Ratings based on 3,808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Great location for R&R

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Great location for outdoor activities and within reasonable distance from major attractions such as the Safari park, Zoo etc. Great staff and comfortable clean rooms... would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dawson Creek, BC

Bay front hotel, close to many amenities.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: The amenities that are included in the resort fee are fairly standard for hotels today and should not have to be charged the $14 resort fee.
Location: Location is great, SeaWorld is very close, Belmont Park, great restaurants and shopping all short distances away.
Could not ask for a better located hotel in San Diego, even though it was my first trip. Along the ocean, very close to Belmont Park and the beachfront. A short walk to SeaWorld and only a few minutes drive to many restaurants, shopping and the trolley to take you wherever you need to go. Nice pool area and a view in the evening that is spectacular (if you get a bayview room). Rooms were always muggy and could not do much about it. Some places of the exterior starting to show its age.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

Pricey hotel not so near amenities

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Close to the water
Cons: Front desk service. Rooms being upgraded to the standard of the price. Due to distance from everything better shuttle service.
Location: Walking along the marina. Cafe was good
We booked through Expedia and upgraded to a standard king with a view. When we got there, we were given a double queen (told by the clerk that since we booked through Expedia (aka 3rd party) that we did not have a choice of room and it was what was available. A very first for me considering I book through Expedia the majority of the time. The view room of the guard rail for the passage way to everybody's room. The clerk that served us was not very helpful and since we booked and had traveled for over 10 hours we took the room. At the point where first impressions are everything we decided to go for a long walk, have a bite to eat (at the Hyatt....very nice atmosphere there), returned back to the Dana, asked if there was an upgrade and after some arrangements was able to upgrade to a very nice room for a steep price. Mark the person who served us was very helpful and did his best to get us a nice room. Very grateful for that at which point we started to enjoy being on vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Nov 17, 2014
$20 parking fee surprised me, but other than that, it was all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maple Valley, Wa

Beautiful surroundings!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
A relaxing unpretentious, yet classy atmosphere. We chose a deluxe room on the Bay with a stunning view. We walked for miles and our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We didn't want to leave

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Had a very good stay here. The staff are very helpful and nice, they help check us in early. It's a great value for money. It was well located for all the things we wanted to do. Rooms were clean. I'd highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We enjoyed our stay to the fullest and will returning within the month to enjoy it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ca.

Nice area

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Area is great. Clean hotel, nice little pool.
Cons: Check in time is to late! Parking fee too.
Location: Nice location!
Nice clean hotel. good for the money. My only complaint is 4:00 check in and 11:00 check out. I would rather stay at a place that check in time is earlier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The view form the room is amazing.
Cons: The parking fee is too expensive!! And it is not mention in the website.
The view form the room is amazing and the room is clean, the staff is also very nice. But the parking fee is too expensive!! And it is not mention in the website.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada City

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Character of the old rooms. Staff. D├ęcor. Ground floor patios (room 304).
Cons: Cleanliness. Directions around the facility. A little confusing finding buildings and Blue Pearl, etc.
Location: Walk along the bay. Beautiful sunset. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Near the Beach. Love all that.
I recently stayed for one night; at the referral of a friend. I like the area = staff were great. The only feedback I would like to give is that I was really disappointed in the cleanliness of my room. #304. THe hotel is obviously older.... which is fine and gives it character. But the light switches were dirty. There was dust on door louvres, coffee pot, bathroom counter edges, baseboards in bathroom, etc. A hair under pillows near nightstand (coulc have been from maid possibly???) Coffee pot not clean....Not very clean feeling - which is the least that I want when I stay at a hotel. If it's CLEAN, then I can put up with most anything; such as the hard bed. But I get very nervous to come again when it is not completely clean.