Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Wa

Loved the room and the pool! Great environment!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Fabulous hotel! Beautiful pool, great location on the Boulevard. Easy access to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Great hotel for chilling poolside.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: We love the ambiance and great restaurants.
Cons: N/A
Location: Real close by to Balboa Park and the Hillcrest Neighborhood.
Checked-in for my partners birthday weekend. Had a blast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Funky Decor, Good For Kids of all Ages

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Welcoming, helpful, friendly staff Funky decor which felt like home (even though my home looks nothing like that!)
Cons: Restaurant service slow & inattentive
We enjoyed hanging out at the pool, listening to old big-band tunes, and reading while our kids played in the pool. This place has a funky, art-deco atmosphere, that really works. The staff were all attentive, helpful, and friendly. They were even willing to print documents for us (boarding passes, parking pass for another destination), which is unusual. If you choose a poolside room, be prepared for pool noise early and late -- there was always someone in the pool. The room was a little dingy, and we had trouble finding comfortable temperatures for sleeping, but we appreciated the suite style with doors for a little privacy from our teenaged children. The beds were fine. Our only real complaint was that the restaurant service was less than stellar. The waitress was slow & inattentive, despite a practically empty house. While there is water out everywhere as a hydration reminder in SoCal, our glasses went dry repeatedly in the restaurant. Overall, a great, comfortable place to come back to after each day's activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with an awesome pool and great staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Clean room, nice beds, great pool
Location: There's a Russian restaurant right across the street that's pretty great.
I had a great time, I really liked the hotel. The pool was fantastic, the hotel seems like it has been remodeled recently, and the beds are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hollywood

Lovely oasis in North Park

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The staff and accommodations are just right. The hotel has just enough southern charm to make you feel right at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Retro cool,, gorgeous pool

Posted Aug 14, 2014
A little more 50's than I expected from the website, but overall nice hotel. I was unexpectedly upgraded to penthouse suite which was retro-cool but maybe could benefit from a little decorating advice. Great comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Bought a drink from the restaurant and took it out to the pool--highlight of my trip as this pool was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Definitely not a serene place. Between the pool parties and giant board games outside our room, there was never a quiet moment. Also, at breakfast I inquired about a "cronut". It was explained then I was old they were out followed. So I went with traditional pancakes with banana. Out of banana. This place was a let down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We spend the weekend at the hotel. The Saturday pool party was ok. The waiter lacked on service skills and at the end she added drinks we had not ordered (glad we checked the bill). It seems that the party pools are more for the locals coming as guests for the day . But overll its a nice and cute hotel where you feel relaxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Weekend at the Lafayette Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The "old time" feel and the rooms being named after old movie stars.
Cons: Closet space in the room as well as counter space in the bathroom. But I can live both issues and will definitely return.
Location: We were very close to Hillcrest which is where we spent the majority of our time. It only cost $11.00 to uber 5 of us to Hillcrest from the hotel.
We checked in Friday evening and checked out on Sunday morning. Everything about the weekend was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room we stayed in was very spacious but there was no closet. That was a bit odd. That and the fact that there was no counter space in the bathroom, but plenty of room to add some, were the only two reasons I rated the comfort of the room as "4."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Old, far and stenchy

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The hotel is located in a ghetto area. It's very old and has a wierd awful smell. Definitely will never stay there again.