Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: We loved the location with the spectacular views of the golf course and ocean. The Green and Green design was serene and lovely.
Cons: Nothing - it was impeccable!
Location: The Del Mar Fairgrounds and town provided for a fun day of sightseeing.
Everything was lovely. Excellent restaurant(s) on site. Room service meal was also delicious. Rooms were beautiful, we especially appreciated the architectural design and attention to detail. Staff was helpful, attentive and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Understated charm and quality

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent room size and quality. Great Veranda where we ate breakfast. Friendly but discrete staff who were always helpful.
Cons: Noisy air con unit above our room continuously dripping onto a metal surface
Location: Well located for La Jolla and San Diego and the outlet centre at Las Americas.
We choose the hotel as it is next to a great golf complex overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The large oak panelled room opened up onto a spacious veranda overlooking the eighteen green and ocean beyond. The staff were friendly and efficient. Several dining options from very casual in the snug bar to fine dining in the restaurant, all with great food. We stayed three nights and wished it was longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, WA

Posted Oct 16, 2014
The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. We had a very nice room but had to move due to some workers that left their truck in front of our window blocking our view. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to our request. The beds are very comfortable too. We would certainly come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson

This is one of our favorite hotels in the world.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The casual and quiet setting is awesome.
Location: If you want to golf at Torrey Pines this is the easiest place to stay and walk on without a reservation. There are many great restaurants close by.
There can be nothing bad to say about this amazing place. Without a doubt one of the premier places to stay in the San Diego area. Pricy but well worth it in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I love The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Posted Aug 30, 2014
the Lodge is an elegant, charming, relaxed setting. The grounds are amazing and so is the staff. the food is fantastic as well, and the location is close to san diego, del mar and nearby beaches. it is a top notch destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best pool that I have seen at a hotel. Great for lap swim. No kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING HOTEL

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Sea World, Downtown San Diego, Torrey Pines, Beautiful beaches, Del Mar Race track
This hotel is fantastic. It is located on a beautiful golf coarse and only 20 minutes from San Diego. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Its all about the golf!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Both the more formal and casual restaurants were quite good. The staff was helpful.
Cons: The air conditioning either did not work or was automatically lowered at night. The room was stuffy. The landscaping was messy.
Location: La Jolla was nearby, with its excellent shopping. Also the excellent Birch Acquarium.
This hotel may be Nirvana for golf enthusiasts, but those who are not golf enthusiasts will feel left out. We stayed here because we love Craftsman style, but found that the hotel to be ersatz Craftsman. The textured walls look spray foamed, the rugs are only Craftsman-light (and some not Craftsman at all), and the bedspreads don't even have a Craftsman feel. All in all, it felt like a Convention hotel with Craftsman touches applied on top. For the rates that this hotel charges, we would have expected better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lizmfrom Los Angeles

Pleasant family getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not too far from downtown San Diego. Petco Park and Sea World were each about 20-30 minutes away. Secluded hotel with beautiful scenery.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hermosa Beach

It needs renovating .

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Staff
Staff were exceptional . This hotel needs a renovation. It was very Country Club style. The pool seating bar area needs upgrading. No room to have a cocktail outside we were moved to the back overlooking a fence. No views of the golf course from many of the seating areas. Our room was dark with no view , we did move to a higher room still no view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and for pointing out our exceptional staff. That's very much appreciated. Our resort, which was built in 2002, pays homage to the California Craftsman era while blending in seamlessly with the beautiful attributes of the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve. The Lodge is exactly that, a lodge. It's not just another San Diego hotel and we are proud to be a unique choice for travelers, not to mention a member of the California Green Lodging Program. Walls throughout the property are adorned with paintings from California artists and our rooms feature Stickley-style furnishings and Tiffany lamps. Throughout 2013, we received several guest comments about the darkness in rooms. So earlier this year we enhanced room lighting by switching out fluorescent light bulbs for Philips premium LED lighting. Not only that, we added brighter color paint to the ceiling and walls. These upgrades were a little tricky because we had do to them while remaining true to our Craftsman theme. That said, we'll be taking a look at your room to make sure all of the lights are functioning properly. It sounds as if you had a Signature or Reserve Room with a view of our courtyard's botanical reserve. We also offer Palisade Rooms and Suites that overlook the golf course. Thank you again for writing in and we hope you'll join us again soon.