Ratings based on 1,397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Amazing One Night Stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I was amazed at how friendly and professional the staff was. The Signature Suite was dreamy. The beds were so comfortable and everything was very clean. It was a very luxurious experience. I will absolutely be staying there again the next time I'm in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Muy agradable

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Ubicación y comodidad
Cons: El color azul de los pasillos y mas iluminacion natural
Location: Mucha actividad para los turistas.
Confortable, amigable, bien ubicado, muchos restaurantes alrededor. Puedes ir caminando a sitios de interés como el porta aviones, y toda la zona de la calle Harbor, donde se puede admirar el mar. Cerca del puente que conecta con la isla Coronado, y muy cerca, a 10 minutos del aeropuerto, por lo que disfrutas tu estancia en el hotel hasta el último minuto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Kansas City

Nice Hotel-Great Location

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfy, pillows not so great. Turn down service was a nice surprise. Every evening upon returning from dinner the room was set for romance.
Cons: Clear information regarding parking fees. They did not even tell us the fee at check in, not until we parked the car.
Location: Museums, Balboa Park, shopping, restaurants, and night life.
The hotel was very nice. We were centrally located and within two miles (walking distance for us) of Balboa Park, Petco Park, USS Midway, Sea Harbor, and many great restaurants. The hotel staff provided us with a few bottles of water for free daily. The shower was large and water had nice flow. Our greatest disappointment was while the website stated parking was available it did not include the price. The only parking available was $42.00 per night. We didn't even need a car while we were there. The parking was more expensive than renting the car. Other parking near the hotel had a limit of eight hours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not a 5 star hotel!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Restaurant and bar were nice. Food was good. Concierge was wonderful! Reasonably close to Gas Light District; not so close to water and waterfront
Cons: See "Experience" above.
Location: See "Like" above
Hotel is represented to be a 5 star hotel. What a joke! Rooms are small, bathroom from the 60's with leaking facet, one sink, very small, terrible lightening in bathroom and throughout; t.v. remote old, buttons hard to work or didn't work, t.v. poor quality and small; drapes six inches shorter from one side to other; coffee maker didn't work, replaced still difficult to work; shower has no towel bars for towels & wash cloths, no foot support for use when bathing; no spread on bed: freeze to death with sheet or sweat to death with comforter; furnishings very old and falling apart; carpet dated. Do not know who is rating, but my next trip, which will be soon, will not be planned through expedia. Five star? A 3 at the most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceptional

Posted Jun 1, 2015
From arrival to check out was made to feel like Royalty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico df

más o menos

Posted May 31, 2015
Mala limpieza en mi habitación. Me quejé y nadie atendió la queja al regresar seguía todo mal arreglado. El restaurant delicioso pero bajó mucho la calidad del servicio. Yo me hospedé ahí en 2014 y fue otra cosa. Gran calidad, este año bajaron mucho el cuidado y la calidad y no esperas ese mugrero en la habitación por ese precio. Las toallas viejas, percudidas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Very nice hotel with great location.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The entire staff we met was very responsive to requests.
Cons: We should have been told that the handicap room we were assigned did not allow the shower water temperature, which was much to hot, to be adjusted.
Location: Easy walk to restaurants in the Gas Lamp District and an easy ride to Balboa Park, USS Midway, Little Italy, Coronado and Point Loma.
We stayed for four nights and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was a decent size, the furnishing were up-to-date and more importantly the bed was comfortable. Hotel restaurant had a limited menu but there are so many restaurants a short walk away that it didn't matter. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not Ready

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location and reputation but the second is now questioned.
Cons: Preparation and communications. We would have rented a different room, we thought we got queens.
Location: GREAT location. Everything nearby; Gaslamp, Petco, Horton Plaza
We arrived @ 3:30 as per request (check in after 3 pm). There was a long line at reception and we were told the room was NOT ready and there was a waiting room for us. We are San Diegans and needed to get ready for a concert. We needed our room. Our room was VERY small with only double beds, not queens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
The room doesn't worth $400 per night. No facilities in the room! Generally I'm not happy with the money I paid for this hotel and definitely not coming anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The US Grant is a wonderful hotel!

Posted May 14, 2015
Great location, good onsite food, pleasant, knowledgeable and professional staff! Would highly recommend it!