Ratings based on 3,849 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, canada

Excellent location, very helpful staff

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Location could hardly be better - blocks from Gaslamp District, short walk to harbour. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Rooms a little small but not too cramped. Highly recommend the short guided tour included in the resort fee. Yoga apparently was also excellent. Very good value for the money we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Charming hotel close to attractions at Balboa Park

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Just an overnight stay to hear a loved family member's concert close by. Suite provided for all 3 of us, in charming setting. And Currant, the hotel restaurant, gave us a terrific brunch the flowing morning:food and service attentive and delicious. I would return in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and convenient

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Excellent rooms with all the comforts needed. The bed was very soft and comfy. Small for sure but well appointed otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel, small but expected

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Everything about the hotel was great from the staff to the experience. Only things I didn't like were how small the room is and the bathroom as well. They did the absolute best they could with having an old hotel remodeled, but the shower half wall of glass is a pain, water went everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Very lovely hotel overall

Posted Dec 17, 2014
I saw this hotel had a 4.5 star rating when I booked. Although very current, clean and pretty, the bed was too soft for me personally and there was nothing that went above and beyond to make me want to rate above a 4. I do recommend it unless you like really firm beds. Then, not so much.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom n

good hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Right in the middle of gas lamp tons to do without ever having to get in your car. Parking around the hotel sucks though 34 dollars a night but it's downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The bar down stairs is inviting and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is just a few blocks away from the gas lamp where there is pleanty of restaurants to choose from.
It's a boutique style hotel. The rooms are very large but are very cozy and clean. It's perfect for stay for a one to two night stay in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Perfect downtown San Diego hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, price, comfort, quiet, luxurious feel, yoga room, friendly staff, lovely management.
Cons: Cooler temperature in the fitness room.
Location: Ten minute walk from convention center; 5 minutes from gaslight area and shopping, 2 minutes from bus stop.
I booked a week in this hotel primarily to access a conference in the nearby convention center. I loved it. Control of my room temperature; a comfortable bed; in room coffee, refrigerator, bottled water and wine; lush towels; free wifi; soundproof walls all made my reasonably priced room a treasure. Twenty-four access to a yoga room and adjoining fitness room was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, convenient location.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Our room was tiny, that's the only complaint. It has a lot of character and a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

close and convenient to everything

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: liked the decor and the fact that you could use bikes!!!
Cons: nothing all was great
Location: Gas Light district is close as it the water front
Hotel Sofia was a a great experience. The Hotel was close and walkable to everything. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the amenities were just right.