Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great spot to get away for close to nothing

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I couldnt ask for more for the price. The Staff was great so was location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: They have decided to cancel any form of breakfast. Coffee and creamer in lobby were terrible. Shower temperature changed and fluctuated on its own.
Room was nice with a comfortable bed. Parking was a bit tricky in their car ports.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It wasn't clean and not horribly friendly.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I found it to be a little dirty and the morning staff was not friendly and seemed put out by being there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Stale smelling room

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay was alright (nothing to write home about). Room smelled like cigarette smoke considering it was a NON-smoking room. Guests next door were smoking, so the smoke was blowing by our room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dennisfrom Hanford, CA

Hit and miss

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was about what I expected for the price. I enjoyed Encinitas and like the fact that the motel was walking distance to Moonlight Beach. The breakfast starts and ends early - 6:30-9:30. Parking is difficult for a full sized car. Staff friendly and helpful. No pool but have a large covered jacuzzi. I found it very bothersome that the jacuzzi doesn't open until 3:00 pm. That means if you stay two days you will have one chance to use it the first night. I will be staying in the area about twice a month and plan to look around more.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom richmond,california

Just sleep

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The parking space is not wide enough to park the minivan. I tried to park it but too tight when I back up it scratch the side mirror to the pole, so I decided to park on the front, I will never go back there again, goodbye forever
3 out of 5
Recommended
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Erikafrom San Diego, CA

Very decent - wonderful location!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a totally fine stay at the Portofino. We LOVE Encinitas and spent most of our time cruising the neighborhood and at the beach, which is super super close, so we basically just slept and showered at the motel. It was fine, the bathroom was really clean and so were the sheets. The furniture was worn out, and the TV was old, but for such a good price, it was fine. The staff was really friendly, too.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Yelenafrom San Diego

Terrible

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
First of all, I chose to stay at this hotel largely because of the advertised jacuzzi spa. When we got there, the person at the front desk told me that the spa would open at three. Long story short, it was not, and they kept pushing back the time at which it was supposed to open. Next, the shower had absolutely no pressure. I saw two cockroaches during my stay, and the rugs seem to have water damage or some kind of gross stains. The soda machine was out of stock of everything. Overall, I was disgusted by this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. It is seriously outdated and needs alot of work.