Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel staff was very accommodating. It was a good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great surprise in La Jolla

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the service from everyone
Location: we went to UTC and have a great dinner at PF CHiangs
The whole experience was great. Everybody were focus in customer satisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Great area close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Friendly staff. Some remodeling ongoing but very nice, clean hotel. Great bar and patio area. Great views of the area and only a few minutes to La Jolla Cove. Stayed the 16th and 17th of August it was a great time. Would stay again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I totally recommend it

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Charge for the parking 20 usd and breakfast too =(
Location: Very nice area :)
Was a very nice price, the rooms are totally comfortable and clean. The gym and the Pool and the staff were really good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful hotel in a great part of La Jolla

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to the UTC mall which has seen a great deal of renovation to make it a wonderful place to walk around. Short drive to downtown La Jolla.
While we only stayed one night, we felt like the combination of location, service, room comfort, and price were fantastic. The few staff members we dealt with were warm and very friendly with smiles all around. The bed was very comfortable and everything else in the room was nice and tidy. The only oddity was that the sink was outside the bathroom, but that didn't hinder us in any way. Overall, our stay could not have been more pleasant and we would definitely recommend the Marriott La Jolla.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wrong hotel choice

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Don't charge for wifi
Good hotel for business crowd ,conventions,events. Not good for families, rooms are tiny ( 350 f)) At the time that we were there they had a cheerleading event @ the hotel . It was loud and over run with teenage girls, I had to checkout and stay @ another hotel nearby that cater to families on vacations . They also charge for wifi while other hotels are free of charge . They also had a business wing on the floor that we were supposed to be on. Totally a buzzkill on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us this invaluable feedback. Our goal here at the Marriott La Jolla is to make all of our guests comfortable whether their travel is for leisure or business and I’m saddened that we failed to that during your stay with us. Again, we want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as it allows us the opportunity to improve and ensure that our guests future travels are exceptional! Sincerely, Marriott La Jolla Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really small, great view of banks

Posted Jul 26, 2014
They charge $20 a day to park. Even if your staying there, line for checking was long .Everyone had complaints. Not kid friendly at all, I paid for queens and down graded me to fulls, same price$390a night. But Expedia got me to pay only $360. Got a good view of the bank.lol. No free wifi. Really small pool, no jacuzzi, it was a 2/5 for me. Will not be back..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Cyn Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area and we believe that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have an exceptional stay. You mention you were downgraded – I can assure you that our rooms which have full beds are exactly the same as our room with queen beds. When making a reservation you are able to guarantee a room but not necessarily a specific bed type. We allocate bed types upon check in, I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your requests. I would love to invite you back to stay with us again so that we may regain your trust and make up for this first experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear CNy Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area and we believe that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have an exceptional stay. You mention you were downgraded – I can assure you that our rooms which have full beds are exactly the same as our room with queen beds. When making a reservation you are able to guarantee a room but not necessarily a specific bed type. We allocate bed types upon check in, I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your requests. I would love to invite you back to stay with us again so that we may regain your trust and make up for this first experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff very friendly!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Walking distance to all great eateries and entertainment. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Pool a bit small and no jacuzzi but overall it was nice and heated! A huge plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: a lot
Location: concierge (Avila) was terrific
I was told when I checked in that I had been upgraded to corner suite which was not an upgrade because that was the room I booked One bar of soap, no turn down service and the room overlooked a construction site which was very noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is regrettable that your experience did not meet your expectations and we are very sorry to hear about the noise disturbances. We are committed to ensuring that each guest has a restful and renewing experience so I apologize to hear we failed to provide this for you. Please come back and see us again soon that we may regain your trust and provide you with an exceptional experience in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Room rate a lot cheaper than downtown San Diego and it is only 14 miles away. Did not want to drive late going back to LA. Overnight stay only.