Ratings based on 4,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

Terrific Hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The room was quite nice. Free bike usage.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: Gaslamp restaurants and clubs nearby. Littly Italy within walking distance. Close to the waterfront and the activities offered there.
Wonderful old style hotel that has all the modern amenities. It is conveniently located to the Gaslamp Quarter and is on the busline direct to the airport. The waterfront and Little Italy are all within easy walking distance. They also provide free bike usage on a first come first serve basis which alllows for even more capability to explore the downtown area. Breakfast is not included but there is a very good coffee and pastry shop right next door if you are so inclined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The location was very convenient.
Cons: The internet was extremely slow & their service company said that there was nothing they could do to speed it up. Also, parking is $43.00/night.
I was there one night for a business trip. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is walking distance from many restaurant choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute

Posted Apr 14, 2015
This was a quaint little place, the room was a little smaller but love the home feel that it has!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlsbad,CA

Short Visit

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We've stayed at the Sofia Hotel a few times when we come to San Diego for a show or ball game. The staff is friendly. The hotel is in a great location for walking anywhere downtown. Rooms are small, but cozy. We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Y

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Good location, close to much. We enjoyed our stay. The room was small, but had all we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sun City

Room accomadations

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and so helpful
Cons: 2 double beds should be in a bigger room
Location: we did not see any of the sites.
everything was great. staff was very accommodating. We found that the room was very small. Once our luggage was brought in , we could hardly maneuver i the room. The Currant restaurant was very convenient and food was excellent in taste, service and presentation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Good hotel, right in the middle of downtown. Rooms are a bit small. But overall great stay. Will come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff Very Nice but rooms are Small

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Lower parking cost
Location: walking distance to gaslamp quarter, tons of bars and restaurants.
The Sofia Hotel was nice... The staff is super friendly and helpful, the room was clean. Here are the negatives... Even though we had a suite, the room was really small. The bathroom was a shoebox and the sink area had very little counter space, the only other negative is $34 to park your car!! I wouldnt go out of my way to stay here again, but I'm not saying that its not a nice place. I'd just rather spend the extra $40 and get a bigger room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, California

Nice Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very clean.
Stayed 1 night. The hotel was nice and the room was nice but very small. Very close to restaurants and night life. Price was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angelels

Walking Distance to many areas

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Cozy and Quaint...Like that it is Historic!
Cons: Just that they leave coffee and creamer for the next day. Housekeeping kept forgetting to leave packets...but was brought ASAP when we asked.
Location: Location was perfect! Coronado Beach, Old Town, Little Italy, Gaslamp District, Farmers Market on Saturday!
I read reviews before I booked an new the rooms would be small. They were but we didn't plan on being in room anyways. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Room was nice and had a safe too! So close to many things to see and driving to Coronado Beach was a piece of cake and same with Old Town. On Saturday there was a spectacular Farmers Market in Little Italy but a easy walk from the Hotel. We would easily stay here again.