Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Exquisite Renovation

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, see above.
Cons: Toilet paper...bring your own soft TP.
Location: Handy to airport, harbor and good Mexican food places.
This is a great little hotel, well appointed, clean, and not your usual (yawn!) hotel. Most helpful staff, and great to have an in-house restaurant. Pool a nice touch. This is the kind of place one would happily take his wife. Well done, Pearl!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N I

Very friendly hotel. Handy to bus routes.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: All staff friendly with no request ignored. A hotel with real character. Would stay in the Pearl again definitely.
Cons: None!
Location: Close to bus routes. Old town, beaches, downtown easy accessed from this hotel.
Very enjoyable stay. Pleasant staff, clean, excellent food and drink. Fun evening atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Felt like a motel with a pool and bar attached

Posted May 30, 2015
We only needed a room for the night and this place had good reviews. The lady at checkin was very helpful and called us to say our room was ready early which was a nice touch. The room itself was nothing special, the bathroom a bit run down. We liked the fish bowl on the wall but didn't think this was quite enough to achieve 'boutique' status. The bar and restaurant looked pretty good but didn't use these, nor did we partake in a game of bingo which we were invited to as we were out. There were no problems with the hotel, but I wouldn't especially recommend it to anyone who just needs a room- there are probably more spacious rooms going for similar money elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

Boutique with style

Posted May 30, 2015
Fun staff ! But where is the coffee maker? Clean and crisp, meet locals too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little gem.

Posted May 19, 2015
This was a cool little quirky hotel. The price was reasonable, the location good, staff very helpful and friendly, and an overall pleasant experience. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Clean, funky, friendly

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Nice size room
Cons: Maybe assign the parking spaces?
If you want a quiet place hotel chain type with easy parking then this is not the right place for you. It's funky, the happy hour and after at the bar and pool is busy, and the parking, even if reserved, can be a little odd. It's in Point Loma, so easy access to the airport and Seaworld and north to La Jolla. It's an old classic "Motel" that's been updated where you can dash across a busy street and get the the restaurants in Pt. Loma. The property met my expectations for a funky renovation perfectly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Stay In San Diego

Posted May 17, 2015
The hotel was nice, kept clean and great for budget conscious people. The staff very friendly. It has two stories so know there is no elevator to take you to the second floor which was an inconvenience lugging luggage up two flights of steps. I would've liked being closer to downtown but enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Nice hotel with really good happy hr food & drinks

Posted May 14, 2015
Really nice hotel with friendly staff and good happy hour specials. Can't beat one dollar oysters. The rooms are nice and they have movie nights every Wednesday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Straight out of Mad Men

Posted May 10, 2015
My boyfriend and I fell in love with the Pearl after spending one short night there... The vibe, Staff, cleanliness, Food, and location where all beautiful. Most definitely will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from aberdeen scotland

Quirky hotel, strange area?

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Food and drink plus free cycle rental
Cons: Not sre about the goldfish in the rooms. A goldfish bowl with no decoration or plants and a poor singular goldfish being blinded by a spotlight.
Location: Pointe Loma - fishing, boating, close to airport.
This hotel is trying to brand itself as somewhere different. It probably succeeds. It's on the main drag going through the bottom of Point Loma and kind of stuck in the middle of nothing? If you looked hard enough there were other places to walk to at nights but to be fair the restaurant at the Pearl seemed to attract a number of locals along which meant for a good atmosphere. Good menu selection and great craft beer selection. We had a lower level room which was big enough, however some appeared to be a little small? Not much views or outside areas to any of the rooms.