Ratings based on 1,998 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay. Good hote

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: The sofa bed needs to be replaced.
This was just a short on night stay but we found the suite to be very comfortable. The bed was awesome and it was very quiet and clean. For the money it was wonderful. Staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 沖縄

冷蔵庫

Posted Jul 2, 2015
要リクエストと記載されていたので1週間前に冷蔵庫のリクエストをしたが、結局、当日には準備してもらえなかった。部屋は広いのですが、ホテルの設備は古く、現在、改装を少しずつしているみたいです。シャワーの水の出の悪さとシャワーブースから水が床にすぐ出てしまう建て付けが、許せませんでした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Excellant

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Staff
Was pleasantly surprised by our accommodations after reading other reviews. Very happy with our room and the great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Enjoyed The Declan Suites

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel location is awesome, everyone of the staff is friendly and helpful, checked in in few minutes and checked out in one minute ..
Cons: Adding fridges to rooms.
Location: Excellent location and 5 mins walk to the downtown, gas lamp district and very close to the Balboa area and very close to the I5 if you're driving.
I stayed at the hotel for around 8 days and the hotel location was awesome, everyone of the staff is friendly and helpful, checked in in few minutes and checked out in one minute .. received more than 7 packages and they were safely kept .. the room was clean and wide enough and having a microwave .. it was only missing a fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to many attractions in downtown

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time in the Declan. The parking is in a parking garage next door on the 11th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Great location. Room was very spacious and had a nice view. It was clean and well maintained.
Cons: Would have been nice to have a complimentary breakfast, but since there were so many options close by it wasn't really an issue.
Location: Nice location. Great mall nearby. Bike rentals nearby to ride around the waterfront. Cool maritime museum and statues just a few blocks away.
Great place. They let me check in early. I went to the hotel early in the hopes of just storing my luggage until it was time to check in but they were so nice they let me go ahead and check in. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to an excellent mall and all sorts of restaurants. The other places I wanted to visit like Balboa Park, Seaworld, and the airport were all easily accessed by public transit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central valley

Close to downtown

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Within walking distance to multiple restaurants and shops. We walked everywhere in downtown. Concierge was extremely helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Decent price. Room had an akward layout. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Big rooms, well located, overall good quality for price paid (was 40% discounted through expedia)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, CA

Decent three star, all suites hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: All suites, friendly staff
Cons: Rooms are in need of update. Front desk didn't always follow through on requests.
Location: Good location, just north of the Gaslamp district. Walking or taxi distance to everything in Downtown San Diego.
We stayed at the Declan Suites while my husband was attending a conference in Downtown San Diego. We chose the hotel solely because we have a thirteen month old and wanted a suite with a separate room without having to pay an arm and a leg. We had reserved a Deluxe King room, but when we checked in they only had a Traditional King available. This was frustrating since we had prepaid for a Deluxe room, but the front desk associate gave us free breakfast for each day of our stay to make up for the inconvenience, which we appreciated. The hotel rooms and bathrooms, are a pretty good size and were comfortable enough. However, while they have nicely updated the bar and restaurant in the lobby, the rooms feel a bit warn and dated. The decor is dated, the bedrooms still have big tube TVs, the carpet seemed old. They also don't have the amenities that you get with newer or nicer hotels, like mini bars/fridges. We requested one at check-in and they didn't have any available at the moment but said we were second in line for the next one that opened up. We were there for three days and a fridge never came. Beyond the front desk, the rest of the staff - waiters, bellmen, valet - were nice, helpful and seemed eager to please. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, self-parking is a nightmare as you have to drive up a driveway equivalent to a spiral staircase and then weave around a confusing pattern of poles to find a spot. Definitely skip it and use valet as it is only a few bucks more.