Carlsbad Downtown, beaches and 30 minutes away from San Diego.
We enjoyed our stay at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort. Hotel staff are very friendly and professional. The valet parking guys are great. The property is vast and beautiful. There are full of activities to do: golf, tennis, swim, gym, lagoon trail and game room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel- just slightly missing the mark

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Excited by our trip to SD. Seemed to be the perfect hotel. Glad we got the suite with the 2 kids. Rooms clean and spacious. Common areas beautiful. Pool and out side amenities were lacking however. Staff was either great or completely unhelpful- depending on the person. Overall enjoyed our stay, but unsure if I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Family

2 day stay in San Diego area

Posted Feb 23, 2014
A really nice hotel with good facilities. We came in late the first night and left early on the third - so did not get to enjoy facilities as much as we would like. Make the $25 "resort fee" seem unreasonable. Front desk said it paid for the "water and tea" at check in. Also, did not realize, was forced to pay $35 valet parking - no other guest option. By adding another $60 to hotel say - I sadly thought the stay was not worth it. No wi-fi available for the first 24 hours which proved annoying as I had to work in the lobby the first day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Far and Expensive

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: People and staff are friendly
Cons: Amenities !
Location: Not much . Maybe in summer
The pool wasn't heated and only valet parking. The hotel is very far off and only might be good if you play golf. Nothing for us and these hidden charges are not shown while booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelly from Regina, SK.

Beautiful hotel in Carlsbad, CA. Good location.

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: First class service - all hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.
Cons: Offer self-parking.
Location: Centrally located and only a short drive to San Diego and other attractions.
We stayed for a week in January, 2014. Although pricey, you get what you pay for. First class hotel and first class service. The only complaint was the cost of valet service which was $35/day. This is very expensive especially, when a person wants to provide the valets with a gratuity each time they valet your car. Self-parking is not an option and should be. Coffee makers are also not provided in the room which we really missed, although complimentary coffer was provided each morning on the lobby level. Golf course at the hotel is also first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LMH from Mill Valley, CA

Look no further - EXCEPTIONAL Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: The Rooms were fantastic. Very clean and well equipped and most of all comfortable.
Cons: Hours of operation of Poolside Bar / Restaurant.
My husband and I traveled to Carlsbad recently and everything was PERFECT from the moment we arrived. Valet was prompt and polite, check-in process was seamless and our room was comfortable, clean and had all amenities you would expect from a 5-star property and more. We spent the majority of our weekend in Carlsbad on the property and was impressed in all areas. The food was exceptional and staff friendly. Our only complaint if we had to think of one was that the poolside bar / restaurant doesn't open until 11:30am and we would have preferred to have breakfast poolside as the weather was quite nice. We will definitely stay at this property in the future and highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Pam from New Jersey

Bad Customer Service, Bad Room Descriptions

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Nice golf course and amenities.
Cons: Customer Service, Accuracy of Information Provided over the Phone, Disclosed Fees for Parking and Amenities at the time of Booking
We booked a package that we called the hotel to confirm the room types. Once we arrived, they told us is was a different room type--smaller than we expected. The manager said he would look into but never contacted us again. We were not so busy during our stay that it was too much trouble to deal with them about it but we truly did not appreciate how our concerns were brushed off, we were given the wrong information over the phone and we were never followed up with.