Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Caution... It could be worse?!.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The Hotel was beautiful and decent. if your looking for a hotel that need room sharing, this probably isn't the right choice for you. The sink was awkwardly placed outside the restroom and shower with the lighting controlled from the outside of the restroom itself. Also at least prepare yourself and carefully review their charges because they have no issue charging you like crazy for basically everything. Parking? Ya, that'll be $20 a night. At least they causally bill it to your room for convince. Staff will be nice and it's clean as well so at the very least your stay isn't unpleasant either by that factor. So I would stay here again, just wouldn't share a room with anyone and more cautious what I do, like parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Worst Food Ever!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms, beds, food.
Location: La Jolla is an amazing place UCSD has a beautiful campus, the cove, Black's Beach.
My daughter lives in town, got a good rate decided how bad could it be? The bed was not comfortable, the room was so small I kept bumping into things and I'm a small lady and we had the family over and only 1 restaurant was open and 150.00 of food was inedible, just garbage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following you recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for all of the dissatisfaction that you experienced. We take great pride in the comfort of our rooms and the quality of the food that we serve in our restaurant so I regret that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. We would love the opportunity to make up for this stay on your next visit to La Jolla.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel with a great view.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The hotel was in a good area away from traffic and noise. Restaurants close early around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your review! I’m so glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful views of La Jolla. We are in a central location and I’m glad you found comfort away from any noise and traffic. It is my hopes that we were able to assist you with alternative options after our restaurants closed to meet your needs. We do offer 24-hour room service so this is something I encourage you to take a look at next time you stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel staff was very accommodating. It was a good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great surprise in La Jolla

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the service from everyone
Location: we went to UTC and have a great dinner at PF CHiangs
The whole experience was great. Everybody were focus in customer satisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Great area close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Friendly staff. Some remodeling ongoing but very nice, clean hotel. Great bar and patio area. Great views of the area and only a few minutes to La Jolla Cove. Stayed the 16th and 17th of August it was a great time. Would stay again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I totally recommend it

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Charge for the parking 20 usd and breakfast too =(
Location: Very nice area :)
Was a very nice price, the rooms are totally comfortable and clean. The gym and the Pool and the staff were really good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful hotel in a great part of La Jolla

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to the UTC mall which has seen a great deal of renovation to make it a wonderful place to walk around. Short drive to downtown La Jolla.
While we only stayed one night, we felt like the combination of location, service, room comfort, and price were fantastic. The few staff members we dealt with were warm and very friendly with smiles all around. The bed was very comfortable and everything else in the room was nice and tidy. The only oddity was that the sink was outside the bathroom, but that didn't hinder us in any way. Overall, our stay could not have been more pleasant and we would definitely recommend the Marriott La Jolla.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wrong hotel choice

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Don't charge for wifi
Good hotel for business crowd ,conventions,events. Not good for families, rooms are tiny ( 350 f)) At the time that we were there they had a cheerleading event @ the hotel . It was loud and over run with teenage girls, I had to checkout and stay @ another hotel nearby that cater to families on vacations . They also charge for wifi while other hotels are free of charge . They also had a business wing on the floor that we were supposed to be on. Totally a buzzkill on vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us this invaluable feedback. Our goal here at the Marriott La Jolla is to make all of our guests comfortable whether their travel is for leisure or business and I’m saddened that we failed to that during your stay with us. Again, we want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as it allows us the opportunity to improve and ensure that our guests future travels are exceptional! Sincerely, Marriott La Jolla Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really small, great view of banks

Posted Jul 26, 2014
They charge $20 a day to park. Even if your staying there, line for checking was long .Everyone had complaints. Not kid friendly at all, I paid for queens and down graded me to fulls, same price$390a night. But Expedia got me to pay only $360. Got a good view of the bank.lol. No free wifi. Really small pool, no jacuzzi, it was a 2/5 for me. Will not be back..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Cyn Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area and we believe that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have an exceptional stay. You mention you were downgraded – I can assure you that our rooms which have full beds are exactly the same as our room with queen beds. When making a reservation you are able to guarantee a room but not necessarily a specific bed type. We allocate bed types upon check in, I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your requests. I would love to invite you back to stay with us again so that we may regain your trust and make up for this first experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear CNy Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area and we believe that we offer good value given our extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have an exceptional stay. You mention you were downgraded – I can assure you that our rooms which have full beds are exactly the same as our room with queen beds. When making a reservation you are able to guarantee a room but not necessarily a specific bed type. We allocate bed types upon check in, I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your requests. I would love to invite you back to stay with us again so that we may regain your trust and make up for this first experience.