Ratings based on 1,405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not a 5 star hotel!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Restaurant and bar were nice. Food was good. Concierge was wonderful! Reasonably close to Gas Light District; not so close to water and waterfront
Cons: See "Experience" above.
Location: See "Like" above
Hotel is represented to be a 5 star hotel. What a joke! Rooms are small, bathroom from the 60's with leaking facet, one sink, very small, terrible lightening in bathroom and throughout; t.v. remote old, buttons hard to work or didn't work, t.v. poor quality and small; drapes six inches shorter from one side to other; coffee maker didn't work, replaced still difficult to work; shower has no towel bars for towels & wash cloths, no foot support for use when bathing; no spread on bed: freeze to death with sheet or sweat to death with comforter; furnishings very old and falling apart; carpet dated. Do not know who is rating, but my next trip, which will be soon, will not be planned through expedia. Five star? A 3 at the most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceptional

Posted Jun 1, 2015
From arrival to check out was made to feel like Royalty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico df

más o menos

Posted May 31, 2015
Mala limpieza en mi habitación. Me quejé y nadie atendió la queja al regresar seguía todo mal arreglado. El restaurant delicioso pero bajó mucho la calidad del servicio. Yo me hospedé ahí en 2014 y fue otra cosa. Gran calidad, este año bajaron mucho el cuidado y la calidad y no esperas ese mugrero en la habitación por ese precio. Las toallas viejas, percudidas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Very nice hotel with great location.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The entire staff we met was very responsive to requests.
Cons: We should have been told that the handicap room we were assigned did not allow the shower water temperature, which was much to hot, to be adjusted.
Location: Easy walk to restaurants in the Gas Lamp District and an easy ride to Balboa Park, USS Midway, Little Italy, Coronado and Point Loma.
We stayed for four nights and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was a decent size, the furnishing were up-to-date and more importantly the bed was comfortable. Hotel restaurant had a limited menu but there are so many restaurants a short walk away that it didn't matter. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not Ready

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location and reputation but the second is now questioned.
Cons: Preparation and communications. We would have rented a different room, we thought we got queens.
Location: GREAT location. Everything nearby; Gaslamp, Petco, Horton Plaza
We arrived @ 3:30 as per request (check in after 3 pm). There was a long line at reception and we were told the room was NOT ready and there was a waiting room for us. We are San Diegans and needed to get ready for a concert. We needed our room. Our room was VERY small with only double beds, not queens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
The room doesn't worth $400 per night. No facilities in the room! Generally I'm not happy with the money I paid for this hotel and definitely not coming anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The US Grant is a wonderful hotel!

Posted May 14, 2015
Great location, good onsite food, pleasant, knowledgeable and professional staff! Would highly recommend it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jimmie from Sacramento

Too much noise from the street.

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was great except the noise and the view. We were on the 11th floor overlooking contruction, parking lots, and the rail system which was constantly coming thru and alerting all of its arrival by using its beeping system. Food was excellent, lounge was fun. Hotel is beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Beautiful 4 star hotel...should not be 5 stars

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It's beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We were asked many times if we needed anything.
Cons: Cleanliness (hallway floors were dirty), quality of beds, noise insulation, and the heating/cooling system should have a range for setting.
Location: Location is great on the East end of Gaslamp. Lots of restaurants close by and most things you'd like to see are within a 20 minute walk.
The beds are just ok and could use an upgrade. Our room had lots of little black flies in the bathroom (at one point I counted 20). My fault for not mentioning it and/or changing rooms. This was very irritating and made the room feel dirty. The hallways are noisy. Staff is excellent and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Veneta, OR

Nicely located

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The bed, the shower, the location.
Cons: It can be noisy.
Location: see above.
San Diego is a great walking town and this hotel is situated very well-close to the Gaslamp District, close to the trains, close to the water. They spoil you almost too much, but compared to other hotels, the extra attention is pretty enjoyable. FABULOUS BED!