Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel horrible

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything
The room was full of fruit flies. Management told me their were no flies in the room and could do nothing about my situation. Horrible experience. i will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

Clean room

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Bigger coffee cups
Location: Beach is right across the street!
We had a great experience at the Surf Motel. Bob, at the front desk, was very friendly. The room was small but since it was just two people, it was great. The room was very clean. Short walk to the beach and restaurants. The only thing we missed was having a balcony with a view of the ocean. This motel serves the purpose very well. Very inexpensive! Worth it unless you want a view from your room. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler

Excellent experience

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Perfect location, very friendly staff. Will come back for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Close to beach. Nice.rewuesteg

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Requested in advance lower unit due to knee condition. Mot available. Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cave Creek, Arizona

We love the Surf Motel.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Across the street from the beach and walking distance to everything in the town.
Cons: no
Location: This place is all about a relaxed vacation at the beach.
We have been coming here every summer for 5 years and it is just perfect for our family. Across the street from a perfect beach and walking distance to everything in the town of Carlsbad. It is a very safe area and family oriented. The staff at the Surf Motel always treats us very well and make our stay very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Lovely view....

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Staff are amazing we ejoyed Every minute at This place they Have so much to offer for kids. Even my kids want to come back. This will be are stay for a Long time....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

They Lie in their Advertisements and to your face.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was across from the Beach, That is ALL.
Cons: The Bathrooms, The Management and/or Crew, Oh and the Cabinet Doors.
Location: Oceanside was very close and had great beaches and cheap wet suits. The Armenian Restaurant Next Door Was Delish! and you can
It is in a lovely location. That is all. When I first arrived the man at the front desk didn't greet me and seemed reluctant to check me in, in fact he pretended to check me into the system until another employee arrived. Not too big an issue. Then my family and I unload luggage to our room and head out for a bite to eat. We were gone no more than two hours and when we arrived back at the room my luggage had been ransacked. My clothes and hair brush were on the floor and bag unzipped. This is Not how I left it. Nothing was missing because I took everything worth anything. I didn't do an underwear count before I left so I could be wrong about that. Right away I go to speak to the Manager and all's he can say is he has the spare key , didn't go in there, and has worked here for 15 years and nothing like that has Ever happened, Yeah Right! To get to the point , if you don't mind crusty toilet seat lids, your luggage ransacked, and being lyed to your face, please stay at this wonderfully located Motel....and BTW the pool was colder than the Ocean, DEF NOT Heated!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to beach amenities.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect
Cons: Over face lift
Location: Literally within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.
We were allowed to receive keys earlier than 3:00 PM. The Motel is older than we expected. It would be nice if the place has a face lift. The bathroom sink has to be 30 years old. The shower water handle needs replacing in room 126 where stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bluesummers

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sheilae from AZ

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was just for one one night. It was the perfect location for us since we were in town for a graduation in Carlsbad. The beach was right across the beach. We could walk to restaurants and shopping.