Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PUYALLUP WA

DISPOINTED

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: close to beach
Cons: update rooms and have AC
Location: BEACH
We did plenty of research to look for a nice hotel on the beach at a decent price. After seeing pictures and wanting to stay on the beach. We decided the Surf Hotel would fit our needs. I thought we had booked a King suit with ocean/partial ocean view. We ended up in a cave on the 1st floor next the pool. The room is very dated. I remember having a dresser like that when I was 18 moving out and buying something from a garage sale. NO Air conditioning. However they do give you $15 floor fan. The beds are a complete joke. I have no idea how old the mattress is? And if you like sleeping on sand paper sheets. Than this is the place for you!! The staff was pretty friendly but definite room for improvement
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Great location on the beach

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bigger bed - we had 2 double and AC
Location: seaworld - seaport village - Balboa park - surfing
We stayed before a couple of days ! this time we stayed the entire week - very quiet and pleasant - everything you need is around - great food recommandation - you don't need a car - Con parking is pricey $15 a day
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condem

Posted Aug 20, 2014
No air conditioning this hotel is like a frat house ran by incompetent people its super dirty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location location location
Cons: The interior is very run down. Needs to be remodeled.
Location: It's right on the beach. You literally walk down and cross the sidewalk to the sand. There's great restaurants, shops, bike rental, surf shops, etc.
This is a great location if you want to spend most of your time on the beach. Access to the beach was within minutes. It's not the best hotel, but, for the price, it works. It's next to a really good coffee shop "Woodys" that has excellent coffee and food. It's near alot of activity and we had a great time. The rooms are equivalent to an Inn so don't expect alot. We wanted to be close to the beach so we expect much from the hotel for the price. It's a typical cheap beach room. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The bed was clean/comfortable and the hotel is on the beach.
Cons: The hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment, and the hotel staff needs to conserve water.
Location: Pacific Beach was great.
This hotel is not worth the price. We were shocked and disappointed by the condition: The building was old, outdated and in poor condition, we did not get the 3rd floor as we were promised, the first floor room to which we were assigned did not have a "partial view of the ocean," as we were told (only a partial view of the pool), the sleeper sofa was dirty, old and uncomfortable, the tiny bathroom and shower curtain smelled horribly like mildew, there was no fan in the bathroom, the windows were old, the window screen was broken so flies and bugs came in, the tiny coffee maker was cheap and broken. Every morning we awoke to gallons and gallons of water pouring off of the roof (or somewhere from the building onto the sidewalk next to our door), and it lasted for over over an hour each time. The hotel claims that it is "green," but the pouring water was extremely wasteful in this drought.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

The beach was great..

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: It was on the ocean.... And close to eating places...
Cons: Read experience.. A little to much, price wise..
Location: Not much to do in walking distance... But love the beach...
But they could improve the room. Put in ceiling fans. Clean the mold from under the plastic chairs & tables... The showers could be bigger.... The bath cabinet needed to be undated (real dirty)!!!! Take out the carpet, it smells... The curtains were dirty... But the beach was great....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but not worth the price

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: one of the fans in the room was broken but replaced quickly, old fans.
Location: Just a few steps from the beach and plenty of places to eat and drink.
Arrived around 4:30 and hotel room was hot but no ac, which is not mentioned on the website. Talked to the front desk and they said it is mentioned on their website but not expedia. I would have not booked the room without it.Great location and everything was easy to get to, parking is tight but no problems there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Cons: Sheets without stains. Properly locking doors. Hot water.
We picked this hotel because it was beachfront, but that was its only redeemable quality. The sheets were dirty and stained. The room was dirty; the table lamp's faux leather peeling off. The top of the headboards were covered in dust. The screen on the door was broken so the door could not be shut properly. And because there was not ac; we needed to keep the door open. But we couldn't do that and and have a locked door. We called the front desk and were sent immediately to voice mail. There was no hot water. Tried to shower at 11 at night and at 10 in the am. No hot water either time.Enjoyed being so close to the beach, but was VERY GRATEFUL that we stayed only one night. Will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Right on the beach!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
After reading other reviews I was pleasantly surprised. People need to realize that this is a beach hotel. It is NOT the Hyatt. I noticed all of the things that previous reviewers wrote but none of them were a problem. The fixtures will rust being so close to salt water. There is no A/C. Don't need it with the sea breeze. The only "Noise" I heard at night was the waves. I can deal with that noise anytime. Staff was friendly. Parking spots are small but usable. (If other guests park straight and within lines) We had a nice stay. The location cant be beat. Close to shopping and restaurants and of course the beach. Views were wonderful. We were on the third floor. Very pleased.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tucson

Good location hotel needs major renovation

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is good. World Famous bar and grill great.
We were supposed to stay 4 nights after 1st night moved to a different hotel