Ratings based on 1,449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good but internet was a problem

Posted Nov 19, 2014
nice room and friendly staff but as I was in San Diego on business from the East Coast, I needed reliable internet which was not the case. As a person on East Coast time, I was trying to work from 3 am PT before my meetings and the WI-FI kept getting disconnected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Wonderful venue for a wedding

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The Horton Grand was the location of our daughters wedding. The location is fantastic and the staff very accommodating. The reception was held in the courtyard which was very beautiful. Both families stayed here and we were very pleased with the accommodation and service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corona, CA

Horton review

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Counter for toiletries in bathroom.
Location: Part of the Gas Lamp area.
Just ok. TV was fuzzy on most channels. No movie channels. Ironing board was a portable bed or counter placement type.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmington, NC

Perfect setting in the Gas Lamp District

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Easy 5 minute walk to Convention Center. Cozy but upscale old school appointments throughout the hotel which has a rich history from the late 1800's. Restaurants abound for full range of culinary delights all within 5 minutes walk. The hotel is great for both conventioneers and romantic getaways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in the Gas Lamp District

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: hotel charm, proximity to dining and nightlife
Cons: Complementary breakfast is always welcomed.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to lots of great restaurants and nightlife. There's a great cafe for breakfast 2 blocks down.
This hotel has a lot of character. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bar area was a great stop after dinner in town - awesome bar tender.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Marcos

Historic hotel close to gaslamp

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The front desk staff and valet were stellar. Went above a beyond on service. Valet price was high at $30/car but they did give me a much needed hour late checkout. The room was small and definitely dated, with a pull-down chain to flush and limited power outlets and counter space. It was nicely furnished. Fireplace was awesome. Bed was A+ comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great hotel in the Gaslamp district.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, room cleanliness, ease of check-in and out, great rate through Expedia.
Cons: Parking is rather costly.
Our experience was great. Location is right in the middle of the Gaslamp. Short walk to Seaport Village, we took a pedicab back. We checked in early and our room was clean and cosy. It was very quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Restored Victorian in Central Gaslamp District

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Restaurant on-site with room service
I had a good experience. Staff was accommodating. Only negative is no onsite restaurant, but there are so many you can walk to. Room was nice and clean. Loved the fact that they kept the integrity of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Oct 19, 2014
very central position but therefore incredibly noisy at night. hotel staff also up at 6am and having loud conversations in the corridor outside bedrooms. otherwise i'd say its good and value for money. bathroom a little dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close downtown and also to the harbor.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Near my destination points from everything I wanted to do.
Cons: If there was a beach nearby.
Location: Amazing resturants and also watched the ships sail by.
It was exciting since its a historic hotel and I love the Wild West. Loved it.