Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Retro cool,, gorgeous pool

Posted Aug 14, 2014
A little more 50's than I expected from the website, but overall nice hotel. I was unexpectedly upgraded to penthouse suite which was retro-cool but maybe could benefit from a little decorating advice. Great comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Bought a drink from the restaurant and took it out to the pool--highlight of my trip as this pool was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Definitely not a serene place. Between the pool parties and giant board games outside our room, there was never a quiet moment. Also, at breakfast I inquired about a "cronut". It was explained then I was old they were out followed. So I went with traditional pancakes with banana. Out of banana. This place was a let down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We spend the weekend at the hotel. The Saturday pool party was ok. The waiter lacked on service skills and at the end she added drinks we had not ordered (glad we checked the bill). It seems that the party pools are more for the locals coming as guests for the day . But overll its a nice and cute hotel where you feel relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Weekend at the Lafayette Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The "old time" feel and the rooms being named after old movie stars.
Cons: Closet space in the room as well as counter space in the bathroom. But I can live both issues and will definitely return.
Location: We were very close to Hillcrest which is where we spent the majority of our time. It only cost $11.00 to uber 5 of us to Hillcrest from the hotel.
We checked in Friday evening and checked out on Sunday morning. Everything about the weekend was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room we stayed in was very spacious but there was no closet. That was a bit odd. That and the fact that there was no counter space in the bathroom, but plenty of room to add some, were the only two reasons I rated the comfort of the room as "4."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Old, far and stenchy

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The hotel is located in a ghetto area. It's very old and has a wierd awful smell. Definitely will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean facilities, great history of hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Close to many attractions.
Staff very friendly, enjoyed the food, and the adjoining "Red Fox" Lounge was a lot of fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Small nice hotel located 4 miles from the Gaslamp district. Hotel has a nice pool area. Cute bungalows but not very fond of the kid like furniture located in the suites. Bathrooms need some updating and renovating. Bathroom tile floor was dirty and bathroom windows required repair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An interesting place to stay

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: More coffee for guests in the room.
Location: Close to the zoo.
Staff was nice, but there was only 1 cup of coffee in the mornings for a room with 4 adults. The coffee machine broke, but was replaced shortly. Upon arrival, asked if we wanted chalk for the kids room, but did not have any. Offered a bottle of water instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old School Hollywood Style Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
We loved our stay at LaFafayette - the hotel was old school charming, the pool was pristine and warm and pool area had a great relaxed vibe. The food and staff were fantastic. (I highly recommend the Burrata Salad and Short Rib Beef Dip.) We enjoyed watching the movie projected over the pool on Saturday evening - so fun!
2 out of 5
by Jay from Beverly Hills, CA

I will not be back

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: I suppose you could burn it down and start all over again.
This is the second time I've stayed here. The first time I was away from the hotel most of the time and didn't try the restaurants or the pool area. The hotel is dated to say the least, but in a good location for Balboa Park and the freeways, that I thought I'd try it again. This time I wanted to check it all out. For the two restaurants, I don't know what was worse, the food or the service. Probably a tie. The upstairs one, Hope 46, serves a watery roast beef hash with undercooked eggs. You have order toast separately, which comes stale and dry without butter or jam. The downstairs place, Red Fox Steakhouse, bills itself as a dive bar with steak, which is an understatement -- the dive part that is. It's dirty, noisy, with inattentive and rude service. The only advantage to the noise was that you couldn't hear the piano and horn players. On Sunday afternoon, there was something that purported to be a rock band performing at the pool. Needless to say, relaxation by the pool and reading the Sunday papers was out of the question. The rooms seemed to have been clean enough and the front desk staff pleasant enough -- which is why I didn't give the hotel a completely "terrible" rating. I will not be back, however.