Ratings based on 4,211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
Great hotel, rooms are small but didnt bother me. Good location. Would definately suggest staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Highly recommended

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Its proximity to what the town has to offer tourists and transport is perfect .
Cons: If the accommodation was free you thouht you are in heaven.
Location: Walk to the Gaslight disdtrict and cruiser terminal. Take the 7 bus across the road to go to the zoo and surrounding Museums and Prado area.
If fault was to be found, then perhaps, the "timing of servicing the room" could be a little improved upon. Other wise the courtesy, help and friendlyness of the staff could not be faulted. Thank you holtel management. G.E.Saalmann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

San Diego--and close to everything!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: I fell in love with this hotel years ago! Rooms are small, but if you are out exploring, who cares?? Like the microwave and fridge which are a must
I LOVE this hotel, and this is the 4th stay in 6 years! The location is ideal...to get to the action of the downtown and Gaslamp district, the restaurants and clubs/music in the area; close to the MTS transit system, and walking distance to the waterfront and Seaport area. Also safe for those female travellers who are travelling solo and maybe out later in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra Australia

Very central, close to airport and cruiseport

Posted May 1, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful, early check in without fuss. Rooms clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Very Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at the Sophia. I was in town for a conference, and it was an easy walk to and from the convention center each day, about 7 blocks. The hotel is also very near the Gas Lamp district, with numerous restaurants and nightlife. The hotel itself was clean and beautiful (no view, but you can't have everything!), in a historical building with old world charm. The staff was very friendly and professional. I would most definitely stay at the Sophia again, if I'm lucky enough to visit San Diego again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Lemon water available at the reception especially in hot sunny days
Cons: I do not like the way they put the sink in the room. However some might think it is new but I felt it is not practical.
Location: Good dinning areas close by
Overall, nice downtown stay. Close to most of the actions downtown and reasonable facilities and room comfort. They provide a walk tour on Saturdays (1 hour) which I thought it is very nice to walk around with somebody who really know the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

The hotel was just okay.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The valet staff.
Cons: The staff is not friendly.
Location: Old Town was great.
The room was very small. It was very hot in the room..the air conditioning didn't work correctly. There were lots of sirens all night long. Pretty disappointing for the price. The best part of the hotel is the valet staff. They were super friendly, gave directions to local attractions and helped with the luggage. I will not return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom palm springs CA

Nice historical hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping. Little Italy
My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here last night. We needed to be there for a dinner and did want to drive back to Palm Desert that night. What a nice hotel at a great price and location. Yes, the rooms are small but very well decorated. I heard that the walls were thin, but we had a couple with a toddler next store and did not hear anything. The staff is great and the hotel has some great small touches that make you feel at home. We will definitely stay here again...only issue was $34 for parking with free in and out. That is expensive, but typical for this city. Free wi-fi, water, and coffee. Also a large bottle of wine in the room for $20 which is a fair price for a hotel. Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a queen corner suite you have two walls with windows. See more room tips Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple Value Location Service Ask zoecatCA about The Sofia Hotel This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria BC

Historic older hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015
It is an older hotel that has been upgraded, still expect small rooms. I like the vanity separation from shower and toilet. It works well for 2. It is good to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room, as well wine glasses, etc. Nice to relax at the end of a work related visit. We had a corner room facing the Convention Centre, so there are 4 windows in the room and you can't complain about it being dark. The bed was very comfortable and I like the fresh white linens/duvet. Walking distance to all of downtown and easy access to public transportation right on Broadway. We took busses to Coronado, Balboa Park and La Jolla with ease. The happy hour in the attached restaurant is great for the late 9 til closing. Also try the US Grant Happy Hour and the Westin Gaslamp for a better choice of appies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: room size
Location: excellent
great hotel, fast checkin and check out nice location great service