Ratings based on 1,346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Free internet - but only in the bathroom

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: Just about everything needs to be improved. Rooms, Internet, service.
Location: It's close to Legoland.
Tbh, we didn't expect much. Awe just needed a place to crash after a looong day at Legoland. A major reason for choosing this hotel was for the free internet, so we could plan the next day drive to S.F. However, the Internet only worked in the bathroom (something I didn't figure until the next morning). I called front desk about the issue. They said they'd call me back. They never did. I called again in the morning. They did try to fix the problem, but to no avail. They were gonna call me back, again. They never did. We stayed in room 143. Apparently a part of the hotel property where the Internet coverage doesn't reach. The aircondition in the room was an old free standing unit. It made so much noise that we couldn't leave it on during the night. Maybe the room was clean, but the furniture were so old, you just never got the feel of it being clean. The breakfast was included. It's just a continental breakfast, though. Would've been nice to know, whatever was there, wasn't very inviting. The breakfast area was literally right outside our window. Not ideal for a family with two small kids. It's not really the hotels fault, though, as someone have to stay in that room, as well. However, maybe placing the outdoor breakfast area so close to ANY room isn't the brightest idea. Overall a very disappointing experience. It left me with a bit of a (for a lack of a better word) trailer trash feel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L. yorba Linda

Close to Legoland. Bed was awfully uncomfortable.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The AC didn't really work and the bed was very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Love that its close to beach and Legoland

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Front desk staff very helpful in assisting me with discount Lego tickets; housekeeping was ok but they NEVER replaced coffee packets! Surprising, cause I was there 3 mornings and tracked them down to get the standard 2 packets per day . Odd. Also, the carpet was sticky dirty, room didnt look vacuumed either when we checked in. I ended up buying an indoor/outdoor throw rug to keep on the carpet during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
nice tvs and kitchenette feature. towels, bath mats and toiletries were not replaced; called to have them sent up. seems that guests are mostly families visiting legoland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very un-relaxing

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Big room with microwave and refrigerator. Front room AC good. Bedroom AC is a stand alone with a dehumidifier. It has a reservoir that has to be emptied about every three hours. When it's full the unit shuts off leaving the bedroom to heat up. I didn't get one full night of sleep in 6 nights. I had to wake up every three hours to empty the dehumidifier so the AC would work. I returned home exhausted due to lack of sleep. I've never experienced anything like this before. Plus, my 6 nights cost me $1000. Next year we'll stay somewhere else. For that kind of money, we can do better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richland, WA

Overpriced for its condition

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Cons: The bathroom fan, some way to better air out the room/circulate air, the bathroom facilities.
I must have hit a peak weekend in San Diego because there were hardly any availabilities in hotels outside of Escondido, San Ysidro, and El Cajon. This hotel still had a few rooms left when I was looking. While I am thankful for obtaining accommodations within Carlsbad at least, I am still disappointed with how mediocre the room's condition was for the price. I have stayed in a much nicer hotel in SD for literally 1/3 of the price (sadly this aforementioned hotel had no availabilities this past weekend). The room was extremely humid, had a weird smell (like wet laundry you forgot to take out of the washer after a few days), and needs a big of renovation. This place is decent if you don't spend much time in the room, but even then, it's still overpriced for just that reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Nice hotel for families

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The rooms are a little out dated. Always clean, very quiet and comfortable. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield Ca.

Five minutes from legoland

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Second time staying here. Excellent staff.... Five minutes from legoland and beach. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Big pool and hot jacuzzi. Free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel close to LEGOLAND...full kitchen nice

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: full kitchen....door separating suite
nice time here...very friendly. I accidently left my car window open all night and it was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lego Land Trip

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Family atmosphere
Cons: Upgrade rooms with newer furniture
Location: Lego Land, Sea World & Venice Beach
Smell of musty mildew in the room. Odor was of a damp area.