Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Hotel was clean and the staff was very courteous. Great location and a great hotel for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

No integrity in respecting Non-smoking reservation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We reserved a non-smoking room and were put in a smoking room. Staff insisted it was non-smoking despite the fact there were burn marks on the floor and it reeked heavily of smoke. Further, it did not have the non-smoking decal on the door that every other non-smoking room had. We requested a move and received a truly non-smoking room that was in ill-repair and smelled dank.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the attraction parks.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Nice, clean and cheap.
Location: On my stay I visited Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Safari Zoo.
First when I got there, I was surprised. The out side was not the best, once I stepped inside everything changed. Receptionist very helpful. The rooms are small but perfect for me. I needed help on directions, they helped me and also printed out directions for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice amenities, but shower poor

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: TV, frig/micro, beds comfortable, free wi-fi.
Cons: shower, and needs larger facilites such as the kitchen area, and rooms.
Location: the location was a bit farther than the central area we frequented, but still do-able. Ran into traffic congestion on 2 of the freeways (not fun).
For a 2 star hotel, the value was good. Updated TV, full continental brkfst., free wi-fi, frig/micro, beds comfortable. However the room was small, and the worst part was the shower. When first turned on it was just a mist. Managed to get beyond a mist, but not really what I'd call a shower of water, and it would make a loud noise after a few minutes as if a generator was working the shower, and sometimes act like it was going to stop altogether. The staff was nice and polite, but because of the shower and small room, I'd probably check out some other hotels for next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Best choice for anyone staying in san diego!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone in san diego and I will definitely stay here again! The price is super cheap and it had all the amenities I wanted in the hotel room. We got it around 11pm and check in was quick and smooth. We got a non smoking king size bed hotel room that was in the back corner next to the freeway. The room smelled like smoke when we got there but it didn't bother us, and the freeway noise didn't keep us up at all. The room was perfectly size for my friend and me. The bed was clean and comfy. There was a desk, tv, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer. The WiFi was fast and we never had problems connecting to it. This was the perfect location! It's a 5 minute straight shot down the highway from old town, 15 minutes from balboa park, and 20 minutes from chula vista where we went to warped tour. The free breakfast was good. Nothing fancy but covers all the basics. There were bagels and cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereal and milk, coffee and orange juice, oatmeal, muffins and pastries, bread and a toaster, and a waffle iron. The waffles are plain but with butter and syrup they tasted just fine. Perfect place to stay. We loved it and didn't have any problems whatsoever. Our room was always clean and restocked when we returned at the end of each day.would definitely stay here again, and I recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the aforementioned placed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very surprised by the hotel and the quality of the room for what we paid to be honest. The room was very comfortable and area surrounding the hotel was in a convenient location for us. The only downside was the quality of the front desk service we called to request a few extra items for the room and they informed us that we would be unable to get any service because their cleaning service left for the day. Lucky for us there was still someone cleaning a room and they gave us what we needed. Wi-Fi was okay and would reset after each day you stayed so you needed to get a new passcode. Overall though the rooms were very nice and we will be staying here again next time we visit San Diego
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with neighborhood feel.

Posted May 27, 2014
The room was small, but everything was neet, tidy and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RCW from Arroyo Grande, CA

Very Pleased

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the exterior of the hotel needs some work, the rooms are quite nice with down comforters, microwave, fridge, etc. Not large rooms, but re-done and very clean. The breakfast needs a bit more protein but it does cover all the bases. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Surprisingly nice place for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveling Couple from Georgia

Surprisingly great stay!

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very clean, had the basic amenities, including a microwave oven (which worked well and was useful to have!) The front desk service was great as he was courteous, kind, informative, and pleasant to talk with about restaurant recommendations, general hotel policies, and just a friendly chat. The location was not the most convenient since it was at least 15 minutes from the main highway, it was definitely in a very scenic area, so this helped with the drive. The only complaints I had about my stay at Rodeway were the noise that came from the laundry room next door to us and the cleaning service workers when they were in the rooms nearby us (the walls were fairly thin). The breakfast did not have many hot foods, and though they offered oatmeal, they only have available styrofoam bowls for them. My husband and I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane R from LA

The carpets and mirrors were dirty-won't return

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was dingy. The carpet and mirrors were dirty. The breakfast area served all high carb.sugar; not a bowl of instant oatmeal in sight. The breakfast room was also very very small so many people did not have any place to sit and eat.