Ratings based on 1,587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy from Topeka, Kansas

Great location in downtown, with compromises.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Courtesy shuttle service and staff help with check-in and check out were superb. Hotel is old, and remains somewhat dated in many ways (plumbing, elevators, etc.), but many may find this charming. Rooms are small, but sufficient for a single traveler or a close couple. Rooms were clean and adequately appointed. Overall, this is a great budget hotel for staying close to the business and night life of downtown San Diego. However, if noises during the night can keep you awake, you might reconsider. Window A/C unit (at least in my room) made some very annoying noises until I adjusted the settings just right. In my room (320), I could hear the plumbing for (what seemed to be) the entire hotel. Also, while I never heard any street or crowd noise, there is a disclaimer in the room about being in an entertainment district, and earplugs are provided up-front, on your bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A fine hotel at a good rate

Posted Apr 19, 2014
I stayed three nights. It was pleasant. The room was smaller than expected but that was not a problem for me. The elevators were old, with the gates you have to close. This was charming at first, but they went slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Great location, good value for money and friendly staff. Some parts a little dated but the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephanie from covina, california

opening day weeekend

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: the staff was amazing. the 24 hour restaurant and bar connected to the hotel. the rooftop access was amazing. and you can't beat the location!
Cons: update the rooms a little, the hotel is 100 years old, but the entire thing doesn't have to look it. and the shower.
Location: location is perfect, right in the middle of everything to do at the gaslamp district.
i actually had a very nice experience staying at the Ramada. the hotel did the job i wanted it to do, it was in a great location, the staff was amazing, and it even had a rooftop area to hang out on. it is a little dated, but that would be the feel of any hotel that is still operating after 100 years. the room was a little small, but like i said, it did the job, all i needed was a place to sleep and the bed was fairly comfy. the only big complaint i would have is the fact that i could not adjust the shower head to my height, i pretty much had to shower with the water spraying at my throat the entire time. it's located at one of best areas in the gaslamp, everything is in walking distance, you don't ever have to get you car out of valet(: i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, but if your high maintenance when it comes to your hotel, then i would suggest staying down the street at the Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Padres family from Oceanside

Good hotel location near Petco Park

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location to Petco Park
Cons: Upgrade outdated fixtures, etc.
Location: Right in the heart of downtown Gaslamp area of San Diego and about a 5 block walk to Petco Park for Padres games (best ball park in baseball!).
We were pleasantly surprised to see that this hotel had rooms available on the night of the Padres season home opening game when no other hotels were available, especially for a family with two adults and three kids. The hotel was in a perfect location in the Gaslamp area of downtown San Diego for all the restaurants and entertainment and a short walk to the ballpark. The hotel itself seems very old but nicely renovated. The room was large enough for our family of five, however the bathroom was very small. We did have to pay a fee for a roll-away bed to accommodate our third child. Overall it was a great value for a hotel in that location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, right downtown

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Great experience, except for the noise from the street. However, it's right in the heart of the Gaslight District, with lots of restaurants and clubs, and that's the party center of the city. So, really, it's no surprise! The friendly, helpful staff more than make up for this one, unavoidable drawback.
2 out of 5
by Dick from Oklahoma City

No rooms with 2 beds

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: In spite of our problem with the beds, the staff did their best to try and accommodate us. Plus, the location was great.
Location: This is just a short block from the heart of the Gas Lamp District. Great location.
We were 4 single guys sharing 2 rooms. Problem was all the rooms had just one bed, and it was full, not a queen or king. They were unable to honor our request for rooms with 2 beds. We went elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travele from Omaha, NE

Conveniently Located Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were awesome!
Cons: Updated elevator.
Location: I flew in from out of town and did not need a rental car or taxi the entire time, since it was so conveniently located in the downtown area I walked.
The hotel was nice and I enjoyed my stay. Some things to note: Pros - Convenient Downtown Location Very Clean Friendly & Helpful Staff Cons - Small Size of Room and Bathroom Horrible View From Room Old Outdated Elevator (But It Is a Historic Building)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Nice hotel it was closed to alot of bars

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Had a great time had a few drinks at the bar next to the hotel also the view from the rooftops was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marlayna from Baltimore MD

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Location, historic charm (1913 elevators that were "fastest in the world" at that time) although this sometimes meant a little extra waiting
Cons: amenities/breakfast/fitness center/pool
Location: tons of restaurants, bars, places to walk to - beaches & balboa park are great but probably need to drive
The main draw to this hotel is where it's located - great for walking around to restaurants, bars, etc (we even walked to Balboa park but it's about 40 minutes to do that) However it definitely lacked typical amenities (no mini fridge, fitness center was off site and no complimentary breakfast). Overall it worked for us but could have been improved.