Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Wonderful staff, nice facilities, close to trolley

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Excellent and sweet staff.
Cons: Queen size beds in room.
My experience at the Marriott Mission Valley was pleasent. The hotel staff were very sweet and I felt well taken care of. The facilities were nice and the location was in walking distance from a trolley station, which was a huge bonus! My only negative thing is that I booked a room with 2 queen beds but they were full sized beds. That was a bummer, but not a deal breaker. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Great location!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
If you have kids that go to SDSU this hotel is in a good location. I only wish that we had 2 bathroom sinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel in Mission

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: The set up in the restaurant is very open and sterile - but the food is good :)
The Marriott has a FABULOUS pool area including on oversized cabana with tvs. It also has a large bar area that is quite happening. And the best part of all is the bed was AMAZING!! Well done to the Marriott!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No refrigerator...

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Unfortunately, no refrigerator was equipped in the room, but overall mood was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Montrose, CA

Great spot for Rock 'n' Roll Marathon weekend

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: The rooms and pool are well maintained. Also loved the free perks for Rock 'n' Roll San Diego runners.
Cons: Having a microwave in room or information if there is a community one to use. Cold pizza isn't too bad but would have appreciated a small microwave.
Location: Location is great! Just a short drive to North Park and its great breweries. Walking distance to Trolley opens up the rest of SD.
We were in town for the Rock 'n' Roll San Diego Marathon weekend and this hotel was perfect for it! We arrived a bit late on Friday so we didn't get the best room in the place but our sound machine knocked out the light amount of hallway noise. Parking was tough to find on Friday night, though we never had an issue getting in and out. The day of the race it was so easy to walk to the trolley (there is a path and signs directing you from elevator area). Best part was the staff kindly gave all runners free late checkout until 1pm AND provided bananas and water that morning. Definitely will book this hotel again for next year's race.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and pleasant

Posted Jun 1, 2015
The hotel was clean and pleasant staff... It was a great experience. The location was very close to Qualcomm stadium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga

Slept like a baby!

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Very comfortable beds, great breakfast and Starbucks coffee downstairs. All the staff were as nice as they could be! Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Marriott in a relatively quiet location

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: In a location where I wanted to be.
Cons: Most of everything.
Location: The San Diego mission, first one established by Father Serra, is close by and well worth a visit. So is Balboa Park.
The location is not bad, but the hotel seems to be dated. The room is relatively small and the amenities so so. They wouldn't even put out more than the two packs of coffee per day in the room. The place seems to be packed with people coming for special events (graduation, etc.) and not very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Posted May 13, 2015
Very nice hotel. The breakfast was delicious! Nice staff, clean rooms, great location. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Too dated for a 4 star

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, especially cleaning lady and towel availability by poolside.
Cons: Replace carpeting, upgrade furnishings, improve internet connection.
Location: Nothing worthwhile nearby.
Too far from anything, carpeting and furnishings dated for a 4 star hotel, "high speed" internet was super slow and no signal at all in some places. Staff was very pleasant, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2015 by Christy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review during your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are happy to hear about your experience with our staff, especially our Housekeeping hosts. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our high speed internet connection and hotel appearance. I will addressed your concerns with our Senior Leadership Team to ensure that these issues are corrected moving forward. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider returning to our hotel should your travels bring you back to San Diego.