Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grand Prairie, TX

Great hotel with spacious family suite!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lobby, extremely friendly/helpful staff that aim to please.
Cons: Room needs a little updating.
Location: The beach is about a 15 minute drive and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
My family of 5 (2 adults & 3 children) booked a one night stay on June 11th for our first night in San Diego. When we checked in, the front desk was was extremely helpful. She noticed our 3 children and upgraded us to the family suite. She even provided colored chalk for the chalkboard in the kids bedroom. What?!? I've never had such great service checking into a room. The hotel lobby was beautiful but the room was a little dated which I really didn't mind. In my opinion, that added to the charm of the hotel. I and will definitely stay at this hotel again in the family suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cudahy, CA

Great hotel 5 minutes away from San Diego Zoo!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We stayed a total of 3 days. If Wi-Fi isn't a problem for you then, you're stay will be perfect. We had trouble since day one...it wouldn't connect. We have an autistic 14 year old that loves to watch Thomas the Tank Engine on YouTube and loves playing with his computer. This made it harder for us. The staff did all they could and even gave us free breakfast (best food ever!!) for our troubles. The room was very nice and clean. The staff of 100% dedicated to making you feel at home. Loved the rest of our stay so much we stayed an extra day!! We'd definitely go back!! Forgot to mention the pool is excellent and the building is beautiful!! Please visit Hope46!! It has the best food EVER and it's in the hotel!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great retro idea, but not great inside

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Upstairs of our accommodation and parking
Cons: To achieve the retro experience without the retro aroma
Location: Location ok, but need to drive everywhere. 10 mins to San Diego Old Town, 15 to downtown/Balboa Park and 25/30 to Coronado.
Had 2 bedroom bungalow. Upstairs excellent, wooden floors, adequate bathroom, comfortable bed. Downstairs smelled of musty old furniture, was dark, kitchen had no kettle so we didn't use it at all, just lived upstairs. Booked as liked the retro idea, the pool area was really nice, it did have some character, but was the least favourtie of the three places we stayed in on this trip. Location not too bad, 10 mins from San Diego Old Town, which is great for restaurants, but car a must here. Parking was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Worth coming back

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The hotel is super cute and charming. It's close to everything, just a short drive away. And the hotel staff was so nice and pleasant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield ca

Very nice hotel bad room acoustic / noise level

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Have been coming to this hotel for 30 years, this was the worst stay within that time. Room faced El Cajon Boulavard. Every noise taking place on the street was heard in the room. Kawasakis and Harley's at 4 am and 5:30am. Very hard to get good nights sleep. Initially thought window was open but was closed. Just very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Noho, CA

Comfortable bed

Posted Jun 17, 2015
We v enjoyed the room, bed and the friendly front desk crew. But the restroom in our room didn't provide much privacy and we could hear each other with the door closed.. quite an embarrassment for a hotel so lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachucetts

Different moods Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location and ambiance.
Cons: The beach club marketing could be dropped with events that really did not include or agree with guests.
Location: Great area to eat. North park area had the most fabulous small exotic restaurants. One funky down the street " Mama's Bakery & Deli" Lebanese Food !
I enjoyed the hotel staff as well as the cleanliness of our room. Next time I will book the balcony room for at pool level was too many people within about six feet of my entrance. And a couple of days , they had piped in music right next to my patio door which had terrible speakers and top forty hits. Had to shut door and put on air conditioner to avoid. I was visiting family in area and would have enjoyed using the pool with my nieces but the weather was a wee bit cold. There was a huge kiddie party (circus & bouncy house) scheduled for Saturday 12-5pm that we missed but I feel if I was not into the kiddie thing and found out that was going on, I would have been having a fit as one lady addressed the desk clerk when informed. Before this party I had noticed two huge speakers being wheeled in from a DJ ...I have no idea how it turned out because I ran out of there. EEEKKs ! So if you book, make sure to find out what's on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Pool

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Pool, Room, restaurant, prices, parking, staff
Location: Lots to do, Zoo, downtown, nearby retaurants.
This is a great place to stay ... we stayed in a suite with kids bunks .... great sixed room and everything we needed. Short stroll down the stairs to a great pool, theres even someone that serves drinks and snacks to the pool area....great restaurant with good kids menu and Hotel Lobby has lounge seats/couches to relax in. While classed as a 'suburb' hillcrest is still very close/accessible to the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location to zoo and downtown

Posted Jun 3, 2015
This is an overall good hotel to stay. Would definitely recommend to friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach

Nice

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The pool parties
Cons: Overall it was all great
Location: North partk is a great area
The whole bungalow experience was great except for the couch in the living room was really dirty with trash under the cushions but we called house kipping and they took care of it immediately, otherwise no problems