Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fabulous location in La Jolla!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Wonderful location, across the street from the Pacific Ocean! Views are incredible. One block walk to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Seals to watch down the road. Pleasant weather and great location. Inn has friendly staff, clean, remodeled rooms. Fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice boutique hotel across from ocean/park

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We loved that everything was within walking distance and that it was across from the beach. We loved that it was a boutique hotel.
We had the most amazing time in La Jolla. Staying at the Scripps made it even more enjoyable. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The room was very up to date, clean and cute. We loved it from the moment we walked in. Scripps Inn was right across from the beach and walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Scripps offered a delicious continental breakfast that included lovely pastries, yogurt, granola, juice, coffee & tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great location.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location was great for our purposes to drive from Disneyland, Los Angeles, and San Diego. Very helpful and attentive staff. Kid friendly.
Cons: Heartier breakfast selection and offering it earlier than 8 would be nice
Location: Beautiful beach views, tide pools, seal watching, snorkeling etc Walk to shops, beach, restaurants
We (husband and 2 sons ages 4 and 8) stayed for 3 nights and lived walking across the street to check out the tide pools every morning. Beautiful views, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cam from Los Angeles

Peaceful and steps from the ocean

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, staff, cleanliness of room
Cons: Maybe if breakfast can be served starting a bit earlier? I had some early meetings downtown where I had to leave at 7:30. Not a big deal though.
Location: la jolla cove, restaurants
This is the second time I've stayed at the Scripps Inn and I will always come back whenever I'm in the area! I love the feeling of the small inn and the decor of the room is like being in a beach resort. Each night I fell asleep to the sound of the waves. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is a nice breakfast each morning with yogurt, pastries and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London

Gorgeous family run hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, breakfast included, spacious room.
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Walks along the beach, seals on the beach, cute town with shops and places to eat
We had a far too short stay at this gorgeous B&B style hotel right on the beach in La Jolla. We only stayed one night and arrived late but our keys were left out for us and the room was beautiful - huge bed, lots of space, nice decor. Bathroom was a little small but that was our only complaint. Breakfast was included - huge pastries, juice and cereal and we took it on a little tray to a picnic bench on the beach. We got up to see the sunrise over seal beach, which was just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Cozy kid friendly inn right on the beach

Posted May 31, 2014
Excellent rooms, great views, quiet and peaceful, and very courteous staff. Well equipped kitchen. Staff even helped us with the laundry. Convenient parking which is otherwise hard to find in La Jolla.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Corey from TN

Excellent Beachside Stay

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was great; comfy bed, plenty of space, clean and spacious bathroom, etc. The hotel staff was often hard to find, but friendly and helpful. The location cannot be beat. Beautiful cliffside spot with a trail down to a grassy area and about 100 feet from beach access. Restaurants and shopping in the area are also great. You can't beat the friendly neighborhood of La Jolla, and it's a very short drive from everything you could want in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from San Antonio

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very romantic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Larry Arnaudet from Dallas, TX

Great Experience

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
EVERYTHING was "top flight"... especially the management of the property! Will definitely be returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria Lucia Lopez from Washington DC

location, cottage style rooms and friendly service

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The perfect location in La Jolla, just across the street to the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. No stress at all! And parking cost is reasonable at $ 12 per night!