Ratings based on 1,155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange Co, CA.

Large hotel, many comforts and on-site convenience

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Warmer water in the pool. Better poolside maintenance, removing old towels on unused chairs so there is a place for others to sit.
Location: Very good location, right at the edge of Gaslamp and it's shops and restaurants - and also right on the boardwalk. Doesn't get any better than this!
They've done a lot of renovations lately, so the hotel is very up to date. Beds are really comfy and curtains are thick - so be careful ... you could sleep until 10:30 like we did! :) Not a bad problem to have when you're just on a relaxing weekend. The pool is nice, they have added a lot to the pool area, such as places to eat, fire pits and an outdoor lounge. I wish their pool was a little warmer though. The water is so cold I can't even get in it. It's been like this for years though, so that is nothing new. Beautiful pool, just can't bear to get in it. :( Doesn't bother my 7 year old though. Also, it would be very helpful if they maintained the chairs better - removing old towels from chairs no longer being used - so people coming out will have a place to sit. Most of the chairs are not being used, but you'd never know because they're all covered in old towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Everything was good except the room service.We ordered food for room service and they brought the food in to go bags with plastic forks and knives and the food was terrible .Everything else was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
great! south tower has balconys. location is perfect. food, parking, and internet fees are exorbitant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Marina Hotel, or Railroad Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything inside, and the pool
Cons: Install double glazing
Greta Hotel, but I would only stay again if guaranteed a room away from railroad. No noise from trains, but crossing clangs all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great location. Very comfortable stay with nice outdoor tiki bar and resort type pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great stay. Parking was ridiculously expensive for both valet and self-parking. Pool and bar closes pretty early if you're looking to stay out on the weekend (last call is at 9:45) BUT overall experience was very nice. Great customer service. We stayed in a "bay view balcony room" and payed a little extra- the balcony can fit one chair on it, so not much of a balcony. I was very happy with our stay, but with the money we payed, I was expecting more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sd

Nice all around

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We had four great nights, nice facilities, parking fee $28 per night ridiculous but very common for area. No balcony on our room was a disappointment. Overall very pleased, would love to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Outstanding hotel for San Diego Holiday

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Great location, modern hotel, lovely pool area
Cons: Parking charges are hefty
Location: Easy access to Freeway. Gas lamp a few minutes walk away and the Marina is right on the doorstep
Lovely modern hotel in a great location. Our room on the 16th floor had a balcony with a fantastic view over the city. Usual quality expected from a Marriott. Pool area is really nice. Easy access to restaurants with Gaslamp a few minutes walk away and the marina right on the doorstep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

crowded

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Room was not ready until after 4:30. Pizza at the exchange was a joke Frozen Pizza. No customer service Great Location, Great Pool, Great resturaunt in South tower. Location Location Location!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: location and amenities
Cons: Valet service and customer service.
Location: Great location, near the bay with plenty of water activities.
I am a Marriott rewards member and requested an early check in (before 3p). I showed up to the hotel at 245p and they put me in a room on the 26th floor (used for overflow) with a view of the city (versus the bay view that I requested). After requesting to be moved, the front desk manager did move me but not until the 2nd night, and there was no compensation for the first night stay. The other issue I had was the valet service. It is $40 a night to park (which is high as it is) and the valet employees are slow to get to your vehicle and apparently there is little to no customer service. When I got my truck there were beer cans thrown in the bed of the truck along with Bird droppings all over it (neither the beer cans or the bird droppings were on my vehicle when I arrived). For what you pay, the service at this hotel is terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Jeanine Spencer, Hotel Management
I appreciate that you selected our hotel for your visit to San Diego. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not go as expected and that the service you received was not what you are accustomed to when staying with Marriott. I have copied our Front Office Manager on the details surrounding your request. The summer months are very busy and particularly the holiday weekends. We try our best to honor the requests and I am sorry that on this occasion we could not do so on your first night. I have also shared your notes with Ace Parking our valet providers so that they can review them. Thank you for your candid post and for staying with us. We hope that your travels will bring you back to San Diego and that you would consider returning to our hotel for a more memorable experience. Kind regards,