Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great full service contemporary hotel close to UTC

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Extremely comfortable hotel. Don't miss Amuse the outdoor lounge!
3 out of 5
by E from Boston, MA

Average to other hotels in the area for same cost

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The blondish hair lady in the coffee area in the morning was super nice and very customer service oriented.
Cons: We waited for staff to serve us and they never did. I had to go up to the bar and get our drinks. This happened 2 nights, it was not busy.
Location: La Jolla Marriott.
I was suprised that the hotel room did not have water or snacks as an option in the room. I really would have preferred this option over a hotel bathrobe. I had called the front desk to ask for something specific and was told to come down and get it, only to go down and find out they were out of what I asked for. It would have been nice if they offered to bring it up to my room in the first place.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014 by
Dear E, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us! Your feedback is invaluable to our continued training and growth as a team. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Kind Regards, Marriott La Jolla Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

R&R

Posted Mar 26, 2014
We stayed at The Marriott overnight to see the sites and shop the shops of La Jolla. It was a bit far away from the shops but only a short drive. The staff at the hotel were wonderful and the bed was so dreamy comfortable. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from NY

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The customer service and the cleaniness of hotel.
Cons: Adding a Jacuzzi will sure make a guess happy.
Location: Everything is so close buy. Shopping, dancing, eating.
I really like the stay at the hotel, I was a little disapointed since there was no Jacuzzi. It sure would of been nice to add a Jacuzzi to hotel, I am sure guess will enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by debb from upland, ca

Nice, convenient location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: We wanted to have a late check out but they were not able to accommodate our request
Location: Nice location Starbucks in walking distance
Convenient to many freeways so location was great. Comfortable beds. Nice city view from our balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael

La Jolla 4 Star...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Excellent staff - very attentive. Only down side was we did not know that they had free salsa lessons on the weekend in the 1st floor club. We would have planned for it had we known...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mark from CA

Its a nice hotel but it is not close to the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2014
It has just a small pool and GYM But no jacuzzi the pictures are much better than what it is .
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014 by
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotels on Expedia from your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us as we take steps to improve our service and offerings based on our guest experiences. While we don not offer a Jacuzzi in our hotel, on your future travels to the area one of our hosts from the Front Desk will be happy to recommend a near by facility that would offer the amenities you require for a comfortable stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return! Sincerely, San Diego Marriott La Jolla Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Iceland

Nice place to stay

Posted Feb 27, 2014
This is a really nice place to stay in La Jolla but there were a few things that bothered me enough to take one star off the total experience. First we arrived a couple of hours early for the check in which, I think is pretty late at 4pm, and they weren't able to find a room for us until 10 minutes before check in time which is strange since check out is at 12pm. I've arrived early to hotels before and I understand that there is a reason for a check in time but I have never had to wait so long before to be able to get a room. It didn't help that we had just come in from a long flight and drive and looked like zombies while waiting in the lobby 'til a room became available. The morning after we got a very unwelcome wake up call courtesy of a fire drill which annoyed me to all ends. Lastly there's the fact that the more expensive the hotel, less is included. I.e. overnight parking is $20 per night and wi-fi is $9.95 per day which I find really annoying as well. That being said the room was very nice and the bed and real comforters were a welcome treat. All in all if you are prepared for the additional costs and don't have to check in before check in time you are good.
4 out of 5
by mark from denver

Typical Marriott

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The pool was nice, and the health club (which I didn't use) looked like it had a million fancy machines with no one using them.
Location: The location isn't pleasant at all. It's in the middle of an office park, with lots of traffic in every direction. An easy drive to La Jolla though.
This hotel is fine, but nothing special. There's a very nice outdoor bar with hugely overpriced drinks. I didn't like the fact that they charge 20 dollars a day just to park your car.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vatche from Los Angeles, CA

Boring hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
When I arrived to the hotel, I wanted an early check-in but they didn't have any rooms available which was fine with us. The hotel clerk was very rude and didn't want to help us, but then said we will call you in about half an hour later telling us that the room will be ready. We called back 2-3 hours later and said the room will be ready in another hour. When we finally received our room, it was okay. The hotel was also very inconvenient from any activities and the hotel did not have anything to do. I was disappointed with my stay, and would not recommend to a friend.