Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Tons of Character

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Character. Friendly staff.
Cons: Wifi. Slow drains in the bathtubs.
This is not a posh hotel. The rooms are pretty basic, and you can tell it's an older hotel. But it's a really charming space in a great location. You can catch a city bus to Balboa Park or downtown just across the street. There are a lot restaurants nearby (including great Russian and Ethiopian spots) and the main drag of the hip North Park neighborhood is a short walk away, with tons of great restaurants and night spots. The Suze suites are great for families. There's a king bed in one room and a bunk bed in the other, with a full size mattress on the bottom and a single on top. The bar/restaurant had tasty cocktails and interesting breakfasts. Our only major complaint was that the wifi service was very slow, so if a high speed net connection is critical for you, this is probably not your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, funky hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Parking was easy. The rooms were nice. The decor of the hotel was interesting.
Cons: Heat the pool or change the description on the website. It was not 70 degrees.
Location: Close to the zoo
The hotel was good. A different feel. Definitely not a chain. The two bedroom suite with the bunk bed was perfect for a family. The only negative was the pool. It is not heated to 70 degrees. The weather was in the 60's and the pool was probable 60 degrees. We asked and they said it was heated by fuel cell and indicated it does not heat the pool to 70 when it's colder. It was disappointing since the pool is gorgeous, but was very cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to funky neighbourhoods

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Location: Near Balboa Park/zoo. Easy drive to all the inner city locations. Lots of nice neighbourhoods around with good restaurants.
This is an unusual hotel, not in downtown but in a nieghbourhood close in. It is half way between a hotel and a motel, with a very large pool and sundeck. Staff was excellent and the condition of the hotel and rooms was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Just convenient

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Fair pricing, beautiful all around, clean, comfortable. I would plan on staying here any time I go back to SD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los Angeles

Great location!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We loved it here! We needed a hotel near the zoo and the location was perfect! We booked a 2 bedroom suite and were upgraded to a 3 bedroom that was great. It was like staying in a condo almost like it was detached from the hotel. We even had our own parking spot. Definitely a hit and will stay here always!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Nostalgic decor with an old world charm
Nostalgic decor with an old world charm................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient stay in North Park

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Nostalgic hotel decor, convenient to North Park activites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bargin for the price

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pleased with restaurant access and overall experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom riverside,ca

A flashback to the past...

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Very nice hotel. A flashback to the years of yesteryear. Loved the swimming pool but my kids and fiancée thought it was too cold. We didn't have neighbors until the last night of our stay and noticed the walls are paper thin. Overall a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orange Co, CA

Pleasant stay at a quirky hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff.
Cons: Could probably stand a remodel.
Location: Near the North Park neighborhood. Lot of restaurants and nightlife near by.
Staff was extremely friendly and upgraded us to a larger room on check in because my wife was so nice. Ample underground parking and a nice restaurant / bar with a good craft beer selection. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is evident that the building, facilities and room fixtures are older, but they are mostly well maintained. Our room was facing El Cajon Blvd, so there was a bit of road noise, but after many drinks I barely noticed and drifted off to sleep.