Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from carlsbad, CA

On a whim

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My wife and I had just finished the Ragnar Relay race and all our teammates wanted to go back to North County San Diego instead of staying downtown. We searched for a hotel but were shocked ,even as locals, at how expensive the hotels were. Halfway home I found a deal on Expedia for The Grand. The price was right and we got dropped off. We all laughed upon arrival because we just were part of a 30+ hour, 194 mile race... And despite our shoddy appearance they welcomed us happily and professionally. From that moment on every single aspect of this venue was pure elegance, top notch service, and supreme comfort. My wife and I have only been married a week and both being in the military we'll have to wait for a honeymoon. Yet, coming here and enjoying the ambiance, the food, the impeccable room was enough to feel like we took a tiny vacation. We have never been, never, that exceeded every single expectation of a hotel/resort. Nothing downtown, and no resorts nearby (I.e . La Costa) can hold a candle to The Grand. Annual stay there is now a must for the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from San Clemente, CA.

Competes with Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The spa was amazing. The food incredible and the service was top notch.
Cons: Maybe a better menu in the lobby bar. And, the jacuzzis.
The only complaint I have was the small unclean jacuzzi tubs in the pool area. The water looked dirty and foamed up. If they were even painted blue on the inside they would be more appealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

really really great

Posted Mar 24, 2014
this is a great hotel. the staff is incredibly nice. the attention to detail in everything in the room is great. they provide all the small things and they're all high quality. for instance, every hotel has a hair dryer but most provide those small useless ones. not this hotel. they give you a little hot towel when you check in. they provide a pair of large evening slippers and small. they have nespresso with 6 capsules for your use. just every little thing is very well thought out and executed. I didn't even stay in a suite and in terms of style, actually prefer modern decor but overall ambiance is just superb. I just got the feeling that it was much better than your average 5-star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Experience:

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Everything except what has been noted above.
Cons: On property accomadation for hotel guests.
A great hotel in all respects except one: We were not able to be accomodated at either of the hotel's restaurants for dinner on the first two days of our stay. That being the case, we had to leave the hotel property to attain reservations and accomodation for dinner. One would think that hotel guests would be given some priority over any others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jonti from London

Great hotel need car to explore san diego

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding hotel, would come again to play golf here and at Torrey Pines
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Relaxed from UK

Rested

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic, will go back at a heart beat if it was not so far from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ivan from Charlotte, NC

Excellent, relaxing stay at Grand Del Mar

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a very relaxing break from the kids, while on vacation. Excellent service and relaxation to the max. Adults only pool is very nice!