Ratings based on 1,630 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good at all very unsanitary horrible hospitali

Posted Jun 11, 2014
I would not recommend anyone to stay theretheir rooms are nowhere near with the photos look like on Expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Lancaster, CA

Hotel in nice location to Gaslamp in San Diego

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Great place if you run the San Diego Rock 'N' Roll race. Close to finish and start. Hotel is within walking distance to Gas Lamp area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Old Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Great old hotel in Gas lamp district. Room are small but typical for the era. Great rooftop patio with a beautiful view of San Diego. Staff was very friendly. Will dedefinitely go back.
3 out of 5
by Valarie from O

Everything else was booked for a marathon

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Located in the hotel room was a book with all the hotel information. Which included, "late check available from 12:00 to 2:00 pm." Front desk would not honor the late check out hours. They should update the information books. It is an older hotel. The room and shower are small. Clean hotel, it was OK for one night stay. Staff was very nice.
2 out of 5
by veronica from temecula, ca

Hotel was noisy.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Location was perfect, since we wanted to be close to the starting line of the san Diego marathon. But the noise from outside at night made it hard to sleep. Since the hotel was really old, the elevator was super slow. I could of gotten a better, cheaper deal at the Marriot. My sister stayed there and paid $50.00 less than me and parking was included. Only one guy working valet at time of check-out. Waited about 30 minutes.
1 out of 5
by Lea from California

Nightmare

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Centrally located
We were given a room overlooking the street. The rooms were VERY, VERY small, the air conditioning unit was sticking out through the window, it made a lot clinking noise, did not cool the room properly. The noise level from the street sounds like a "very loud street party". You heard all the cars, motor cycles and people on the street all night. Got no sleep, bump my head several times on the wall when I moved to turn over because there was not even an inch between the bed and the wall separating the closet and bathroom sink. No sleep the night before and ran a Marathon the next day. OUCH! We checked out at 11:30 and requested our car from Valet . . . it took almost 1/2 an hour because there was only 1 Valet person working while the other 3 Valet were out getting lunch. ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: i liked the location
Cons: the elevators, but they really weren't a big deal
Location: the location was fine a walk away was starbucks but honestly i rather have coffee at the hotel than that starbucks because they weren't very friendly
check in was easy the room was about as small as your average apartment bedroom, it was plenty big enough for me and my husband, i don't have any complaints if i had to stay there again i would.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

check in after time and bugs

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: how close it was to gaslamp
Cons: room being clean and check in on time
there were 3 cockroaches in the room, check in was to begin at 3 but they make us wait until 3:40 to give us the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The lobby was welcoming, the staff was knowledgable and the location was great.
Cons: Our short stay in SD was wonderful, the only thing that should have been changed was the room.
Location: You're right downtown. We were there 3 days and never used the car. The restaurants we ate at in the area were all good. Use the trolly.
This hotel has a very friendly, pretty lobby. The staff was prepared to satisfy their guests with knowledge of the city and transportation, and again, the location was wonderful. We had requested two queen beds and we were put in a corner unit with two bedrooms. The toilet and shower were in a seperate room while the sink, mirror etc was in a bedroom. It was very strange! We also had a gigantic air conditioning unit right outside a bedroom. This hotel is small and 100 yrs. old! And I believe there are certain things one can expect when staying in a century old hotel building. I would stay there again, just not in that room! Note......take the trolly tour, it's great! Cheryl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with historical features

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: There was a complimentary shuttle service to the airport.
Very nice hotel, friendly staff; some parts (e.g.~the elevator) are of historical interest; the rooms was nice, clean and somewhat spacious, only the bathroom a bit small.