Ratings based on 3,949 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Good value - just off the main strip

Posted Jan 28, 2015
I think this hotel was good value and overall enjoyed myself. However, I found it a bit annoying that there was no doorman when you pulled up to help with bags. The front desk staff was pleasant enough. The room was small but cozy and the gym was quite decent as well. This hotel is located near court and judicial buildings and there were bail bond offices everywhere, which was interesting as coming from Canada we don't really see that alot. Overall, if you are fine with a smaller space that is about 5-7 min walk off the main area for restaurants the sofia is great. I found it to be well priced and no major issues. Ps we parked in an office building a 5-10 min walk away for 24/night vs 34/night for sofia valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Charming Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: Plenty of good shopping and restaurants and easily walkable. Close to major tourist sites which were also walkable. Short drives to many other sites.
Charming hotel located blocks from harbour and Gas Lamp district. Very well kept rooms and excellent service. Staff were very helpful and courteous. I would certainly come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Good price.
Cons: I'm a gold member with Expedia and on the phone app said that I could ask for a perk, however the hotel said they never heard of it.
Hotel was clean, not to far from the Gaslamp district and easy to get to from the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Nice place, quiet, well located, great restaurant, clean, newly remodeled rooms in a historical building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff in a convenient location.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location and the restaurant are at the top of the list.
Cons: A softer pillow option.
Location: Walking distance to many important things such as the Gas Light District and the Convention Center.
From arrival to departure it was a pleasant experience. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the restaurant is charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Historic hotel with lots of character

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It being a historic hotel gave it some character.
Cons: I had read so many reviews before about the amazingly friendly staff, so I was kind of disappointed that they weren't very. Not unpleasant, just aloof
Location: Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, Richard Walker's for breakfast and have a baked pecan pancake--the yummiest breakfast ever!
The bellman who greeted us was super friendly and efficient. Check-in was easy. Our room was on the second floor. Nice, comfortable bed. No Closed-circuit TV so no movies. The neighborhood is a little sketchy at night but perfectly safe. It's just in downtown Sad Diego so you may see some homeless folks walking around and shouting or urban-camping nearby. It's a historic hotel so the rooms are very small, but space is used efficiently so it feels bigger than it is. Do not bring a lot of clothes. There's almost no vanity space so bring a bag that you can put cosmetics away in after each use. Rooms with King beds are on the interior of the hotel so you can't have a King bed AND a view. There is no room service but there are tons of dining options within two-three blocks and the nearby gaslamp district has dozens and dozens of chic little places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom portland

Birthday Weekend

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location; comfort; great price (got a great discount).
Location: We didn't rent a car and the light rail was 4 blocks away. Visited Old Town, mission Beach, Zoo, seaport village. Bus to airport 2 blocks away!
My daughter and my son-in-law met us in San Diego for my bithday weekend. The Queen Suite was perfect. The room was clean and very comfortable. The room overlooked Broadway but was very quiet. It featured a sofa with a pull out bad that as expected was not very comfortable but since they were there for one night (we were there for four) was not a big deal. The staff was great. When we made request for extra towels or bedding they came immediately. The room features two t 's so when we watched the big game the ladies could watch something else in the other room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

Charming Historic Hotel Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful!
Cons: Offer in-room dining. Realizing the hotel has no kitchen, perhaps they could offer service from the surrounding restaurants.
Location: Shopping, Balboa Park, dining, entertainment, maritime museums
The Sofia is a winner: old world charm with up to date amenities and conveniently located downtown for shopping, conferences and dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

convention hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Convenient to convention center. Very clean.
Cons: size of the room
Location: Everything! Great dining and shopping.
Room is very small for 2 convention-goers who aren't related to each other, but very comfortable and very clean.Would be much too small for a family to stay. A 10-15 minute walk to the convention center, very convenient for shopping and dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom woodland hills ca

Old and new

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The Sofia is a cool old building but has a beautiful reconditioning. The rooms are simple but still classy. The hotel staff are friendly and professional and the location is perfect for bar hopping and exploring around the downtown area.