Ratings based on 3,283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Fantastic location. Close to transit and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Clean rooms and great service. The restaurant downstairs and amazing as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, historic hotel and newly refurbished!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: HISTORIC!
Cons: Great lighting particulary in the interior rooms.
Location: Everything downtown San Diego including excellent restaurants and shopping!
As a historic hotel buff, I enjoyed my brief stay at the Hotel Sofia. The cozy bar was an excellent way to unwind after a grueling and super busy conference and the appetizers are yum! The room was small and too dark in my opinion but then I had an interior room vs. exterior. It was well appointed, however. I would recommend this hotel and it was quite reasonable in price as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Hotel Small Rooms

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location, free walking city tour on the weekends,
Cons: Rooms are small the "delux" room we were given had the sink in the main room.\
Location: Gas Lamp Quarter, Harbour front, couple of blocks from 5th street were the bars are.
Hotel location is fantastic within walking distance of everything you need. Rooms are modern but small, free Wfi is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jeddah

Nice hotel with good location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Very good hotel, down town. Room are well equipped even it is a little bit small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

AARP

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Great stay, excellent service and location. Whenever we are in San Diego, we will be sure to make our stay with you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect hotel...except for the maid service.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Loved The Sofia. Rooms were beautiful, fantastic wi-fi, a mini-fridge I could actually use to keep store-bought food, PLUS a microwave, good TV and AC, very comfy beds and an ideal location. I'd leave it there and rate everything 5 stars if I could. However, the maids were infuriating, and sadly became the part of my stay I'll remember most. I got to the hotel after an 5-day boat trip, during which I hardly slept and was seasick. My first day, after going out in the morning I came back to nap for the afternoon. I put the PRIVACY PLEASE sign on the door. An hour after I lay down, a maid knocks. She asked me how long I'll be, and I told her I'd be going out that evening, but that I didn't need towels or anything so she could miss my room. She wrote something on her book. A little irked, I checked the PRIVACY PLEASE sign was still in place and went back to lie down. After maybe another hour, another knock. I ignored it, so they knocked again. Another maid this time, asking me the same thing, so I told her the same thing. Only now I was wide awake, and not happy. Sadly, that wasn't the end of it. Two days later, after spending the morning and early afternoon in the blazing sun, I returned to my hotel to cool off and do some work on my laptop for a couple hours before dinner. When I returned, my room had not yet been made up, so I tried the PRIVACY PLEASE sign, again. Again, it was totally disregarded and a maid knocked. Ridiculous. When the PRIVACY sign is on, DON'T KNOCK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of Downtown.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Within walking distance of the Gaslamp and the Harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Junction, CO

Walking distance to the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: everything!!
Cons: Breakfast somewhere close to the hotel would be easier.
Location: Right in the middle of downtown San Diego. Bus station right around the corner, walking distance to the beach and the USS Midway.
Walking distance to the USS Midway, out vacation destination. Right in the middle of downtown San Diego in a beautiful area. The staff and hotel was excellent. The rooms are small but very clean and put together. The beds were comfortable and we had a great view of the city from our hotel. Restaurants and shopping are in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel in downtown San Diego

Posted Sep 1, 2014
It was easy and fast to check in and out of the hotel. It would be nice to have a lock in the bathrooms.