Ratings based on 1,168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great location! Lovely room! Strange parking.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: No suggestions.
Location: Shopping, trolley access, east access to I5.
The room was unique and pleasing to all. The staff were friendly, easy going and genuinely cared about our experience. The location was close to everything downtown and a great view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Weekend stay to hang out at the Gaslamp district.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Close to gaslamp. Has a pool, but it was being renovated. Has a gym. Has valet parking. Free Wifi.
Cons: The room was outdated. The bedroom had an old tube TV. The sliding doors to the bathroom would easily get stuck and hard to open.
Location: Location is downtown and about 5-10 minute walk to the Gaslamp district.
There were other hotels that were cheaper and closer to the Gaslamp district, but we picked this hotel because it had better reviews than the other hotels. It was also good that it was a suite because we had 3 adults.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Declan Suites San Diego

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Room had a lot of space, but could use some renovation in the bathroom with a bigger shower. The parking was an experience, having to go up in a spiral for seven floors then to the 11th in a big vehicle is not fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Walking distance to Gas Lamp!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Pool was closed at the time.
Location: GAS LAMP!
We were looking for a hotel that we could stay at to walk to Gas Lamp for a weekend get away. This was the perfect fit. The hotel was renovated in 2013 so everything is really swanky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Izzy, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your positive experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you during your next getaway weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Immature staff. No room service. Hard to figure out the elevators. Overall I wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We are disappointed to learn that our team did not meet your expecations and that our lack of room service was a frustration. We will share your feedback with the approrpriate departments as we want to ensure all our guests have a positive experience. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
staff. front desk valet parking are all slow. even giving a big tip will not make them a lil faster. most of the time they don't answer the phone. terrible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience . We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and that our team did not meet your expectations. We will share your feedback with the approrpriate departments as we want to ensure all our guests have a positive experience. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A. ca

Close to gas lamp, sea world, zoo, and old town

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Sink clogged, bad wifi, and couch was so bad u cant even sit on it. Also no pool it was under construction
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi vic, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location to many San Diego attractions. We apologize that you had multiple issues in your guest room and that our pool was under construction. Our goal is for all of our guests to have a comfortable guest room, enjoy the convenient location of our hotel, and have an excellent guest experience, and we are disappointed to learn that you did not have this experience. We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Location is currently under renovation, so you could be experiencing construction during the day. Staff are very welcoming and location is great with plenty of restaurants and minutes away from the famous Gas Lamp Quarters. Stay was relaxing and comfortable. Shower was hot and towels were fresh. No fridge. No problem. Ice machine located down the hall. Can't wait for the renovations to be complete. Declan Suites has plenty of potential!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hello Serkit, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our welcoming team, convenient location, and had a relaxing and comfortable stay. We hope to host you during your next trip to San Diego.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap place near the gaslamp

Posted Aug 20, 2014
A 12th floor motel 6. Nothing fancy. Inexpensive room with a $35 parking charge. Short walk to the gaslamp was convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Steve, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel to many San Diego attractions. We hope you will return to our hotel during your next trip to San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo, Egypt

Nice hotel close to gas lamp district

Posted Aug 19, 2014
It's a nice suites hotel that is a walkind distance from the damous gas lamp district. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hello M.Nabil, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your positive experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our spacious suite style guest rooms and comfortable bed. We hope to host you during your next trip to San Diego.