Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy from Minneapolis

Great location, decent hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location, Room Size, Cleanliness.
Cons: Bath towels could be a bit larger. Doors could be more noise proof.
Location: A ton of great food and close to nightlife. A must do is the Hash House!
I stayed there many years ago. The place better than before, cleaner, nice bedding and room are big. Walking distance to just about anything you could ask for. Price was wrong on parking but it was only a dollar more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from dubai, uae

Close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I would definitely recommend to everyone. Cool staff. Superb breakfast close to everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice for San Diego

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Room very clean and spacious. Hot tub was relaxing. Would love to stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 3, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us not only that we are glad you enjoyed the hot tub. We appreciate your feedback and it would be a pleasure to see you again the next time you are in San Diego. Yours in Hospitality, Viridiana Zapata
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tink from Highlands Ranch, CO

Great for Price with Kitchen

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The kitchen in the room was a big plus, and the reason I chose this property.
Cons: Non-smoking policy needs to be enforced. Kitchen needs detailed cleaning.
Location: Great location. Seaworld was just 10 minutes away. Tons of restaurants to walk to. Grocery store a few blocks away, along with gas, bank, etc
The daily breakfast was sufficient and the breakfast attendant is such a sweet lady! Free Wine/beer/snacks on Tuesday evenings and BBQ on Thursdays was a nice surprise! The hotel room had a few dirty spots needing some attention, particularly in the kitchen. This is a non-smoking property, and you are told this several times and have to sign an agreement statement at check-in....however this policy needs to be reinforced MUCH better. We could not enjoy sitting on the large balcony because 3 men on the next balcony were smoking like chimneys. Each morning we saw a man across the courtyard standing in the hallway smoking. Smoke could be smelled here and there throughout the property as we walked from place to place. There are security cameras, so I wonder if more effort could be put out to address this issue? If staff would simply walk around the floors a few times each day, I'm sure they could crack down on this. I will stay elsewhere if I can find an equivalent property in the area due to this issue.
Comment from
Jan 3, 2014
Dear Tink, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Expedia. I am very sorry you didn't find everything up to your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and will address it appropriately. We are hoping to be a nonsmoking property in the near future. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guests again someday and I am positive you will have a much different experience. Yours in Hospitality, Viridiana Zapata
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Southern California

Nice Enough

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Very friendly staff at checkin. Room was nice and clean as was the other areas of the hotel. Easy to get to. Parking is $10 and spaces appear limited but did not present a problem. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with full kitchen

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Great place and very clean, didn't get to try the breakfast but still really good place to stay in. The only con I have for this place is the bed was kinda unconfortable but other than that it was pretty good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

id not say. See below

Posted Feb 11, 2014
When we arrived, there was a plumbing problem in our assigned room. After 2 hurs we were informed problem still exited and they would get us a room at a motel one mile away. This was unacceptable to us, so we drove about 2.5 hours back to Palm Springs. We are expecting a fullrefund on our Discover Card. Sommerset Suites has promised us a voucher for a free night's stay. We had previously stayed at this motel and were pleased with the accommodations. However, this trip was a bummer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eric from Detroit

Best Hotel in Hillcrest

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the best located Hotel if you want to hang out in Hillcrest. The rooms are like small apartments. Flat screen TV, super comfy beds, full kitchen with utensils, high end soaps/shampoos/lotions, Pool, Hot Tub, free breakfast.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Eric, Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we are glad you enjoyed the location and all that Hillcrest has to offer. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. We hope you'll come back and visit soon. Yours in Hospitality, Viridiana Zapata
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Hillcrest location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking is $9 per day additional. Walked to Zoo, Park, movie, restaurants great location.
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us not only that but everything that Hillcrest has to offer. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego. Yours in Hospitality, Viridiana Zapata