Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Very Good! Breakfast is very delicious and room is very clean. But parking is expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom j

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great service and quiet place. We like that they have a hot buffett breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset, UK

Perfect location for UCSD, La Jolla

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff and service.
Location: It is very close to UCSD, La Jolla. The I5 which gives fast and easy access to San Diego is very close by too.
I have stayed here a number of times as it is a perfect location when visiting the University. The staff are always friendly and eager to help. I had a problem with my internet connection in my room where it was a little slow. Within 10 minutes of reporting it there was a member of staff at my room, checked the connection and then installed a new router without question. If you were there for a long stay it has everything there you would need to make it a home from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Cons: carpets could be cleaner
Our family had two rooms, The hotel staff was very easy to work with and gave us rooms that were close together. The rooms were very clean. It was nice each room had 2 bathrooms. We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod, MA

Convenient, comfortable, clean, friendly

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff; we know what to expect (we stay here every year).
Location: UC San Diego right next to -- close to Torrey Pines State Park, and many other nearby excursions (requires car for pretty much all)
Convenient to our nearby relatives - space to spread out. Nice staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Disappointed

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Cons: Staff
I travel to San Diego 2-3 days each week and always stay at the La Jolla Marriott or Residence Inn. I am a Marriott Rewards Member since I am there so often. Last week when I checked in I asked if they had my Rewards number on file for credit. The girl told me that since I went through a 3rd party for the reservation, I don't get my points. I then talked to the Manager and he said that Marriott is trying to cut out the middle man and that is the price I pay for going through a 3rd party - no reward points. He then continued to say that he will have to make sure and coach his staff and remind them not to give the points. I don't know if I will continue to stay at the Marriott. There are a number of other hotels that I'm sure would be more than happy to have my weekly business.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Would not return

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Wish I had selected a different place to stay. The furniture and carpets were very worn. It was disappointing when we first opened the door. Unfortunately, every time we walked anywhere (to our car, to breakfast) we encountered pods of smokers. Lots of people smoking outdoors. The staff members were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Morgan, Hotel Management
Hello I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all feedback. We are saddened to see that you didn’t have the best experience while staying with us. We strive to deliver an enjoyable and pleasant stay and we did not meet those expectations. I am happy to say we are slated for a full renovation this year and that would address your concerns specifically, yet we still have to maintain a high level standards in our room at all times. Our hotel, like all Marriott properties, are smoke-free and it is unfortunate that guests were not abiding to our posted signage and we are sorry for that. On a better note we are very happy to hear that you found our hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Morgan Sandy Guest Care Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Close to UCSD

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Hotel shuttle
Cons: Hotel shuttle running 7 days a week (not just Mon-Fri)
Location: Westfield Center (Shopping Center)
Friendly staff, clean room, close to the University of California San Diego (UCSD)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacquelinefrom Yuma Az

Anniversary!

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great weekend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com