Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
We had a great day by the pool. The rooms were older but updated and very clean. The only suggestion would be for a mini fridge in the room but otherwise everything was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Not bad but carpets very dirty.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The hotel has a great pool and restaurant. But the rooms need the carpets cleaned or better yet removed and replace with tile or something other than carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Hotel con características históricas

Posted Jul 25, 2015
un hotel bonito, personal amable, bien ambiente, bueno para familias con tres o más hijos. Ubicado en buena zona.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Convienint location

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We are a big family (8 pax) we almost walked away because of the room size , till we met MEME who is a very helpful person at front office who went out of her way to change our rooms and did every thing to make our stay a pleasant one
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Vintage hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Nice bar and restaurant with good food.
Cons: It needs to be updated: paint the walls, fix the lobby floor, replace the stained banquet cushions.
Location: Very near to Balboa Park and the wonderful restaurants and bars of Northpark and Hillcrest.
The hotel has quite a long history which is evident in the decor of the lobby and ballrooms. That being said, it is an old hotel and the rooms reflect their age. The food was excellent. Be aware that there are pool parties every Saturday and Sunday throughout the summer. There were lots of drunk partiers at the pool and it was very loud. I would certainly have not taken my children to the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Grand Prairie, TX

Great hotel with spacious family suite!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lobby, extremely friendly/helpful staff that aim to please.
Cons: Room needs a little updating.
Location: The beach is about a 15 minute drive and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
My family of 5 (2 adults & 3 children) booked a one night stay on June 11th for our first night in San Diego. When we checked in, the front desk was was extremely helpful. She noticed our 3 children and upgraded us to the family suite. She even provided colored chalk for the chalkboard in the kids bedroom. What?!? I've never had such great service checking into a room. The hotel lobby was beautiful but the room was a little dated which I really didn't mind. In my opinion, that added to the charm of the hotel. I and will definitely stay at this hotel again in the family suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cudahy, CA

Great hotel 5 minutes away from San Diego Zoo!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We stayed a total of 3 days. If Wi-Fi isn't a problem for you then, you're stay will be perfect. We had trouble since day one...it wouldn't connect. We have an autistic 14 year old that loves to watch Thomas the Tank Engine on YouTube and loves playing with his computer. This made it harder for us. The staff did all they could and even gave us free breakfast (best food ever!!) for our troubles. The room was very nice and clean. The staff of 100% dedicated to making you feel at home. Loved the rest of our stay so much we stayed an extra day!! We'd definitely go back!! Forgot to mention the pool is excellent and the building is beautiful!! Please visit Hope46!! It has the best food EVER and it's in the hotel!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great retro idea, but not great inside

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Upstairs of our accommodation and parking
Cons: To achieve the retro experience without the retro aroma
Location: Location ok, but need to drive everywhere. 10 mins to San Diego Old Town, 15 to downtown/Balboa Park and 25/30 to Coronado.
Had 2 bedroom bungalow. Upstairs excellent, wooden floors, adequate bathroom, comfortable bed. Downstairs smelled of musty old furniture, was dark, kitchen had no kettle so we didn't use it at all, just lived upstairs. Booked as liked the retro idea, the pool area was really nice, it did have some character, but was the least favourtie of the three places we stayed in on this trip. Location not too bad, 10 mins from San Diego Old Town, which is great for restaurants, but car a must here. Parking was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Worth coming back

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The hotel is super cute and charming. It's close to everything, just a short drive away. And the hotel staff was so nice and pleasant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield ca

Very nice hotel bad room acoustic / noise level

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Have been coming to this hotel for 30 years, this was the worst stay within that time. Room faced El Cajon Boulavard. Every noise taking place on the street was heard in the room. Kawasakis and Harley's at 4 am and 5:30am. Very hard to get good nights sleep. Initially thought window was open but was closed. Just very noisy.