Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice boutique hotel across from ocean/park

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We loved that everything was within walking distance and that it was across from the beach. We loved that it was a boutique hotel.
We had the most amazing time in La Jolla. Staying at the Scripps made it even more enjoyable. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The room was very up to date, clean and cute. We loved it from the moment we walked in. Scripps Inn was right across from the beach and walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Scripps offered a delicious continental breakfast that included lovely pastries, yogurt, granola, juice, coffee & tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great location.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location was great for our purposes to drive from Disneyland, Los Angeles, and San Diego. Very helpful and attentive staff. Kid friendly.
Cons: Heartier breakfast selection and offering it earlier than 8 would be nice
Location: Beautiful beach views, tide pools, seal watching, snorkeling etc Walk to shops, beach, restaurants
We (husband and 2 sons ages 4 and 8) stayed for 3 nights and lived walking across the street to check out the tide pools every morning. Beautiful views, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cam from Los Angeles

Peaceful and steps from the ocean

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, staff, cleanliness of room
Cons: Maybe if breakfast can be served starting a bit earlier? I had some early meetings downtown where I had to leave at 7:30. Not a big deal though.
Location: la jolla cove, restaurants
This is the second time I've stayed at the Scripps Inn and I will always come back whenever I'm in the area! I love the feeling of the small inn and the decor of the room is like being in a beach resort. Each night I fell asleep to the sound of the waves. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is a nice breakfast each morning with yogurt, pastries and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London

Gorgeous family run hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, breakfast included, spacious room.
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Walks along the beach, seals on the beach, cute town with shops and places to eat
We had a far too short stay at this gorgeous B&B style hotel right on the beach in La Jolla. We only stayed one night and arrived late but our keys were left out for us and the room was beautiful - huge bed, lots of space, nice decor. Bathroom was a little small but that was our only complaint. Breakfast was included - huge pastries, juice and cereal and we took it on a little tray to a picnic bench on the beach. We got up to see the sunrise over seal beach, which was just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Cozy kid friendly inn right on the beach

Posted May 31, 2014
Excellent rooms, great views, quiet and peaceful, and very courteous staff. Well equipped kitchen. Staff even helped us with the laundry. Convenient parking which is otherwise hard to find in La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Long Beach, CA

Right across the street from the beach.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The location, K-cups, cleanliness, cheap parking and staff.
Cons: Squeeky floors.
Location: Lots of food, art galleries, bars and of course the tidepools and seals.
Amazing location and also a good deal on parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. K-Cups in the room along with a corkscrew and wine glasses! Lots of local action within walking distance for dinner, shopping, drinks etc. Not a great view but we barely spent any time in the room anyways, Only drawback was the squeeky floor with someone up stairs that liked to walk back and forth a lot. Couldn't sleep till they decided to turn in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara from Virginia

Motel right on the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: LOVED the location. It is right on the ocean. Chairs in room had wheels on them for easy socializing or TV watching.
Cons: Not enough power outlets for charging electronics. Need trash can by coffee prep area.
Location: Flower fields at Carlsbad. Whale watching. Aquarium. Soledad Mt. Seals and pelicans are right across the street. Watch the sunsets on water.
Motel is two story in neighborhood of private residences. It has off street parking for guests. The location is lovely. It is just a walk across the street from the ocean. Just a quick walk from the "kiddie pool" where the seals sun bathe. We had a view of the ocean from the chairs that are outside of every room. Just a quick walk from some enjoyable restaurants. We ate breakfast at Aroma and the museum cafe. We took advantage of the motel's continental breakfast before our whale watching. It had yogurt, granola, muffins, pastries, juices, etc. We ate appetizers at Barfly the first night and ate dinner at Amici's the next. We can recommend all the restaurants. We are into photography and spent our evenings on the beach trying to capture the surfers, wildlife, and sunsets. We were impressed with how well the parks were maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from AZ

Great hotel and great location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Was very pleased with the hotel, location, and staff. We would take our breakfast every morning and walk across the street to sit on the bench and have breakfast while enjoying the beach. With the special pricing I attained through Expedia it was well worth it for our stay. Wi-Fi was also available and free, breakfast was included, simply a well managed and run hotel for a relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dashi from Texas

Want to be visit again with my family

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jan Lammerding

Excellent location

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Scripps Inn offers an amazing location at La Jolla for a reasonable price. Its within walking distance (5-10min) to all of the major attractions, has parking, and is so close to the ocean that you can hear the surf from your room. I would definitely come back again.