Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I love The Lodge at Torrey Pines

Posted Aug 30, 2014
the Lodge is an elegant, charming, relaxed setting. The grounds are amazing and so is the staff. the food is fantastic as well, and the location is close to san diego, del mar and nearby beaches. it is a top notch destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING HOTEL

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Sea World, Downtown San Diego, Torrey Pines, Beautiful beaches, Del Mar Race track
This hotel is fantastic. It is located on a beautiful golf coarse and only 20 minutes from San Diego. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Its all about the golf!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Both the more formal and casual restaurants were quite good. The staff was helpful.
Cons: The air conditioning either did not work or was automatically lowered at night. The room was stuffy. The landscaping was messy.
Location: La Jolla was nearby, with its excellent shopping. Also the excellent Birch Acquarium.
This hotel may be Nirvana for golf enthusiasts, but those who are not golf enthusiasts will feel left out. We stayed here because we love Craftsman style, but found that the hotel to be ersatz Craftsman. The textured walls look spray foamed, the rugs are only Craftsman-light (and some not Craftsman at all), and the bedspreads don't even have a Craftsman feel. All in all, it felt like a Convention hotel with Craftsman touches applied on top. For the rates that this hotel charges, we would have expected better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach

It needs renovating .

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Staff
Staff were exceptional . This hotel needs a renovation. It was very Country Club style. The pool seating bar area needs upgrading. No room to have a cocktail outside we were moved to the back overlooking a fence. No views of the golf course from many of the seating areas. Our room was dark with no view , we did move to a higher room still no view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and for pointing out our exceptional staff. That's very much appreciated. Our resort, which was built in 2002, pays homage to the California Craftsman era while blending in seamlessly with the beautiful attributes of the adjacent Torrey Pines State Reserve. The Lodge is exactly that, a lodge. It's not just another San Diego hotel and we are proud to be a unique choice for travelers, not to mention a member of the California Green Lodging Program. Walls throughout the property are adorned with paintings from California artists and our rooms feature Stickley-style furnishings and Tiffany lamps. Throughout 2013, we received several guest comments about the darkness in rooms. So earlier this year we enhanced room lighting by switching out fluorescent light bulbs for Philips premium LED lighting. Not only that, we added brighter color paint to the ceiling and walls. These upgrades were a little tricky because we had do to them while remaining true to our Craftsman theme. That said, we'll be taking a look at your room to make sure all of the lights are functioning properly. It sounds as if you had a Signature or Reserve Room with a view of our courtyard's botanical reserve. We also offer Palisade Rooms and Suites that overlook the golf course. Thank you again for writing in and we hope you'll join us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Took 3 tries to get a decent room

Posted Aug 7, 2014
I requested a quiet room w/o feathers. The check in said they had a feather free room for me-not so, full feather right next to a loud door. 2nd room they tried to put me in smelled like a bottle of cheap perfume had been poured on the carpet. It turns out they were trying to cover up recently painting the room. 3rd room was ok. Manager did nothing to compensate. That night was told there was no seating at the restaurant and then watched them seat someone else. Spoke with mgr AGAIN. Got seated only to have to send fish back 3 times. Bell boys were AWESOME. Food service, etc was not. Disappointed. ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy and comfortable

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Loved it, was just our style. Classy classic d├ęcor. Comfortable rooms and great on site dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Setting

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Setting and service can't be beat.
Cons: Room was a little damp. Wish there was a fan for shower steam. Bed comfortable but sagged a little in the middle -- might be time to replace.
Location: Beach, nature preserve, hotel croquet court, Sea World is handy, La Jolla Village is fairly close. We always walk on the bluffs above the Cove.
My family (two teenagers and husband and I) spent four days at the hotel and had a wonderful time. We loved being close enough to run/hike in the nature preserve, and the state beach is very close. We ate a number of meals at the Grill, which has wonderful, very fresh food at fairly reasonable prices. Service was very good at the hotel. Our room was generously sized, with a nice patio, if a little dark (that is partly the architectural style of the hotel). All in all, I would love to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Five star hotel on the course.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
I can not state this enough this resort is truly 5 star. Everyone from the front staff to the concierge to the bell hop will go out of their way to help you with any need you have and are all friendly and inviting. Nathalie the concierge did a fantastic job of choosing 3 restaurants, with different experiences each night. Tony our driver for the hotel shuttle was also fantastic, not only did he take us to dinner in style (Audi A8L) but he told us about the surrounding area and what the different towns and villages are all about. We also ran into Laurent the food and beverage manager when we asked about the ingredients in a sauce, he had a bottle sent up to our room with a letter including the ingredients and had a couple of beers on ice waiting for us after our round. This kind of service is rampant at the lodge, they make everyone feel like a VIP. I am already planning a trip back for next year. Thank you to all of the staff at The Lodge at Torrey Pines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beyond our expectation.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This hotel is perfect if you really want a place to decompress. The beds are awesome, the food delicious and the staff are helpful kind and unobtrusive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel is very outdated. Everything from the bed to the TV to the wallpaper is out of the early 80s. Expected more. Would not recommend this hotel.