Ratings based on 1,423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in the Gas Lamp District

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The hotel was very comfortable and the location was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

Great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Staff was spectacular. From Brianna and Brandon at front dest to James in the restaurant and Matt the valet. Couple of problems were addressed promptly and resolved to our complete satisfaction. Great location. Would definitely stay here upon return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Havasu City, AZ

Great location, easy to walk to anything.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location and the rooms were cool
Cons: n/a
Location: tons of bars, restaurants, shops
Great experience! Will be back! Staff was friendly and rooms cozy. Parking was a little expensive at $30 but no other parking choices really.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rudest night desk attendant.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Employee should be fired.
Night attendant was incredibly rude. Thirty minute checkin at 11:30 pm is unacceptable. Valet told me they get daily complaints about him but management does nothing. I am writing a complaint letter and would never recommend this hotel. It is also across the street from a nightclub. You will hear thumping base until 2am and drunk voices until 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

good location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the price and the fact it is a historical building with charm.
Cons: Warn people of the noise, frankly if the band was better it would have been easier to bare.
Location: As mentioned walking distance to food, nightlife and transportation.
Walking distance to good restaurants, the wharf, train & bus stations and Petco (ball park.) We got a terrific price due a sale going on...the poor comfort rating is because we were on the second floor above the bar facing the street and it was very noisy until after 1 or 2am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great hotel in the Gaslamp District

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The hotel was undergoing renovations during my stay, but the staff went out of their way to be of service. This is one of the old Grand Hotels of San Diego and is one I would return to again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The location and new renovation
Cons: The signage during redirecting traffic around the areas being renovated was small and easy to miss. It took some time to figure out where to go.
Location: The Gaslamp Quarter! With lots of history and night life.
The Horton Grand was a wonderful hotel with lots of history. They are going through a renovation right now, so we were able to get a good deal! The rooms, which were already redone, were comfortable and nicely decorated. The Palace Bar was also a nice place to end the evening. Besides the hotel, we were right in the middle of the Gaslamp, and had tons of restaurants and clubs near by. Great Stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, CA

This is a wonderful hotel in excellent location.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Personality and location
Cons: Bartender (not owned by hotel) was lousy. No personality and very cold. Good news is that there are plenty of other places close to get a cocktail.
Location: Seaport Village and Gaslamp easy walk. Wonderful restaurants.
We were only there one night but will return. The location in the Gaslamp is excellent. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We had an excellent stay. The hotel is very quaint and has a unique style. It felt like we were in New Orleans with the beautiful courtyard and Victorian style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpine, CA

Wedding anniversary

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: How close it was to so many nice restaurants and activities.
Location: Restaurants, night clubs and shopping.
We loved sitting on the balcony and watching all of the Friday night action below. We also loved how close the hotel was to so many activities in the area.