Ratings based on 4,446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Orange Co, CA

Great hotel for conference attendees!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Very reasonable rates. Nice restaurant/bar in lobby with a great happy hour. Two free bottles of water for each day you stay.
Cons:
Location: Located north of the Gaslamp District but is within walking distance of pretty much EVERYTHING.
I've stayed at the Sofia hotel a few times for events at the Convention Center. The rooms are compact, but you don't really need more space when you're travelling alone. The Convention Center is a short 15 min walk away and there are a ton of restaurants and bars nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Hotel bien centré

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Hotel très bien situé, à distance de marche facile du gas lamp sector, du stade petco, du parc Balboa, du bord de l'eau, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Great location and charming character hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The location & affordability along with the check-in process being very speedy!
Stayed at Sofia Hotel for one night while in SD for a concert. I'll definitely stay there again! The rooms were very affordable and the staff was awesome! The only con was the tight squeeze in the room if you have more than 1 other person staying with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Hotel bonito cerca del malll

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Me desagrado mucho q un joven me cobro 9.75 dólares por día del depósito w deje y me los quitaron aun cuando manifesté mi inconformidad pues yo solo llegue s dormir y me cobraron q según por el uso de té o café o agua o internet y teléfono y yo nada de eso use
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cute hotel, centralized location

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Cons: Add room service
Location: This was centrally located to the gas lamp district which has a ton of bars and food places. Also walking distance to the convention center.
I booked this hotel last minute for Comic Con. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised! We drove in Saturday to be greeted immediately by valet and they checked us in early (check in 4pm) with no additional charge. Great staff!! The room was small, but expected (we only booked a single queen). They did provide free WiFi and water bottles which was a nice touch. The restaurant that was attached did close early for dinner (around 9pm) but had a delicious breakfast menu. It was only a few minute walk to the convention center and surrounding events. Also close to a Ralph's if you are looking to purchase groceries for a long term stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Decent hotel in central downtown area.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: I liked the history and the older style of the hotel.
Cons: Bed/Room had not been cleaned properly. Found several hairs on the pillows.
Location: Location is convenient but is in an area with many homeless/transient people on the streets.
Hotel was OK, staff good, but no breakfast available before 7.00 A.M. and the cleanliness of the room was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofia Hotel during Comicon

Posted Jul 10, 2015
This is a really nice boutique hotel. The staff and physical appearance of the place are terrific. My only complaint was the size of my particular room. It was during a huge convention week (Comicon), though I wasn't there for the convention - was there for business - so I understood the enormous demand on rooms and was grateful to find a room at all. However, this was an incredibly small room! I felt like I needed to go out in the hallway to change my mind! Room size aside, it was a delightful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Fantastic location for people who want to go out in the Gaslamp. The front desk was super helpful in suggesting where to eat/drink as well. My one complaint would be that there was no pool, and we would have loved to enjoy the beautiful weather poolside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glendale

Dirty pillow and iron board sheet

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The pillow main sheet and iron board were not clean, water from shower head spread all on the floor and ran into bedroom,little bit noisy (street view), and over priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, Nevada

Great hotel location

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Great feeling in and outside of the hotel.
Cons: Including the valet parking fees into the room price. All hotels have separated the fees but, should be upfront!
Location: Gas Lamp Quarter, restaurants, 10 minutes away Old Town.
The hotel is in walking distance to Gas Lamp Quarter.