Ratings based on 3,046 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Solitary Confinement

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Smallest room I've ever paid the largest amount of money for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The guys doing vallet were the most welcoming and helpfull of sofias staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, charm and service.
Cons: Internet in the rooms.
Location: Gastown, Petco Park
Wanted a boutique hotel close to ball park. Hotel was close to all attractions and easy walk to Petco Park. Hotel was well run, clean and still had the original old world charm. Restaurant was quite good and the over all service was very good. Parking was quite expensive but what downtown in any major city isn't. Would stay here again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Everything was great except the shower didn't have curtain or door so water just splashed out on the floor. Luckily we had extra towels. Also the wifi signal was weak on the fifth floor so I had to tether iPad with phone. Room was cozy and ac worked great! Everything was clean with a classy look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel clean room in a great walkable location. No breakfast included and a $30 parking fee per day - the valet was great and quickly retrieved car. Overall great experience but a lot of room for add on fees. Free bike access for small window of time. Complimentary yoga in am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Cute and historic, but not very comfortable

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This isn't a terrible hotel by any means. It's very clean, the location is good, and the staff were nice and helpful. But, the room was cramped and awkwardly laid out, the bathroom had a sliding partition instead of a real door (not a huge problem for me since I was traveling with family, but imagine if you were a business traveler rooming with a colleague), the restaurant closed early and there was no room service, and a lot of other little things that made it less than ideal for me. I wouldn't say not to stay here, just be aware of what to expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel...convenient location!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We attended a game at Petco Park and it is a nice short walk through the gaslamp. On the way back we stopped for a bite to eat at one of the restaurants and had a very nice evening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good staff; small rooms

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff
Cons: Larger rooms, less expensive charges
The hotel staff were very helpful. The rooms were very small and not worth the money charged. The walls were paper thin and you could hear people in the next room and in the hall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Historic hotel newly remodeled

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff. Everyone was friendly and exceptionally helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Horton Plaza, near the Gaslight district, bus and trolley stops and closer to restaurants and fast food choices.
This is a well located very attractive hotel with an outstanding staff. The restaurant/bar, Currant, has an interesting, moderately priced menu. The dinner we had there was very good and the service was excellent. My only complaint about the hotel is the size of the rooms--they are small. This is okay for one or two nights but after that, it may feel a little claustrophobic. That said, this is a very good choice for a downtown hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great location! Rooms nice and clean, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. Rooms are small, but perfect for two people.