Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The hotel is located within walking distance to pretty much everything in the Gaslamp district area. It was very clean and the staff is very professional and friendly. Like everyone else one of my issues is the $40.00 per day valet fee especially since we never took the car out since we walked everywhere but we knew that coming here so I really can't complain. I was really looking foward to the rooftop bar, but beware if you stay on the weekend and you are over the age of 40 this is not the place for you. It was crawling with very young 20 something yr olds and the cigar and cigarrette smoke was overwhelming. If you go downstairs they stop serving at 12:00 so you have to find somewhere else to have a drink. Either way we had a great stay and definitely would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Last Minute Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2014
We live in the Pasadena area and decided on a Wednesday to take our two small children (3 &4 years old) to SeaWorld. We had stayed at this Marriott, but it had been several years. We were accommodated with everything that we had requested for our stay, and were able to check in early. The location is great because you can walk to so many restaurants. Our room was on the corner of the 19th floor, and so we had a small office area that gave us a little more space. The only issue we had were the several loud and intoxicated people in the hallway at 2 am. Nothing the Hotel could contropl and they settled down before we had to call the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very nice hotel and convenient to Petco Park.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Convenience, staff, and Soleil@K Restaurant.
Cons: N/A
Location: Petco Park is next to the hotel. It's also surrounded by great restaurants as well as being close to the embarcadero for leisurely walks.
This is our third time staying at this hotel and we have never been disappointed with the room, staff, cleanliness, or overall accommodations. We plan on returning again next year and staying at the Marriott when we go back to San Diego for the Padres - Phillies series.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Good stay. Mediocre staff.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
It was all in all a good stay. I called the hotel couple of hours before arrival and had a simple request. The gentleman on the phone didn't try a bit to help and easily said NO to my request which was almost a trivial one. I found this really awkward and strange for a hotel at this caliber. I have the name of him in case management would like to discuss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice Place for couples-Not for kids

Posted Sep 8, 2014
No pool. That's why I graded facility 3 stars. Staffs are excellent, Room was clean and comfortable. So close to gas lamp qurter, that why we was drinking beer at 11pm. The top floor was too crowded, could not enjoy. Vallet arking was killing At $40/day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Perfect right in gaslamp. Walked right across to Petco Park. Loved my room view of the ball park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Petco Stadium
At check in we had to wait over an hour for our room. While waiting went to lounge, which wasn't open. When booking, requested a king bed, we ended up with 2 double beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Awesome location and great staff!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The location of the Marriott is a big plus! Again, it's located next to everything.
Cons: The only thing that needs to change is the price for parking. I feel 40 dollars a day is a bit much.
Location: It's a couple of blocks away from Petco Park, the SD Convention Center and a bunch of restaurants, bars and cute stores.
My family and I stayed went to the SD Comic Con on Sunday and chose to stay at the Marriott. The Marriott is located next to lots of restaurants, bars and cute boutique shops. The convention center is two blocks away and they are close to Ace Parking. I mention Ace Parking because it's only 24 dollars for the day compared to 40 dollars charged by the Marriott. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early. The rooms are really clean and our view was really nice. I would definitely stay at the Marriott again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Petco park friendly

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love the hotel. Had a great time across street from Petco Park. Also everything you need is walking distance. You gotta check out batting practice from Altittude bar. Awesome virw
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Kirill, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write about us! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and also found that we are conveniently located near dining, nightlife, and entertainment. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego! Best regards, Dante
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I don't know why there is a cooler instead of a refrigerator in the room. A fridge would be more useful than a cooler. They did provide a fridge upon request.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Kirill, Hotel Management
Hello, We greatly appreciate your feedback, and are pleased that we were able to accommodate your request for a refrigerator. We hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to your next stay with us. All the best, Dante Guest Service Agent