Ratings based on 1,015 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Meh

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Front desk staff very rude. Maid kept walking into our room when we were sleeping.. Good thin I had that emergency slide bolt in place.. She kept waking up our baby when we were sleeping in from a long adventure the day prior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to gaslamp district and balboa.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Good experience. Pool was closed which was unfortunate but other than that a very nice hotel. The hotel bar/lounge is setup very nicely as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our experience

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was awesome!!
Cons: Water pressure in shower, better pull out beds and cleaner carpets.
I wasn't too impressed about our room we stayed in. The carpets were stained, bad water pressure in shower, broken & uncomfortable pull out bed and just too small. A fridge would have helped as well. The staff was wonderful. I have no complaints about them...very helpful and accommodating! It was very hard to valet our truck since there was never really any room to pull up and park (bad set up).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Lots of room

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: The sofa bed mattresses....awful!!!!
Had a great stay for my annual girls trip....all 6 of us fit great in our double bed, plus sofa bed room. My only complaint is that the sofa bed mattress was awful...I ended up sleeping on the floor. I did try and move rooms, which they were really great about, however, that sofa bed mattress was just as bad. Overall, was a great hotel. Morgan who checked us in and took care of bringing us extra padding for the sofa bed, was excellent....great first impression with him!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

The Declan Suites

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Lobby, Bar and Restaurant have been nicely updated. However my room was dirty, wall paper was peeling off the wall, rust in the shower, and ventilation was dirty. The final was the toilet backed up. I won't likely be back. I expect more at $300.00 per night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Recommend

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: not much
It was unpleasant stay it was not what I expected. The bathroom door got stuck when I tried to open I broke my nail. The toilet seat was loose almost fall. The microwave did not work and they did not aloud us to used the small fridge and the pool was not working last the room was filthy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Olga, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We apoloigze that we did not meet your expectations throughout your stay and that you had numerous issues in your room. We will address these concerns with our teams to ensure we fix these immediately. We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Be careful with the valet parking. Our cargo carrier is broken. The attendants failed to report what they did with it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Alex, Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience. We will address these concerns with our hotel team. Please do not hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty so we can address these concerns further. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope we can have another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

No Pool-should be advertised ahead.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice.
Cons: It was advertised as being in a family friendly location but it was not.
Location: Great proximity to public transit.
We were extremely disappointed with having no pool. There was no warning, I had phoned the Thursday before and it was not mentioned. It had been planned for months. We booked the more expensive hotel because we could have an indoor pool, instead we were given the option of using the outdoor pool a block away. This was a nice gesture but there are no change rooms or anything located near the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Jo, Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience. We apologize that we were not able to properly communicate the pool closure in advance to you. We apologize that the gesture of an alternative pool did not meet your needs and taht you left unsatisfied. We hope to have another opporunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from castro valley, ca

vacation

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: room is very big with good view. close to seaworld and airport.
Cons: front desk staffs need to be more friendly.
The hotel is very nice. Good view from the room, and room exceeded our expections, except the front desk staff was a little unpolite, since we missed the valet parking at first time, and I run up to the lobby tried to ask for direction, one of the staffs sort of making me feel like a stupid person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Hi Helen, Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and that our suite style guest rooms exceeded your expectations. We apologize that our team came across unpolite and we will address with our team. We hope to host you during your next trip to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
That was awesome 😍😍 I liked too too too too too too too too much
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Declan Suites Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for your positive review. We hope to host you during your next trip to San Diego.