Ratings based on 4,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel to explore downtown

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We took AMTRAK from LA for a performance of the San Diego Opera and a weekend of exploring San Diego's downtown. We could walk to the Sofia from the Santa Fe Depot and to all the restaurants in the Gaslamp District. Our room wasn't ready for early check-in so the manager offered an up-grade to a suite to accommodate us and spent time going over a map and giving us lots of places to see and eat (including Currant which is in the hotel and very popular). The rest of the staff was just as friendly and the suite was wonderful with a sitting room and good mattress. We had a great weekend and plan to return and stay at the Sofia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

Great Gaslamp Area Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great location and perks. Hotel has bikes for rental/yoga classes.
Cons: add shower doors.
Location: Near the Gaslamp District, so there are great restaurants and bars everywhere
The Sofia is a great, small boutique hotel. We arrived super early, and our room was ready to be checked into. The real only downside is that the rooms are very small. A few oddities such as the placement of the sink in the hallway, and lack of shower door are the only things keeping this from a perfect rating. Neither of these should keep you from staying here, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Super time. I checked in very late due to a delayed flight and was offered delayed check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, good location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: free yoga
Cons: N/A
Location: Short walk from Gaslamp area
Stayed for 4 nights. Smallish rooms, but have every thing you need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lethbridge, Canada

A well situated Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: It is situated close to most of the attractions in downtown and harbour areas and transport by trolley or bus was very close at hand.
Cons: More storage for clothing. Bathroom could be improved.
Location: Excellent to see Gaslamp Quarter , Little Italy, USS Midway and the harbour front with its ferry to Coronado.
The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was pretty small with not much room for putting away clothes. The bathroom was also small and basic. It was all very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to Gaslamp!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Likes: -Walking distance to Gaslamp Quarter...so plenty of places to go to when wanting to drink and eat. -Friendly service. Dislikes: -The size of the room is kind of small. -The showers are kind of weird...since there isn't a full door. Water definitely gets on floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

学会出張での滞在に

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: コンベンションセンターからさほど遠くない点です。
Cons: 無線LAN環境がフリーでないのがほぼ唯一の欠点。
Location: コンベンションセンターから近いだけでなく、大きなスーパーや商業施設にも近いので学会出張にお勧めです。
コンベンションセンターにも歩いていける距離。空港からのMTS(992線)のバス停がすぐ近くにあるので便利。大通り沿いで5番街も近く、治安の面でも気に入りました。建物の外見は古いですが部屋は清潔でした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fin de siecle atmosphere in downtown San Diego

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Stylish retro-atmosphere. Rooms not too big, but very good amenities. Friendly employees. Quiet surroundings. Note: no breakfast is being served by hotel, but can be got at coffee-shop in same building and throughout weekdays at restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Businesstrip. Alles gut, Personal an der Rezeption etwas unpersönlich. Befremdlich ist der obligatorische 9,75 USD Guest-Fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

A very attractive and convenient hotel.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location, restaurant, staff, room. Access to Gaslamp area and wonderful selection of dining locations.
Cons: They need to turn off FOX news. There are channels like the Weather channel that are neutral. There is no reason to greet guests with this.
Great treatment, excellent location, and accommodating staff. I would like them to turn off FOX news in the lobby and put on some neutral station, but otherwise I would recommend this to everyone. The rooms have a comfortable chair, table, storage and all the support you need for a nice stay. The dining room and bar has good food and is convenient with a coffee shop just outside the door. Transportation is within easy walking and the gaslamp area is there to explore in one direction and the docks in another. It would be hard to find a better place than this.