Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by arthur from phila., pa

wonderful stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: restaurant
highly recommend. staff is great, the grounds are breathtaking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
This is a wonderful hotel lots of charm and peace and quiet. Really enjoyed our stay, would definatley come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Very small room, only 1 very straight backed chair. Noisy wall mounted air conditioner. Having said that, it was built in 1923 and everything else was quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet, removed, perfect retreat.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: A welcome relief from large-hotel hub-bub and from the overwhelming traffic of the San Diego area.
Cons: Show that the property is not suitable for large, boisterous families or people wanting lots of sports and entertainment. Niche property.
Relaxed amidst beautiful gardens. Appreciated the quiet and care put into the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nello from colorado

Cottage feeling in a spa settling

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: Provide dry cushions for that morning cup of coffee on the patio
A quiet cottage-like room with superb furnishings and the softest leather chairs I've ever experienced. Private large patio with incredibly well manicured gardens and lawns. The spa was small but luxurious and the vegetable herb garden right outside the dining room impressive. An expensive weekend, but what a treat! The staff so friendly we want to return again.
3 out of 5
by Dave from Salt Lake

High end hotel, rooms weren't that great.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The grounds were nice.
I booked a room with the impression that I was going to have a deep soaking tub, come to find out that my room didn't have one. My room was pretty standard, nothing really luxurious about it. The grounds were very nice, pool was ok. Hot tub was ok, the jets did not work too well. Spa was a bit overpriced. From a high end hotel with guests driving around in Mercedes and BMW's I expected a bit more luxury to the rooms. I felt the pillows were terrible, the bed was uncomfortable. The paint job in the bathroom was spotty, you could see they needed touch ups. We had the room serviced once in our 3 night stay and they left their dirty sponge on our bathroom counter. I tried to get an upgrade from our room due to it being our honeymoon, but they did not have anything. Not really in there control I understand but It would have been nice to have some options. The hotel is off the beaten path, have to travel about 15-20 min to find some other choices for food. This wasn't the worst hotel I have stayed but not the best either. I would probably not stay there again due to proximity of other things, it was too far away, and I can find more luxury for cheaper else where. Overall rating is 3 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from A

Relaxing accommodation in a perfect setting

Posted Mar 16, 2014
In the heart of San Rancho Santa Fe is the Inn, with magic dining on the deck overlooking the manicured lawns and pepper trees .. Just perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice for something different

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Cons: The lighting in the room could be improved.
Wonderful property for an "off the beaten path" stay. Our expedia reservations specified "King" room and when we got there they had booked us in a queen. (and the pricing was in line with their queen pricing, so I actually think that may be an Expedia error). However, they were able to find us a King room on the front lawn which we were very pleased with. We used the jaccuzzi in the pool area which had not been upgraded and it needed it. We ate at the restaurant which we really enjoyed and the new bar is great. Then we walked across the street to the piano bar at Mille Fleurs which is epic! Perfect for an anniversary get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by crave quiet from CA

beautiful grounds, thin walls

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Location: plenty to do in and around the property; Rancho Santa Fe upscale walking and shopping adventure
a smoke detector & barking dog with loud inconsiderate owners in the adjoining room were an aggravation we didn't expect. walls are very thin. also inadequate lighting in bathroom and lamps at bedside not useable for reading. Great beds; patio wonderfully private; grounds are exquisite; location is great.