Ratings based on 3,612 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
There are a lot of kids at this hotel. Be prepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location near Sea World and beaches

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The location for this hotel is excellent: very close to Sea World (including a free shuttle), and quite close to Mission Beach. Poolside bars were a big plus as well. The beds were comfortable, though the room smelled a bit musty on entry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds facing Mission Bay

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Room, bed comfort, access to Bay
Location: Excellent location, close to Sea World, Downtown. Always go to Point Loma Seafood when in town
Only spent one night for a quick getaway. We had a standard room, but were lucky to get Water front room (bldg 600) Very nice room, quick walk out to pathway out to Mission Bay. Two pools, one with a bar for food and drinks. Only thing wrong, the 5 kids running up and down above us at 7am. (Not hotels fault) Got this room on Expedia unpublished rates, so got a very good deal. Would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from il

Posted Aug 15, 2014
No option of having food after hours.The restaurant is closed early and there is no room service after 9 pm.the reception recommended on delivery service that delivers until 2am but actually not after 10pm. during checking out you have to pay extra charge for the nature resort without any notice in advance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chino hills

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Had a great time! Free upgrade when I checked in! Nice resort! Good for adults and kids! Close to sea world! Would definitely go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haley

My Dana experience

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This was my second time studying at The Dana on Mission Bay. We stayed in room 419, which had a perfect view of the marina, morning sunrises, and the Sea World firework show. Who could ask for more! The amenities are amazing with the pools, restaurants, and activities! We rented jet skis and had a blast! All the staff was friendly and helpful as well. Also, the location is perfect. Close to the beach, Sea World, and the freeway to go to other San Diego attractions. The Dana had become my home away from home and I will be back next summer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Beautiful location... Firefly restaurant service was terrible!! Ac in my room didn't seem to correlate with the thermostat, so my room was hot!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Clean room with comfortable beds

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfortable. The view of the bay was nice. I paid for a view, which I assumed would be of the bay, but our window faced the courtyard.
Cons: Parking is convenient, but $20/day parking fee is steep. The $14/day fee is a joke. It covers a crap coupon book, coffee, and the USA today. Ouch!
Location: We didn't do much in the bay, as the beaches were more fun for our family. Mission Beach & Pacific Beach are close. Everything was drive-able.
We stayed at The Dana for 5 nights. It was comfortable and clean. The location is within close driving distance to several beaches and other things to do. We could see SeaWorld's fireworks display over the bay most nights which was a bonus. Next time we'll probably look for a vacation-by-owner closer to the beach with a kitchen so we don't have to eat out every meal. Breakfast is not provided at The Dana.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the marina

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location was a good central basecamp and the bayside pool was nice and spacious with a view on the marina
Cons: Our room was a bit musty and damp. Our bathroom needed an exhaust fan and improvements to the exterior door seals needed to be replaced.
Location: This hotel is centrally located to Sea World, San Diego zoo, as well as the Safari Park. Many local beaches are a short bike ride or drive away.
Our experience in San Diego was great. This hotel provided a nice base camp. The hotel staff was fine but was not overly friendly. The Bayside pool was spacious and has a nice view where many families and couples could enjoy themselves. Our room was somewhat lacking in that we had a moisture problem in it as well as carpets that need replacement. It was nice to have a facility to rent bikes and SEADOOS on the hotel property. We would likely stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Nice hotel but charges made at the hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Do not make the extra charges for parking and resort fee
Location: We visited Seaworld & the hotel offered a free shuttle service. However it is a very limited shuttle service and only runs a couple of times a day
We stayed at this hotel because of its close proximity to Sea World. When reviewing the Expedia website this hotel was recommended for our party of 5 adults and 2 children. It was not clear from the website where the third adult would be sleeping and therefore I contacted Expedia. They also agreed that it was not clear, so very kindly rang the hotel direct. The hotel said that they would put a roll away bed in the room and thankfully this was recorded on the Expedia invoice because when we arrived we were told that the room was not big enough for the extra bed (it would be a fire hazard) and that the 3rd adult would have to sleep on the floor or we would have to upgrage to a bigger room ( which they did not have available for the 1st night of our stay anyway). I showed them our confirmation from Expedia which had the persons name that had agreed to the extra bed and eventulally they decided to squeeze the roll away bed between the 2 beds in the room. It was then very tight for space. This hotel also charges a parking fee and a resort fee for every night that you stay. We ended up paying about 80 usd for a 2 night stay. Unfair and unnecessary.