Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel close to Convention Center

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location was ideal for a convention and walking to restaurants and near the harbor.
Location: Walking down by the harbor is great. You can hit the USS Midway museum or take a cruise.
The Residence Inn is a nice hotel if you want to be close to the Convention Center and local restaurants. It is also next door to the Ball Park. The complimentary breakfast is pretty basic but good enough. The room was clean and modern.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean
Location: Great location
Had reserved a Queen room, but was upgraded to King. They told us in was a Handicapped equipped room, but just a little larger than a regular King. Not happy with lay-out of handicapped room. Bathroom vanity is almost non-existent and in bedroom. No counter space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on Expedia Partner Central. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We understand your expectations were not met with the room layout and want to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay. We love to share with our guests that our hotel is an Urban-Style, custom built Residence Inn that is nearly 5 years old and because of our downtown location, our room types adhere to a smaller design. We are glad to hear our front desk was able to upgrade you to a king bed and you were satisfied with the location. We thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego. Write your comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Lovely hotel, great location, one block from petco park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mj from le

Very good stay

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Very helpful valets esp mr trevor. Clean room with complete amenities.i like the full kitchen with dinning utensils and plates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Missing SD from Saskatchewan, Canada

In the heart of the Gaslamp Qtr!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Safe location in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, within walking distance from all major downtown attractions and short walk to transit options.
Cons: Elevator recorded voice is muffled and unclear..... seriously, only improvement noted.
Location: Padres ball games or tour of Petco Park, Horton Plaza, USS Midway Museum, Ferry trips to Coronado Island, Seaport Village....eat, eat, eat.
$15 short cab from the airport to this hotel. Short walk to Horton Plaza, Seaport Village, Ferry to Coronado, Petco Park and shops and restaurants galore. Friendly staff at front door, front desk, breakfast each morning, and housekeeping. Breakfast offered warm and cold basic buffet, self serve style, and was refilled by more than one staff member continuously. We viewed the small pool( 3 feet deep) but didn't have time during our short stay to enjoy it. Room was super clean upon arrival and had everything we needed. We would definitely book the Residence Inn( with confidence) for our next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 26, 2014
Great stay on a fun trip visiting my family. Sara at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. I would stay again the next time I'm in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown

Posted May 25, 2014
In the heart of downtown and very nice bar inside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jane from Berkeley

Quality and value

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I recently stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. The hotel was perfect for my needs, modern and tastefully decorated with spacious and functional rooms. The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. The breakfast included in the room rate has a nice variety of breakfast favorites and lots of healthy options. I didn't use the gym as being in the Gas Lamp area and close to the marina I enjoyed walking the neighborhood instead. The hotel location is excellent, many choices of fabulous restaurants within the surrounding blocks. Overall I think this hotel delivers on quality and value. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected....

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was polite and they allowed for late check out.
Cons: The breakfast was packed, missing food items by 9:30, the coffe was terrible.
Location: Fairly active area, too many drunks at night time.
We were placed in a handicapped room with one tiny window, low mirrors and a small bathtub. Neither my friend or I have any physical disabilities. The rug was old and there was no clean water to drink, unless you pay 3.50 for bottled water or use the filtered water at the low grade fitness facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2014 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Please accept our apology for not having your requested room type available during your stay with us. It is our goal to give all of our guests the best customer service, and we are extremely sorry that you did not have a positive stay. We hope you stay with us the next time you are in the Gaslamp Quarter so we can give you an amazing hotel experience.