Ratings based on 3,247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, good price

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: It would have been nice to have more closet space than the fridge. The shower doesn't have a door (by design), so the floor got really wet
Reasonably priced and is centrally located to many attractions in San Diego. It is at the north end of the gaslamp district. A short 10 minute walk to the USS Midway, a 15 minute walk to the Embarcadaro. The valet was $34 for the whole weekend with unlimited in-and-out privileges, and had a great text-based system for retrieving your car without the wait. The hotel offers free yoga certain days of the week, a free walking tour of the gaslamp district, and other great amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fullerton

Nice hotel down San Diego

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Grest little Hotel near down town San Diego great bar in side and restaurant. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Perfect location. Great bar and restaurant off lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Close to Gas light district

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Lovely bar
Cons: The room was very dull even with all the lights on. The air conditioner was very loud. There was no where to put things like cosmetics near the sink.
It was great that it was close to things but its not a room you would want to spend much time in during the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel nicer than staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The hotel was nice and it was close to the bars so you could be within walking distance of most of them, but the people at the front desk who helped us when we checked in were very unhelpful and stuck up(I feel it was because we were a group of younger people so they felt they didn't need to show us respect they would to an older party) so that was quite off putting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with Superb Staff

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Amazing hotel experience! Very helpful staff willing to do just about anything to make our stay wonderful! Close to everything we wanted to do!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Price for San Diego in High Season

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Price, location, fitness room.
Cons: Ventilation, bedding, responsiveness of valet (even by text it is quite slow).
Location: Downtown. Gaslamp, Petco Park, etc.
Rooms are quite small but well appointed. Air conditioner is noisy and there is no fresh air anywhere in the hotel. The windows are sealed and it is quite stale inside. Nice fitness rooms. Well located. I hate the current fad of wrapping a comfortable with the sheets. It makes it very hard to get down to just a sheet. As stuffy as the air is in this place, they definitely do not need so much bedding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel Close to Everything!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking situation
The Sofia Hotel was absolutely lovely. It is in a great location and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is the parking situation. Parking per night is $34 if you valet or use the parking lot behind the hotel. Walking distance from the nightlife. I definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great hotel in downtown San Diego,

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Great location for the downtown area eating and shopping places.
Cons: Tell customers that they will be charged the convenience fee whether they use the services or not.
Location: Shopping, eating and the cruise ships are close by.
This hotel is across the street from the Horton Mall and all the other shopping and eating places downtown. It is also several blocks away from the Petco Park if you want to see the San Diego Padres baseball team play. The hotel is right on the 992 bus which you can get from the airport. The bus stop is right on the corner across the street. The bus fare is $1.10 for seniors and $2.25 for everyone else. You can't beat that! The only thing I did not like was that the hotel charges a convenience fee of $9.85 per day for Wi-Fi, two bottles of water and the newspaper even if you do not use any of these services. They do tell you that the water is free but it really is not, so you might as well drink the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA.

Stylish upscale hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Many reviews were correct about the size of the rooms being excessively small. The one I had was! Of course being 6' 4" and built like a linebacker didn't help maneuverability either! However even with a small room the room was VERY WELL APPOINTED!! Very contemporary furnishings! Moderately comfortable bed. Fairly quite even though I was on the city side of the building. My Room was very clean and well lit! Large flat panel tv, coffee maker, complementary bottled water even 2 bottles if Merlot in the room (of course for a fee!) They upgraded me to a city view room. The gentleman at the desk had a great personality and positive attitude as did the young man who valet parked my car! Attitude makes up for a lot with me! Both had great suggestions for evening dinner and night life (although I am not much of a night owl). I have to say I enjoyed my stay at the Sofia just as much as my stay at the Grand Hyatt 2 nights earlier! I would recommend it to anyone and will sure stay there again in The future!