Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marriott DT SD

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The room and view were awesome, however checking into the hotel was a difficult process. Even tho I had I.D. and a confirmation # & email, my name couldn't be found in the system. I then had to make phone calls to verify I was on the reservation. Upon verification, I found the room the hotel had on record was not the one I had booked. After a 30 min ordeal I was finally able to check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Liz from Tucson

Relaxing at Marriott

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: I have traveled a lot....this hotel had the most helpful and friendly staff I have ever met. Good security sytem..I felt safe.
Cons: Cheaper parking for car
Location: THe best...near airport, shopping, walking, parks, convention center....restaurants.
Had fun meeting maintenance staff who were lovely because: first night....TV not working, entire stay telephone blinked and no messages, in the morning the coffee pot ran over because it had the wrong insert... But the pluses were: excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, little noise, great location, lots of linen, hot water immediately..... and amazing computers in the business office. I would certainly recommend it highly...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Descent but overpriced

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The hotel is good for the altitude lounge on the roof. So it's great if you want to end a bad hoping your and just stumble back to your room. However there are drunk people on every floor. I have stayed here a number of times and there are always drunk people shouting our making some type of sound. The walls are super thin too. And bathroom door is this sliding door and provides minimal privacy. I probably won't be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Place

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The venue, location, and possibilities associated with other customers that are staying at the hotel.
Cons: Cheaper drinks on the rooftop bar.
Location: Anything you can imagine in downtown San Diego…great restaurants, bars, view, clubs, baseball, shopping, you name it!
Great location in Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego right next to PETCO Park where the San Diego Padres play. Hotel has a rooftop bar that overlooks PETCO Park and has one of the most spectacular view overlooking the San Diego Harbor and Coronado Island while catching the sunset in the background. The drinks at the rooftop bar are bit expensive but I guess you're paying partially for the view lol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: friendly front desk, comfortable room
good experience, easy access to public transportation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, right next to everything.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
I've stayed here several times and it has never been a problem checking in. I get there to check in and they tell me they are all out of double beds and can give me a king with a roll out bed and call me if something comes up available; Excuse me!? Really unprofessional from Marriott, while I understand there may have been an unexpected high occupancy (due to the marathon over the weekend) they should have a system so that they dont over book. Long story short I had to wait about an hour and a half and talk to the manager to get something settled. Great hotel and location, poor staffing.
3 out of 5
by Dan

Expected More

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The location and view.
Cons: Cleanliness. Not so sure what could be done about noise transmission without very expensive reconstruction.
Location: Ballpark, convention center, Gas Lamp with clubs and restaurants, East Village with dining and great pubs.
Very good location. Good views. Seemed insufficiently staffed to handle the volume of arriving guests. Card readers in elevators were not actuating for several guests. Room was typically arranged and accommodated. Bed skirt had stains all around, like it had been used as a shoe cloth, and was not put on straight. Otherwise, linens appeared clean. Pillows and mattress seemed worn out. The mattress had body sized indentations on each side and sloped noticeably toward the outside edge. Bathroom was clean and everything worked. Walls transmitted noise from room to room easily, especially sounds from plumbing like toilets and bath water. You could even hear when people were in the bath and happened to move. I live in the city, so am used to noises, but didn't expect those types of noises. I'm mostly disappointed and would not recommend it because of the stains on the bedskirt, which made me wonder how well other things were actually cleaned that I might not be able to see.
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Dear Dan, I am sorry that we did not meet your full expectations as we should have. Needless to say, I was disappointed to read your review, however the candid feedback is greatly appreciated. I have discussed this with my housekeeping team; we will be addressing the issues you brought to my attention. In addition, we are currently in the process of changing all of our mattresses in the hotel, we anticipate to have this project completed in the near future. Once again, please accept my most sincere apologies. Jeffrey Burg Director of Operations San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4 out of 5
by John from CT

Good hotel overlooking PETCO Park

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Convenient to trolley, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter
Cons: Change the carpet in the hallways
All in all, very good. The only downsides: the carpet pattern in the hallway is nauseating, and it is a shame that they do not have an airport shuttle as most downtown hotels do. The staff were wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Near Bath, UK

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location and wonderful, friendly staff made this a great place to stay
Cons: It seems to be impossible to close your room door without making a noise
Location: Near trolley stop. Many, many restaurants around the area. Seaport village a short walk away. Maritime museum (excellent), USS Midway,
We stayed here for 8 nights from the end of January 2014. We were upgraded to a mini-suite on the 18th floor, from where we had a great view over the city. The hotel is right next to the the Petco baseball stadium where the Davis Cup tennis was being played whilst we were there. We found all the staff to be really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had use of the Conciege lounge on the 21st floor, where we could get breakfast and dinner snacks. One point to watch is that alcoholic drinks are available in the lounge, but they are charged for. The location is ideal for touring the city. A Green Line Trolley stop is close by, and Seaport village only a 10 minute walk away too. Many restaurants are in the Gaslamp quarter, and provide an wide choice of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricardo from Ranch Cucamonga, CA

Very nice Hotel and view

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: It was nice clean hotel
I would recommend anybody traveling to San Diego to stay at this hotel, it's right across the street from Petco Center where the San Diego Padres play. Get the ocean view and you will also get a view of the inside of the stadium