Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
right on beach, next to tide pool. listened to waves from room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Metro Area

Great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The location was great for walking around La Jolla and the coast. They have chairs you can borrow to take to the beach or watch the sunset.
Cons: They could upgrade their toilet paper and kleenex. Even In and Out Burger has softer toilet paper.
Location: The location is great. You can walk to any place on Prospect, Ivanhoe or Girard streets, all along the coast.
We spent two nights here in room 11. We could see the Pacific from our windows even though we faced the tiny parking lot. The room was spacious, nicely decorated including a couch, table and chairs, small fridge in the bath(in an awkward spot) and bathrobes. In the office they serve a simple breakfast of juices, coffee, sweet rolls, yogurt and some wonderful home made granola that my husband loved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Heat wave

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Hotel was great. Would highly recommend. Only issue was no air conditioning and we were there for an unusual heat wave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fabulous location in La Jolla!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Wonderful location, across the street from the Pacific Ocean! Views are incredible. One block walk to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Seals to watch down the road. Pleasant weather and great location. Inn has friendly staff, clean, remodeled rooms. Fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tnt from apple valley

relax. relax. relax very romantic

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Waves crashing to lull you to sleep. Romantic walks along the beach which is only steps away great place to recharge. Dave is the man to help you with anything. Great service. And best of all cleanest place ever. Will be going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice boutique hotel across from ocean/park

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We loved that everything was within walking distance and that it was across from the beach. We loved that it was a boutique hotel.
We had the most amazing time in La Jolla. Staying at the Scripps made it even more enjoyable. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The room was very up to date, clean and cute. We loved it from the moment we walked in. Scripps Inn was right across from the beach and walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Scripps offered a delicious continental breakfast that included lovely pastries, yogurt, granola, juice, coffee & tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great location.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location was great for our purposes to drive from Disneyland, Los Angeles, and San Diego. Very helpful and attentive staff. Kid friendly.
Cons: Heartier breakfast selection and offering it earlier than 8 would be nice
Location: Beautiful beach views, tide pools, seal watching, snorkeling etc Walk to shops, beach, restaurants
We (husband and 2 sons ages 4 and 8) stayed for 3 nights and lived walking across the street to check out the tide pools every morning. Beautiful views, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cam from Los Angeles

Peaceful and steps from the ocean

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, staff, cleanliness of room
Cons: Maybe if breakfast can be served starting a bit earlier? I had some early meetings downtown where I had to leave at 7:30. Not a big deal though.
Location: la jolla cove, restaurants
This is the second time I've stayed at the Scripps Inn and I will always come back whenever I'm in the area! I love the feeling of the small inn and the decor of the room is like being in a beach resort. Each night I fell asleep to the sound of the waves. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is a nice breakfast each morning with yogurt, pastries and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London

Gorgeous family run hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, breakfast included, spacious room.
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Walks along the beach, seals on the beach, cute town with shops and places to eat
We had a far too short stay at this gorgeous B&B style hotel right on the beach in La Jolla. We only stayed one night and arrived late but our keys were left out for us and the room was beautiful - huge bed, lots of space, nice decor. Bathroom was a little small but that was our only complaint. Breakfast was included - huge pastries, juice and cereal and we took it on a little tray to a picnic bench on the beach. We got up to see the sunrise over seal beach, which was just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Cozy kid friendly inn right on the beach

Posted May 31, 2014
Excellent rooms, great views, quiet and peaceful, and very courteous staff. Well equipped kitchen. Staff even helped us with the laundry. Convenient parking which is otherwise hard to find in La Jolla.