Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Dan from Minneapolis

Terrible Stay

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The comforters and pillows were great!
Cons: The hotel staffs attitude.
Location: Close to the highway. A little far from Downtown San Diego.
The hotel room was nice and small, but it was ok. The Hotel staff were not helpful at all. During our stay our room still wasn't made up at 4:30 in the afternoon and when I mentioned it to the staff in the lobby they were quite obvious that they couldn't care less. Then the next day the water went out on the top floors, our room wasn't made up again and the hotel staff once again were quite obvious they couldn't care less. They said they would get us a lower room to shower in and 45 minutes later they gave us a room which only had cold water. When I complained to the front desk they said that happens sometimes. The other guests in the hotel were complaining too that the staff was terrible and really didn't care. This hotel is in a mediocre location and really should have better service. Also the parking gate rarely worked and it took everyone a long time to get out of the parking ramp as the valet had to run over constantly to let people out. I stayed there for four nights and this happened constantly during my stay. A decently run hotel would have had that fixed during that time. Stay away from this hotel, it is not worth it. The overall score would have been higher, but the hotel staff really should get a rating of a -5.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for sharing your experience with the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. You indicated in your response that our staff response during your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, RICARDO GARCIA Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Clean hotel
Cons: Provide a microwave & a refrigerator in the room
Location: Beach, parks and shopping centers
Nice and close to beach......................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, cool outdoor pool lounge.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Only bad thing to say would be that I had a beautiful view of the A rooftop unit, I'm assuming because I did not book directly through the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from Long Beach Island, NJ

Marriott Del Mar - A terrific hotel!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Great Staff, comfortable rooms, clean, everything was clean.
Cons: I thought this hotel was a great value for the money spent.
A terrific hotel in a great location! I enjoyed my stay very much at this hotel there is really not a lot more to say about it. Good bar and pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by doc from missouri

excellant all aspects

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: everything. the bar was great the hot tub and workout excellant . staff great. great location
Cons: not much
Location: food and shopping and gas near by
every thing was clean friendly and comfortable great location too went for a few days to relax and golf . all was excellant. arrowood course excellant and the bridges to die for. mix with great accomodations cant get any better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Great customer service from valet parking to front desk personnel. Very helpful and friendly.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, and for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by Wayne from Del Mar, CA

EXORBITANT CHARGE FOR SELF PARKING

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: on site restaurant
Cons: Eliminate charges for self parking and Wi-Fi
Location: Location was fine. Good dining a few blocks from the hotel and it was freeway close.
I was actually shocked that I had to pay $20.00 for self parking at a Marriott hotel when I checked out. I have never been charged for self parking at a hotel before as a paying guest. And to, not only be charged, but charged such an exorbitant amount was beyond belief. I would NOT recommend a Marriott again, much less the Del Mar Marriott. There are to many other fine hotels that provide complimentary self parking. One additional point, Marriott also charges for Wi-Fi which is complimentary any most any other fine hotel. I am not a fan of paying more and getting less.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We constantly evaluate our prices to offer the best overall value in our area. I apologize for not hitting that mark in your case. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas: lobby, restaurant, outdoor lounges and pool, Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to host you in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dan from g

Very satisfied

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Took wife and two kids. Very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Got in at 1:00 am. Front desk incredibly helpful when I was so tired!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alright

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Good hotel, great location, for the coffee drinkers a little chalanging place to be.. The coffee machine a little too small for the hotel that caliber easily could be improved, restaurant nice but avarage service...very clean and very nice front desk stuff.