Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance of Moonlight Beach

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach and restaurants and shops in Encinitas.
Cons: Office hours
The times that the office is open are limited. We didn't plan on eating their continental breakfast which is a good thing because there is limited offerings; dry cereal and toast and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massapequa Park, NY

Great location. Around the corner from the beach.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Dee in the main lobby was very helpful. The room had a microwave, tv ,shower,coffee maker,fridge. The whirlpool was right next to our room.
Cons: The cleaning crew should clean the rooms without being asked.
Location: Its in Encinitas CA. around the corner from Lands End Beach. Tons of awesome attractions on the same road . Legoland is very close.
Clean room, courteous staff, continental breakfast . A whirlpool next to the main lobby. Our only complaint was that the cleaning staff on two occasions had to be called to clean our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The hotel was a bit outdated, but the staff was extremely nice and allowed pets, which is hard to find.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encinitas

Extreamly Dirty and Smelled Horrible

Posted Jun 26, 2014
It was horrible staying at this hotel. The room's carpet had lots of stains and smelled horrible. The towels were very small and very used. The comforters needed to be washed too. The coffee maker was very dirty. The lobby provides coffee and bread but the coffee makers were very dirty too and the bread seemed and tasted horrible. Overall a horrible experience. I will not recommend this hotel to nobody.
2 out of 5
by Leo from Los Angeles

Very, very, very bad Hotel or Motel!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Please, avoid this place, even though it's nicely located because the accommodation is old and dirty. The breakfast is free but it is really poor. It is a small cafeteria with two tables and nothing to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing ‘hotel’ near the beach.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: You can walk through residential neighborhood to beach. About 10 minutes.
Cons: Cleanliness!
Location: Off main drag with limited narrow parking spaces.
Room was basement level with only window next to concrete building. Could smell the smoke. Popcorn ceilings stained from toilet above overflowing. Carpeting dirty. Didn’t use bathtub. Left soon after we got there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, love the area

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Close to Moonlight beach and places to eat and is safe.
Cons: Newer but that wont happen.
Location: You can not beat the location, walk to beach and dozens of places to eat from pizza, Mexican , Asian to Whole Foods!
We used the Portafino for a one night stay (after a long drive) on our way to bigger and better place. We chose the Portifino due to it's location in Encinitas . We have been in the area several times and love this part of North S.D. being close to the beach and great places to eat. If you require a low budget hotel the Portifino will suit you just fine.
2 out of 5
by sr from california

Old

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: nothing
carpets were nasty, furniture looked like goodwill, parking extremely tight!!no elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabriel from Phoenix, AZ

great location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: can be more modern, with modern tv and such
Location: encinitas down town, whole foods, the beach, basically everything, great coffee shop walking distance
awesome location, neat facilities, comfy bed and spacious room. really nice!
1 out of 5
by Emad from Encinitas, Ca

Hotel falling apart

Posted Apr 27, 2014
I had the worst room and experienc in this hotel and never ever come back to this hotel. For what I paid for I could off went to five star hotel and didn't have to experience this stay, but I didn't have a choice cuz this reservation is Non refundable....