Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location in la jolla to everything

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Food...coffee
Location: Zoo, beaches
Food was mediocre....Starbucks coffee awful...nice people though....hotels always need to have good strong coffee!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Hotel is tired. Probably 20 yrs since they spent meaningful capital and it shows. Needs major facelift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review! I sincerely regret to read that our property did not meet your expectations. We did undergo an extensive, full property renovation last year but we’re always making updates and maintenance is a top priority. We hope to host you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: nothing special
Cons: staff could at least pretend to care.
Reserved a king bed and was provided with a queen. They "ran out" of kings for all but marriot clients.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveler, Thank you for your feedback! We are constantly striving for exceptional experiences so I regret to read that there was nothing special about your stay with us and that our team was unable to leave a positive, lasting impression. We are committed to providing outstanding service so this review will be shared with our team as we continue to improve and grow. My hopes is that you will consider visiting us again next time your travels bring you back to La Jolla.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Upgraded without being asked

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Very nice surprise when they upgraded my room without being asked. Had a great room on the concierge floor. Parking was a little pricey at $20 a day but charging that much for self parking nowadays is the norm. Hotel is at a good locations. Getting to the hotel from the freeway requires you to make a U-turn to the hotel entrance. Found that a little odd, couldn't the city put in a Left turn lane for the hotel? Overall a great experience. The Club Salsa downstairs was hopping, looked like a lot of fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cathedral City

bed

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: staff very very helpful
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
best sleep I've had in a week plus the staff truly excelled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great comfortable modern hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Just stayed one night, lovely hotel and very comfortable but you would need a car. Outdoor bar area with fire pit very relaxing & lovely to sit out and have an evening drink - just had evening snack but food was really tasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Please visit us again soon. Many Thanks, Emma S Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Caution... It could be worse?!.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The Hotel was beautiful and decent. if your looking for a hotel that need room sharing, this probably isn't the right choice for you. The sink was awkwardly placed outside the restroom and shower with the lighting controlled from the outside of the restroom itself. Also at least prepare yourself and carefully review their charges because they have no issue charging you like crazy for basically everything. Parking? Ya, that'll be $20 a night. At least they causally bill it to your room for convince. Staff will be nice and it's clean as well so at the very least your stay isn't unpleasant either by that factor. So I would stay here again, just wouldn't share a room with anyone and more cautious what I do, like parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Worst Food Ever!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms, beds, food.
Location: La Jolla is an amazing place UCSD has a beautiful campus, the cove, Black's Beach.
My daughter lives in town, got a good rate decided how bad could it be? The bed was not comfortable, the room was so small I kept bumping into things and I'm a small lady and we had the family over and only 1 restaurant was open and 150.00 of food was inedible, just garbage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following you recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for all of the dissatisfaction that you experienced. We take great pride in the comfort of our rooms and the quality of the food that we serve in our restaurant so I regret that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. We would love the opportunity to make up for this stay on your next visit to La Jolla.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel with a great view.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The hotel was in a good area away from traffic and noise. Restaurants close early around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Jaclyn, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your review! I’m so glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful views of La Jolla. We are in a central location and I’m glad you found comfort away from any noise and traffic. It is my hopes that we were able to assist you with alternative options after our restaurants closed to meet your needs. We do offer 24-hour room service so this is something I encourage you to take a look at next time you stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel staff was very accommodating. It was a good experience