Ratings based on 3,356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by patty from New Jersey

Perfect for Family of Four

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities and staff. And that the pool stayed open until 10 pm!!!! Pretty gardens.
Cons: I think that the transportation to/from the hotel should be included
Location: Seaworld, bus line into town, walking/biking (if you have time), market for food purchases (at the marina)
Family of 4 vacationing in San Diego without a car. Day 1 - used taxi service to get to/from zoo. Need entire day there. Day 2 - Rented a car to travel to Torrey Pines and La Jolla. Hotel arranged rental car for us. Enterprise picked us up and brought us to rental site. When we finished with car were able to leave it in hotel parking lot. EASY!!!. Day 3 - able to get to Sea World on free shuttle. Need entire day at Sea World. Day 4 - Did hop on hop off trolley and hotel provides free transportation to Old Town where you begin your tour. EASY!!! Headed out to Coronado, Balboa Park and Old Town. Day 5 - used public transportation to get to USS MIdway. Took #8 bus in front of Hotel to Old Town transit center, then Green Line downtown to Santa Fe Depot. EASY!!!! Stopped in Little Italy on way back! We saw so much in 5 days!!!! And each night that we go home the kids went swimming in hotel pool. San Diego is a great family destination and hotel staff was VERY helpful and friendly. And you can also walk over to the marina market for breakfast foods or sandwiches. Super convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient. Kid friendly.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
We had a great time. We went to Seaworld that was close-by. And then there's Belmont park with a beautiful working roller coaster built in 1924 just down the road. Reminded me of Coney Island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Alberta,Canada

Decent for the price.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: Very close to SeaWorld. Fairly close to Belmont Park.
I have no major complaints about the hotel. The staff were good, the rooms were average, clean, the food at their restaurants & staff at their restaurants were good too. It's a good hotel for a decent price. The location is just ok, it overlooks a marina & the beach/water, but it's a little far from the main areas of Mission Bay, ie. Mission Bay park, Belmont Park, restaurants/shops. It's about a 15-20min walk or a 5min bus ride. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, so that's nice. It's not a "fancy pampering luxurious hotel". But it was nice, comfortable, & what we needed. They have a free shuttle to SeaWorld, which was nice. There are no restaurants close, except those that they operate.
3 out of 5
by greg from Melb Australia

Close to beach area

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Not much in end.. Eateries were good
Cons: Manner of staff.. We were told shuttle to Seaworld. When we were ready to go informed no your too late... That wasn't mentioned about times.
Location: Seaworld and Mission Beach
Very Noisy with guests banging doors all night.. Every time someone took a shower you could hear it from your room Went out for a whole day and came back to find cleaners had left door open the whole day.. Reported it to front desk who just said..."Oh Well"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute find in the bay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Great food at The Blue Pearl. Great location. Love the view of the bay. My two kids enjoyed the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Handy location
Free Shuttle is available to Sea World, but we walked. It was only about 15 minutes. Public transit worked very well for us. A three day transit pass was only $14 each (purchased from vending machine at Old Town Station). You can purchase a day pass right on the bus, but it is $7 per day. Bus stops are in front of the hotel and easy ride to the beach or Old Town. From there a trolley to the Zoo, Midway, Balboa Park, etc.
2 out of 5
by DW from California

Parking

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: No parking fee - it is a regular outdoor lot.
There did not appear to be any information when I booked this hotel about a $20 per day parking fee. What a bunch of crap. There was mention of a $9 daily fee for coffee and wi-fi - I guess they figured that nearly $200 a night was not enough to cover those two items. So at check out you spend another $87 above and beyond what you booked. How do they expect people to get to their hotel - unless they drive. No underground parking and no covered parking - just a crappy parking lot with people parking too close to you and you get to pay $20 per day for the privilege. I do not think this hotel is worth it. And for my nickel - the food is terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

review of stay at dana

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Dining Room excellent. Menu excellent
Cons: The original rooms need to be updated. We did have other family members and friends also staying at the resort and they were in the original section.
Location: Resort location excellent and easy to visit all areas.
My initial reservation for the hotel was a room with king bed. Upon arrival the room I was offered with a king bed room and view, but it was a handicapped room. This was not appropriate as regards the bathroom and it also took a lot of extra space from the bedroom area. Upon asking for the room change the front desk staff were very accomodating and we were offered a room within the newer buildings. Sadly it did come with extra cost but it was very more approriate for our needs. We enjoyed the menu selections and the food was excellent in the dining room. The pool facilites were excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used to be a great Hotel!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Service, room amenities, customer service
Location: Beach
Room was not ready on time. I was advised to wait at the restaurant and someone would call me on my cell when my room was ready......45 minutes later I went back to the lobby after no call and had to wait in line again....... I was able to check in at this time and went to my room to get ready for a business meeting only to find that the AC was not on and the remote control was locked and the AC could not be turned on. I had to call twice to get someone to the room to switch out the remote and get the AC (wall unit) running, leaving me pressed for time to get showered and to my meeting. Disappointing experience from a Hotel that had previously provided me great accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle from Novato, CA

Great hotel near Sea World

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, pretty setting, on-property dining, on-property laundry facilities.
Cons: Gift shop could offer more convenience foods (i.e., microwaveable choices)
Location: Best location for visiting Sea World.
This hotel is very nice, comfortable, and in a lovely location. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Sea World, which is also within walking distance. Two on-site restaurants offer a variety of dining choices. Great pools with lovely bay views line the property. Rooms are small, but comfortable queen sized beds made sure we were well rested.