Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Marriott in a relatively quiet location

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: In a location where I wanted to be.
Cons: Most of everything.
Location: The San Diego mission, first one established by Father Serra, is close by and well worth a visit. So is Balboa Park.
The location is not bad, but the hotel seems to be dated. The room is relatively small and the amenities so so. They wouldn't even put out more than the two packs of coffee per day in the room. The place seems to be packed with people coming for special events (graduation, etc.) and not very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Posted May 13, 2015
Very nice hotel. The breakfast was delicious! Nice staff, clean rooms, great location. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

Too dated for a 4 star

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, especially cleaning lady and towel availability by poolside.
Cons: Replace carpeting, upgrade furnishings, improve internet connection.
Location: Nothing worthwhile nearby.
Too far from anything, carpeting and furnishings dated for a 4 star hotel, "high speed" internet was super slow and no signal at all in some places. Staff was very pleasant, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review during your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are happy to hear about your experience with our staff, especially our Housekeeping hosts. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our high speed internet connection and hotel appearance. I will addressed your concerns with our Senior Leadership Team to ensure that these issues are corrected moving forward. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider returning to our hotel should your travels bring you back to San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Inland Empire, CA

Hotel might be a bit too old for a 4 stars

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Clean and close to many attractions.
Cons: Noise cancellation in the room.
Location: Sea World, Beaches, Downtown San Diego, etc.
Overall a OK stay, might be a tad too old for my taste, the claimed innovation has not made it my first choice for next visit to San Diego. The closeness to different attractions should be good for most people. Staff were nice and polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are delighted to hear about your experience with our staff. It disappoints us to hear about the noise problem in your guest room. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alhambra, Caif 91803

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: over all everything
Cons: my husband is handicap and if you can add rails in the hall ways ..it would help and also a handicap rail near the toilet...
Location: shop,
my husband and I ate at the restaurant they have downstairs..the food was the best I ever eaten...in any other restaurant ...my complements to the chef...good food , great salad..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2015
Pleasant, beautiful pool and surroundings, only issue is paying for WiFi is a bit behind the other nice hotels. Would definitely recommend to others and stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom southern California

outdoor pool area is beautiful. Gym is average.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Room was ok, but I expected nicer for what I paid.. $199 per night . I have paid $100 and had a nicer room at Best Western
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are delighted to read about your comment on our outdoor pool area. I apologize that we were not able to find a resolution to the problem you experienced. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego, we hope to gain an opportunity to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Wa

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Parking was MUCH cheaper than other places we had stayed on our trip.
Location: This hotel was within a 5 min walk to catch the trolley to absolutely anywhere.
Checking in and out was super fast and easy. The staff was very helpful and informative about everything we inquired about. We were in town to catch a game at Petco field. We were able to catch the trolley near the hotel that then dropped us right by the field!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Trolley. Professional staff.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
We enjoyed our five days at the hotel. Trolley took us to nearly every place we wanted to go. Some restaurants in walking distance, but having the Trolley so close made for a quick trip to Gaslamp Quarter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Nice hotel. Close to my conference.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The room was clean and so comfortable. I would there again. Their weekend breakfast buffet was amazing.