Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Los Angeles

We were accomodated with an early check-in

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Nice neighborhood, accomodations were comfortable and clean. Stores, bars, etc., were in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruth from Anaheim, California

Gem close to the San Diego Zoo

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Ambiance and the cleanliness.
Cons: IMIG's menu choices.
Location: The San Diego Zoo is five minutes away!
Me and my family enjoyed staying at the Layfayette Hotel. There was so much character of the 40's era and the ambiance was amazing. We were lucky enough to have the chance to listen to the entertainment in the lounge area near the lobby. Brothers I believe, talented and it set the whole atmosphere of the evening. We ate dinner at the Red Fox Lounge. Food was great and plentiful. They also had a children's menu selection. The next morning we ate breakfast at IMIG's. Unfortunately we did not enjoy the food as much as the night before from Red Fox. The food at IMIG's was much smaller portions and the prices were not reasonable. There was an extremely limited selection of food choices and no kid's menu. If you stay here make sure to go to the Red Fox Lounge for lunch or dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I was a little disappointed that this hotel cost so much but I stayed there anyway because other hotels were booked. My first impression with the staff, the cleanliness, and the comfort made me forget how much it all cost. Definitely will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Clean Bungalow Apartment

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, quite, spacious, elegant decor.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a bathroom downstairs.
Location: It is located close to Balboa Park, Downtown and Mission Valley. A short hop on the freeway to the beach.
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The room was two stories a full kitchen, dinning room and living room downstairs. Two bedrooms and one bathroom upstairs. Super clean and beautifully decorated. Not only is parking complimentary I was also able to park my car right outside of our room! It was also a very short cab ride to downtown approx $16.00 to 6th Ave.
1 out of 5
by Aliya from Sun Valley,ID

Terrible. Will never stay again.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Well, the photos online made it very tempting. I also did google search on the hotel and became very intrigued by the history of it, the architecture of the building, and the fact that "a few million dollars were spent a few years ago on renovations". I came to find out that ( here I quote some previous reviewers) "1940s style hotel" means " has not been renovated since 1940s", "humble rooms" means "uncomfortably outdated". I stayed 3 nights in the poolside room. The room smelled very old and moldy. There were just a bed, tv stand and a chair in the room - all of them outdated, not 40's style. The walls are thin in this old building, so I could not get a restful sleep due to my neighbor's TV blaring till 1 am. Also, music at the pool was on and loud till mid night every night with one of the speakers immediately outside my French doors. Room 63. On the third night, I had to get some sleep before early flight, so had no choice but call the front desk at 11:30pm begging for them to turn it off. It took them additional 20 min to do it. You would think they would just do it at 10 since pool closes at 10. The positives were pool, free parking though very tight, free WiFi, restaurants on premises, staff, close enough location to everything of interest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too old

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Too rundown and old. Overall average at best. Needs to be remodeled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacey from St. Petersburg, FL

Happy in San Diego

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Staff and cleanliness.
Cons: Our room felt damp, towels would not dry, etc. Not sure why? We stayed in room 59. As a result, always ran out of towels..
We were in town for a wedding and had an amazing time. The hotel staff was very accommodating to all of our friends and family in town. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edward from Seattle

Great staff....nice pool....awesome beds

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, comfort, pool
Cons: Breakfast menu seemed limited and expensive.
Location: We were very close to Balboa Park (San Diego Zoo) and 5 minutes by car to the Hillcrest district.
I really appreciated how great the housekeeping staff was in doing their job and the front desk were all excellent. The beds were incredibly comfortable, showers were great. I enjoyed the diversity of the people that stayed their and we had great time in their pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Vintage style Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Vintage style, the pool, layout of the hotel in general, friendliness of staff
Cons: Softer pillows, larger hotel tv.
Location: Gas Lamp Quarter, San Diego Zoo
Such a pretty place! It felt like stepping into a time machine. We checked in late so we didnt get the best room, it was totally sold out. But the lobby and amenities were amazing free wifi and there was no hassle to log in. The restaurant was really good and the staff were super nice! One bartender (i can't remember her name but she had black hair and skinny) was super awesome and took great care of us. We are recommending this place to all our friends!
2 out of 5
by Georgie from Seattle, WA

Over priced hype!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: It is located 5 blocks from my grand baby's home! There was a handicapped room with a walk-in shower available.
Cons: Rollaway beds availability and bell service.
Location: North Park, the Zoo, and many fine restaurants.
When it appeared that another family member, also from out-of-state, would be joining us at the last minute, our request for a rollaway bed fell on deaf ears. "Rollaway beds were not available". I fully expected to pay more for the room to add the rollaway, but did not expect that it would not be available--causing us to rent another room. I have travelled the world, stayed in some of the nicest 5 star + hotels and have never seen a hotel without a rollaway bed! Upon our arrival we were faced with the front lobby area being transformed for a wedding...making it difficult for my 83 year old mother to navigate, cane in hand, through all the wedding preparations, which were directly in front of the hallway entrance to our room. Not to mention there was no bell service to help with luggage from the parking garage! The handicapped room, with a walk in shower, was located just off the lobby, which was nice--having a bar right next door, with the resulting noise until 3am was not so nice, considering the price of the room! We will not be staying here again.