Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Temple from California

Had high hopes

Posted Apr 22, 2014
I really wanted to like this hotel. I like different and this hotel has it. It is somewhat nostalgic with a different beat than your chain hotel. It all falls apart with management. The person who checked us in was friendly and helpful. Our stay was to be two days. When went to the Wild Animal Park for the day and check in about 4:00 pm. We walked down the street and found a local restaurant called "little B's" and it was very good. We returned relaxed and went to bed. I got up about 2:00 am and went into one of the restrooms. In the darkness I saw something move. I thought it was a small mouse but when I turned on the light it was a large roach and their were two of them. I caught them in a fast food box and began inspecting the room. I found another dying by the floor lamp. So they knew they had an issue and sprayed or set out poison. The next morning I went to the front desk and told them they were going to refund the day we stayed and cancel the next. I also handed them the two roaches I had caught. The head of house keeping asked "when we could be out of the room so they can check it out." I told him they had already ruined our vacation and not push it. We left and came home. They need to find someone who can run this place and clean it up. They also need to learn customer service. To bad could be a nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from California

Lafayette stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Second room on the third floor was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Traffic noise level in the front rooms of the hotel
Location: Good
My room was changed due to the excess traffic noise in the rooms at the street side of the hotel. There was a bottle cork on the floor in the living space. Cigarette smoke smell in the hallway of the 2nd floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to concert venue

Posted Apr 20, 2014
wonderful historic hotel in the style of old hollywood. i would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Family Friendly vacation Spot

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. It has that old time feel with upgraded amenities. The heated pool is large not like the postage stamp size pools you sometimes see. The staff is wonderful. Alberto made sure our every need was met. We and our son and daughter-in-law enjoyed the pool for our three year grand-daughter. The food at the restaurant is very good and not terribly expensive. The short ribs are fantastic. We recommend a poolside room. This is not a five star hotel but when you consider the price, it almost feels like one. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Los Angeles

We were accomodated with an early check-in

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Nice neighborhood, accomodations were comfortable and clean. Stores, bars, etc., were in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruth from Anaheim, California

Gem close to the San Diego Zoo

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Ambiance and the cleanliness.
Cons: IMIG's menu choices.
Location: The San Diego Zoo is five minutes away!
Me and my family enjoyed staying at the Layfayette Hotel. There was so much character of the 40's era and the ambiance was amazing. We were lucky enough to have the chance to listen to the entertainment in the lounge area near the lobby. Brothers I believe, talented and it set the whole atmosphere of the evening. We ate dinner at the Red Fox Lounge. Food was great and plentiful. They also had a children's menu selection. The next morning we ate breakfast at IMIG's. Unfortunately we did not enjoy the food as much as the night before from Red Fox. The food at IMIG's was much smaller portions and the prices were not reasonable. There was an extremely limited selection of food choices and no kid's menu. If you stay here make sure to go to the Red Fox Lounge for lunch or dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I was a little disappointed that this hotel cost so much but I stayed there anyway because other hotels were booked. My first impression with the staff, the cleanliness, and the comfort made me forget how much it all cost. Definitely will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Clean Bungalow Apartment

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, quite, spacious, elegant decor.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a bathroom downstairs.
Location: It is located close to Balboa Park, Downtown and Mission Valley. A short hop on the freeway to the beach.
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The room was two stories a full kitchen, dinning room and living room downstairs. Two bedrooms and one bathroom upstairs. Super clean and beautifully decorated. Not only is parking complimentary I was also able to park my car right outside of our room! It was also a very short cab ride to downtown approx $16.00 to 6th Ave.
1 out of 5
by Aliya from Sun Valley,ID

Terrible. Will never stay again.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Well, the photos online made it very tempting. I also did google search on the hotel and became very intrigued by the history of it, the architecture of the building, and the fact that "a few million dollars were spent a few years ago on renovations". I came to find out that ( here I quote some previous reviewers) "1940s style hotel" means " has not been renovated since 1940s", "humble rooms" means "uncomfortably outdated". I stayed 3 nights in the poolside room. The room smelled very old and moldy. There were just a bed, tv stand and a chair in the room - all of them outdated, not 40's style. The walls are thin in this old building, so I could not get a restful sleep due to my neighbor's TV blaring till 1 am. Also, music at the pool was on and loud till mid night every night with one of the speakers immediately outside my French doors. Room 63. On the third night, I had to get some sleep before early flight, so had no choice but call the front desk at 11:30pm begging for them to turn it off. It took them additional 20 min to do it. You would think they would just do it at 10 since pool closes at 10. The positives were pool, free parking though very tight, free WiFi, restaurants on premises, staff, close enough location to everything of interest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too old

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Too rundown and old. Overall average at best. Needs to be remodeled.