Ratings based on 1,224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and nice people

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Location
It is a cute little hotel in a great location. Just a few blocks from the convention center and lots of shops & restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from Lake Forest, CA

Historic & Romantic Hotel in the Gaslamp District

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Small, cozy and romantic.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Being in the Gaslamp District, everything was walking distance. Shopping, food, drinks, partying and Seaport Village, too.
My husband I were celebrating our 12th anniversary. We live in Orange County and love going to San Diego to get away. We decided on staying at The Horton Grand Hotel because it looked romantic and old fashioned. It was a very cozy hotel with a warm and friendly staff. Our room was so romantic, with a fireplace and a balcony. I loved the hotel because it wasn't a sky scraper. It only has about 110 rooms and we only needed to use the stairs to get to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Great Location. Fantastic stay!

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Really enjoyed a weekend getaway from LA here. Close to all restaurants and Gaslamp District action. Really great hotel bar- Palace Bar. Bartender was very knowledgeable and made some incredible drinks. Will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, noisy night club neighbors

Posted Jan 25, 2014
The hotel is nice. Room clean, bed comfortable, but the bass from Club Fluxx across the street shook the room til 130am. Avoid Thursday to Saturday if you want to go to bed before 130 or at least make sure your room doesn't face Island Ave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Gaslamp.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Gaslamp.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Minneapolis

Romantic Victorian

Posted Jan 19, 2014
This is an old Victorian hotel so some doors stick and there are not as many electrical outlets as i would like. However the Hotel and room are gorgeous and romantic making it a perfect couples getaway. The Staff was welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. We arrived at 11:00AM after traveling for 11 hours. They checked us in immediately with no difficulties or additional charges. We plan to stay there again on our next visit to San Diego.