Ratings based on 2,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TOO OLD

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: See above.
Too old and not kept up. Old and historic is ok, but not this place. Not very clean, and takes so much effort to even try to get in and out of the elevator with a suitcase. There was NO room to even set a cosmetic in the bathroom on the sink other than try to balance things on the back of the toilet. The ironing board was under the bed - how many people like to crawl under the bed in a hotel room. Creepy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,CA

Location Location Location!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Booked a couple of rooms to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. This hotel is in the ideal spot to enjoy The Gaslamp. Started the day off on the rooftop with an awesome view. They don't have their own bar but they let you bring up your own drinks if you'd like. Even the other guests were great. Rooms are small but to be expected from an older hotel. Who wants to stay in their room anyway when you're here?! The quaintness of the periodic style more than makes up for that and the staff was excellent and inviting. Will definitely be staying here agai. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

The elevator is scary.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The rooftop viewing area was great. You can relax with a nice view. The connected restaurant was convenient too.
Cons: ELEVATOR
The hotel was nice actually. The stairs made for great exercise since the elevator leaves much to be desired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

VERY PLEASED

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, good location.
Cons: You don't have an option to self park. That's the only thing that bugged us.
Location: It's in the Gaslamp district.
At first, My husband and I were worried after we read the reviews but I am happy we gave them the chance. If you want all the glitz and glamour.. this place is not for you. If you want historic then I recommend this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and on point. We had no noise issues. No AC issues. The rooms are small but again, if you want glitz and glamour go stay at a Hilton. As long as it's clean and has AC it's perfection in my book. It is a very unique place and if we ever end up back in San Diego this is my first choice. P.S. BRIAN'S 24 is absolutely amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great Location, Even Better Service

Posted Apr 17, 2015
From the minute we got there the service was tremendous. The location of the hotel was perfect and the restaurant below, Brian's 24, was amazing. We will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect. So many pubs and restaurants in walking distance. Most comfortable bed ever and David's 24 hour restaurant.
Cons: Nothing. loved it.
Location: So much to do. And everything was so close.
I loved this hotel. First time in San Diego and I was happy to find this gem of a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tustin, Ca

Cool clean joint

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great rooftop area with awesome views. Close to everything downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield, CA

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location: Very close to many restaurants and bars! We walked around and found a nice place that was playing live music, which was really cool!
Hotel was really nice! I loved that the two bed were separate. It allowed for privacy! The elevator was small, but very historic looking. I love the rooftop area! All in all, I would stay here again when I come back to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Staff were super friendly and great! It was affordable and perfect for a quick weekend getaway. We hardly stay inside the hotel so it was just to sleep and go! Would recommend it to a friend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

location location location

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Nice hotel. Within walking distance to convention center, shopping and restaurants! The rooftop view is spectacular! The staff was very friendly and helpful! I would stay here again without a doubt!