Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toni from Oregon

The only guest.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The ambience.
Cons: Availability of staff and parking.
Location: Excellent restaurants, shops, coffee shops, close (one mile or so) to downtown.
Although I was the only guest at this small (four room) b & b, I was made to feel welcome and well accommodated by the nearby staff. Breakfast was prepared for myself and two guests in the morning at a time earlier than it would be served normally. A very pleasant stay, within walking distance of San Diego's Little Italy restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yana from Salt Lake City

Excellent location.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We loved staying here and would stay again if returning to San Diego. The location is excellent (especially considering the price), close to the waterfront and in the heart of Little Italy. Also, on Saturdays, there is a great Farmer's Market nearby (don't miss it!). The close proximity to the airport did not prove to be an issue as far as noise, and was in fact quite nice when going to the airport early in the morning (the taxi ride took less than five minutes, though we were told to plan on 15 just in case traffic got bad). This B&B is a bit atypical, in that it does not have staff available all day (you will find a note on the door, and instructions to go across the street to get your key). Also, it is not the kind of a fancy/luxurious place some B&Bs can be, which may be off-putting for those looking for a luxurious, pampered stay. Rather, this feels more like visiting an aunt or a grandma--older home, reasonably decorated, and reasonably remodeled as needed (but definitely not fully refurbished). Debbie (who cooked the breakfast) was absolutely wonderful. She was full of good information about the area, very accommodating in terms of breakfast menu, and in general just a pleasure to be around. The food was good (again, think visiting a relative, rather than going to a gourmet restaurant) and comforting. Lastly, if available, ask for room #4--it is more spacious (it has a bedroom, a small sitting room, and a bath, plus its own deck).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Fort Worth, TX

San Diego business

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Its location and decor.
Cons: It would help if breakfast was served a bit earlier. 7:30 a.m. on weekdays instead of 9:00 a.m.
I enjoy bed and breakfasts over hotels. This is one of the few remaining homes from the early 20th century on this block. Located in Little Italy, it was very convenient to downtown where my business was. Very clean and comfortable, and apparently recently and well updated. The only downside, if it is one, is its proximity to the airport. Surprisingly, I did not find the planes flying over to be a bother.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the woman who fixed the breakfast. She was very helpful in tourism and very customer service friendly. When we arrived at the B & B there was a note on the door to go down the street to the hotel and get a key. Parking was at the hotel down the street if there was more than one person staying at the B & B. Lucky for us, we were the only ones there. We stayed 2 nights and our room was not cleaned. We had to look in hotel cabinets to find clean towels to use. We were sadly disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unaccommodating

Posted Sep 24, 2013
The bed was very comfy. Other than that, the staff made no effort to accommodate our needs. Extra money was spent to have breakfast at our bed and breakfast. But, when we had to leave early, not even cold cereal and milk was left as an option. When we asked for a later check out, we were also turned down. You can get much better service at any cheap chain. Forget about some personalized touches at this bed and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Vista, CA

Great location and breakfast

Posted Jun 24, 2013
There is not an on-site manager. Meagan the Chef is there in the morning and does a great job. The rooms were cute and clean. The overhead fan was loud, but we drowned out the noise with the air conditioning. We had dinner in Little Italy Friday night (Queensland Public House-good and reasonably priced) and went to the amazing Farmer's Market a couple of blocks away on Saturday morning. If Meagan hadn't fed us so well. I would have eaten there. Thanks again, Meagan, for dealing with my food issues in such a delicious manner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whittier

No comment

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Close to little Italy
Cons: The bathroom was down the hall. As you came out the camera was right on you. Horrible feeling
Location: Near freeway and little Italy
Upon arriving there was letter on the door with ea. Name to drive down to main office. Once in the room there was a smell old. Lucky we brought spray the drive way was narrow and small for first come first serve. Our bathroom was out side down the hallway. They had the name of Maggie incase we had emergency. Come to find out Maggie was out of town herself. We had to park our car down the block on busy street near freeway entrance I was afraid something was going to happen to it. I couldn't wait to get out. Been to San deigo before and this was first bad experience. Will never rent B&B.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

disappointing service

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were assigned a room with queen size bed altho had reserved the room with "king-size" Inn keeper not there when we arrived or even the next day... no explanatin given altho I left a voice-mail with Megan , who was there to cook and serve breakfast, then gone. Coffee not available in room or even in kitchen then when coffee made available, no cups. Not told until later that maid service every other day. Breakfast nothing to write home about. Would not stay there again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard from Glasgow, UK

A positive change from the ususal hotel experience

Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: Megan's breakfasts were fantastic
Cons: Air traffic noise
Location: Close to nice bars and restaurants in Little Italy
I was a bit nervous having read some negatives reviews, but my stay was very positive. OK so breakfast is only served at 9am, but what a breakfast! Freshly cooked, original ideas, quality ingredients - so much better than any corporate hotel buffet that has been sitting out for hours. OK so the rooms arent huge - but the only time i was in there i was asleep so I hardly need a ballroom. Only downside for me was the noise from planes overhead - but that's hardly the B&Bs fault, and its the price you pay for the convenience of staying near the airport. Have been to San Diego several times, but nevery to Little Italy. Really enjoyed the location. Will stay there again on my next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lin from Midwest

overpriced

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Extremely overpriced for the facilities and care provided. Kept banging my leg on the edge of the bed frame and barely enough room to get around the bed or change clothes. Bathroom was down the hall although private it was not part of the room. I understand the other rooms had a bath attached. The lady who made the breakfast was amazing and helped us to feel special, but that was the only reason I was able to enjoy my stay at this terribly overpriced facility.