Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

That's a lot of stars but...

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I was really expecting some over the top accommodations based on reviews, but I can say while everything is nice, it is living off of its location vs quality of amenities and rooms. Nice is about the best word I can use to describe it. However, when you charge what they do, you don't get away with nice. It wasn't a memorable stay and this was disappointing based on what I had read/heard. The Hilton next door seemed just as nice and more reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
A wonderful experience. My 12-year old son loved it as much as we did. The staff was superb and the hotel was immaculately maintained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Map would be nice

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The grounds of this hotel are spectacular but the hotel itself is a maze of winding halls, long treks to get from one part of the hotel to another, and insufficient signs to point the way. I was constantly getting lost and on two occasions the staff members who has offered to direct me got lost as well. The restaurant gave me the wrong lunch entrée (and didn't bother to change the bill!), the reception clerk was unable to give me the location of a business seminar I was attending at the hotel the next day (saying that they only had the info on the day of the event), and even though I arranged for a late check out, my room key didn't work when I went back to my room to pack up (a few hours before the check out date). Lovely location but not really on their game. Disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Mark W., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lodge at Torrey Pines. We would like to extend an apology on behalf of our staff. Certainly, they had the best intentions, but our expectations are that they be both well informed and attentive to our guests’ needs. Generally, we receive reviews complimenting their performance, but it sounds like you had a few issues that could have been resolved with a little more sensitivity and preparation. We sincerely appreciate your comments as they give us an opportunity to review and evaluate our performance. Our goal is to always improve the service we provide our guests. Please accept our apology, and we hope that in the near future, we have an opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellence in customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft worth twxas

Quiet, relaxing location- bad AC

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Three nights in a row reported AC problems- our room simply did not cool off to our satisfaction. Slow to send assistance, and the repairman was very unconcerned. He barely pretended to try, explaining that the high humidity forced him to use his own AC the night before. The room was clean and a pacious, and the reason we chose location was for the beautiful location near the Torrey Pines state park and trails to the beach- which made for fabulous running and breathtaking views of the Pacific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place is incredible.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
This was my first time staying at the Lodge...And it was damned near perfect. My family and I stayed for 6 nights and will absolutely come back. The attention to detail is amazing...it looks beautiful, smells beautifully, delivers beautiful views, etc. High-quality, updated finishes (bedding, linens, decor, landscape, heated pool, etc) throughout and a well-trained, respectful staff really differentiate this place. I would put it on par with experiences we had at Ritz & Four Seasons properties, at a better price. The ONLY issue I had was that the wireless connectivity (both hotel WiFi and Verizon LTE) was relatively terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Encino

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: great location, beautiful grounds
Cons: the bed was somewhat saggy.
Location: the gliderport was amazing! the cove in town was full of sea lions basking in the sun. very cool.
we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. the layout, the grounds, the staff, the restaurants, were all top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Cons: Just some updating. Overall not bad
Location: Went down to LaJolla, Del Mar and San Diego.
We had a nice time at the resort. Rooms were nice could use a little updating. But overall I would recommend this resort and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA county

Wow beautiful exquisite lodge

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Live in LA county but never get to San Diego county...spent 3 nights here with our family which includes 2 teens. Grounds, lodge and facility really breath-taking. Our room had ample room for 4 and the balcony overlooking garden was nice. The bathroom had 2 magnifying mirrors! Included extras were turn down service. The staff was really nice even gardeners held the door open for us! The pool was the largest I've ever seen in a hotel. Due to the cool days our family was the only one in the pool and jacuzzi. Cons were at times I felt we had to keep our voices down because a restaurant $$$ overlooked the pool. Also while there were some families, the overall vibe was rich golfers. The room fridge is set up for beverages only making breakfasts in the room challenging. The property is near Torrey pines state park about 1/2 mile walk to the park boundary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Maybe the most attentive staff I have ever experienced. Facilities, golf course, dining, bar...all top notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Somewhat Disappointed for Price

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Although our overall experience at The Lodge was good, a couple of things were bothersome. The room and grounds were wonderful. No real complaints except we tried three keys to the minibar before having to have someone come open it for us. With young children, it's always nice to be able to access the refrigerator. There is no kid menu for the pool, causal dining, or room service. It was hard to stomach the bill with two kids included. The pool service was extremely slow. Most of the time, no one was around at all.