Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very fun hotel!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
A great get-away right in the urban area of San Diego. The pool was beautiful and so relaxing! The food is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bday weekend stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Decor, atmosphere, customer service
Cons: nothing
Location: short cab ride to gaslamp
First time staying at this hotel and we will definitely come back! Upon arrival, asked if any bungalows were available so that we could upgrade from a regular room. Staff was extremely kind and helpful. We absolutely loved the bungalow and enjoyed the hotel's decor and layout.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Cons: Noise.
Location: Run-down area. Not many good restaurants in the area.
Old but clean. Extremely noisy, as we were put right over the bar below. Charge for parking was a put-off. Not many good restaurants nearby. Hotel restaurant OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, built in the 1920's, close to the zoo.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Very nice stay. Nice and close to the zoo. Clean and quaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadellphia, Pa

Nice, old-fashioned hotel.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Cons: Breakfast was too greasy....
Location: Saw family, went to zoo, went to Balboa Park and to Mission Beach.
Breakfast was too greasy and too cooked. However, staff was very pleasant in the dining area. Room was fine. Parts of the hotel were tired, but on the whole, it was a pleasant place and I would stay there again as it is near my son and his family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in an eclectic neighborhood.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Great location, service, and price. A reminder of what hotels were like in the hayday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great staff and service!

Posted Mar 14, 2015
The front desk staff was very friendly and accommaditing for my family while our stay there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Fabulous ambience! Room needs a bit of updating such as a desk and some comfy chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, historical place to stay.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Great, well kept historical hotel in San Diego. Staff experienced and well trained. Went out if their way to work with me when the weather delayed our departure for two days. Room was spacious and well maintained. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends going to San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Tons of Character

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Character. Friendly staff.
Cons: Wifi. Slow drains in the bathtubs.
This is not a posh hotel. The rooms are pretty basic, and you can tell it's an older hotel. But it's a really charming space in a great location. You can catch a city bus to Balboa Park or downtown just across the street. There are a lot restaurants nearby (including great Russian and Ethiopian spots) and the main drag of the hip North Park neighborhood is a short walk away, with tons of great restaurants and night spots. The Suze suites are great for families. There's a king bed in one room and a bunk bed in the other, with a full size mattress on the bottom and a single on top. The bar/restaurant had tasty cocktails and interesting breakfasts. Our only major complaint was that the wifi service was very slow, so if a high speed net connection is critical for you, this is probably not your hotel.