Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buon hotel ottimo per visitare San Diego

Posted Jul 11, 2015
La posizione necessita presenza di macchina x raggiungere San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Old Motel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: It had refer and microwave in room
Cons: NO Smoking room smelt like smoke. Had to buy air fresherners
Location: Sea World, Seaport Village
Location was good, but staff didn't have good knowledge of the local area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kalispell, mt

Outside looks plain but the rooms are refurbished

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: room, location
Cons: complete remodel of lobby, new mattress in every room.
Location: convenient to east san diego county and downtown via highway94
Not in the best neighborhood, but convenient to highway 94 at Spring Street. Cramped parking lot, tiny outdated lobby, no elevator to 2nd floor. But the rooms have been upgraded to a nice décor that you probably would not expect. New toilets, carpet, tile, solid corian type showers and sinks. Nice refrigerator too. AC unit worked. Mattress was older inner spring. WiFi was available, but I could not make it work on my newer computer, they should print written directions with a password. A bit of a conundrum, rooms pretty nice, outside and lobby not so nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingman az.

what a turnaround

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Cons: could use a channel guide in each room for tv
this hotel/inn has made a great improvement since the may 15 2015 review. new management, new paint better breakfast(donuts/juice/milk/coffee),and no stale smoke scent any where. complete surprise and a pleasure to stay at if i head back to san diego again i will definantly stay here
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendora

Avoid this hotel! Unless your a smoker, I guess!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: It was close to San Diego State University where my daughter was graduating.
Cons: Everything about it can be improved. I can't believe that anyone would give this place a positive review. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Avoid it!
Location: Not much to tell. Arrived late and left early and did not look back. It was close to San Diego State. About the only thing this place has going for it
Chose it because it was close to our destination. We arrived after the lobby had closed. If we would have arrived earlier with time to find a new hotel we would have. Hotel is not in the nicest of areas. We pulled up next to people who looked like they were living in there car in the parking lot. Nice first impression! I checked my family in at the walk up window because the lobby was closed. Apparently, for safety concerns for the night desk person. Check in seemed to take forever while the clerk was looking on the computer. Finally checked in and had to enter building through their open "security" door. We had the very last room at the end of the aisle on the 1st floor. The place reeked of stale cigarettes and was very outdated. We got to our "non-smoking" room only to find that it smelled worse than the hall. Other than the smell, at first glance the room seemed OK. The bathroom looked pretty clean and fairly new looking. However, past the bathroom the adventure starts.The carpeting was old and dirty and sticky. Not good. Bedspread were old and ratty looking and the blankets were old and stained. Sheets looked clean so we pulled off the comforters and blankets and hoped the sheets were critter free. On the wall between the beds and above the nightstand, there appeared to be a few splatters of blood or something resembling it. But, we were exhausted and had to get up early the next morning for the graduation. "Breakfast" is a joke. Bottom line, AVOID THIS HOTEL!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Room was huge and clean.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
All the amenities like fridge and microwave and hair dryer. We stayed 2 days and came back to room second day to find a clean room, new towels, and made up bed. I guess for $60/nite I wasn't expecting that. The only false advertising is the huge sign 'complimentary breakfast' there is no breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kenneth from Lakewood, CA

Buyer Beware, Don't Go Here!!!

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
A good number of negatives. There was no elevator to the 2nd floor, had to use the stairs. The carpet in the hallway looked dark, dirty, and old. The bed sheets did not appear to be clean/changed as I found human hairs that were not mine. There was no hairdryer in the room, it was missing and the clerk did bring one up when I called after 10 min. There was no phone in the room. The audio on the remote was funky as it kept cutting in and out and was difficult to adjust. Finally, the sign out front says, "Complementary Breakfast". There was none. Only coffee. The clerk said we don't have breakfast. I said that the sign does and that's FALSE/Misleading advertising. The clerk had no response.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Priscilla from Riverside

Disappointing

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
We just spent one night. The room was large with a refrigerator and microwave. The curtain was torn, paint chipping, carpet worn and dirty, the couch was removed. There was no breakfast as advertised. The people at the desk were cold and unfriendly. There was no phone or clock in the room. This is under new management. We would not stay there again.