Ratings based on 2,943 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall- always a pleasure to stay here

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Beds are the best. I come back year after year to this hotel (travel out annually for work) as it is the most comfortable bed ever.
Cons: Room could have been inspected. Vanity area must be made larger.
Location: Many stores, restaurants and waterfront all within walking distance to hotel.
I love the location of this hotel. Walking distance to so much. I got a smaller rooms than usual, and it made it very difficult to get ready in the morning. Vanity area was just way too small. At check-in- mirror in room all spotted with water. Didn't feel like moving rooms so didn't call down (prob should have). But clearly not cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty Historical Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, friendly staff, free WiFi, historical outlook/view.
Cons: The room I stayed has two queen beds which compromised the space of the room. However, this is a very pretty historical hotel.
Location: It is in walk distance to the Convention Center, the historical Gaslamp, and Mall. There are a lot of restaurants and bars in walk distance as well.
It is an excellent hotel, especially when you compare the rate and the location and the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from California

Nice hotel, restaurant seemed very popular.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Better doors on the bathroom.
Location: Downtown, theatre, plenty of restaurants, close to public transport.
Small rooms, but great location for my business trip. Plenty of take out restaurants and close to the mall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cyprus

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, close to cruise terminal 10 dollar taxi ride. 15 min walk from seaport, 10 min from gas lamp area. 20 mins walk to Midway.
Location: Excellent location, do the old town trolley tour first thing in morning to get on and off various points.
Needed a hotel after a cruise for 3 days and this fitted all our requirements.very helpful staff full of info on the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel in an very good location ...downtown

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Decor and location
Cons: can't fix it, but some of the rooms are 'old style' and open onto an alley or across from another room window.
Location: Close to, but not in GasLamp district. Short walk to the bay. Public transportation at the door. Long walk to the Convention Center.
IF you want to be close to most everything in downtown San Diego, this is a great spot. On the bus, trolley and around the corner from the train line...all part of the city public transportation system. Great bar and restaurant. This is a very old hotel with excellent remodeling and style. You can get bigger rooms (and elevators) elsewhere...however if you like a stylish hotel...this is a good bet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Walking distance to waterfront.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location, price and service.
Cons: Elevators are small.
Location: Could walk to waterfront as well as all the shopping and restaurants of the Gas Lamp District.
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Got a comped upgrade to a larger room to better accommodate of family. Room was very nice!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anne from St. Louis

Perfect for business (and pleasure)

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The style, the location, the amenities - you name it!
Cons: Oh, if there could be a pool, this place would be unstoppable - but I know that can't happen :)
Location: Shopping, eating, baseball - they also have free bike usage for 3 hours so you can explore beyond the walking radius.
Never having been to San Diego before, I was pleased to see just how lovely the downtown neighborhood was. The Sofia Hotel was classy (as SD is in general), comfortable, and stylish. I read reviews that mentioned how small the rooms are prior to my arrival - this is just like any other boutique hotel I've stayed in. When I travel, the room is not my destination, so the size was perfect. It allowed me to rest, refresh - and eat, when needed. It was clean (save for a little bug I found that was already dead, but nothing horrifying - you REALLY had to look to find him) and comfortable. It was within walking distance to the Convention Center (business reasons), shopping, the Gaslamp District, and Petco Park (I was in town for opening day). There was also a grocery store in the nearby shopping center, and thanks to the fridge in the room, I was able to cut my per diem in half. I did of course stop down at the restaurant Currant. The staff was lovely, and it has a great happy hour that happens twice each night. Local brews on tap, reasonably priced french fries... excellent. The staff was very friendly - Enzo was WONDERFUL when I arrived. He made sure I knew where I was going for my conference and shared some other tidbits about the area. The yoga studio was very handy - keeping up with your practice on the road can be tough - but there were no excuses with 24-7 access! All in all, this was a great place. I would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by E from New York

Boutique hotel downtown

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, Friendly staff, pretty decor
Cons: We didn't have a bath mat the one morning, no big deal though.
Nice rooms and very friendly staff. The rooms are small but sufficient for 2 adults on a short trip. Valet parking was a tad pricey at $30/day but the valets were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is walking distance to lots of restaurants but a car is required for most attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unremarkable.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Vintage hotel but lacks the grandness of its heritage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cathy from Duluth, MN

Fun find!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Nice facilities for a reasonable price.
Cons: Little bit of a sound problem in the bathroom, via vent.
Location: Easy walk to harbor, convention facilities, shopping, restaurants, baseball field. Gaslamp quarter looked a little ragged in parts,
Loved that this was a designated, historical builing. Room had a tasteful, European flare. Nice place to lay one's head after long days at a conference.