Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Great hotel close to major bars & restaurants.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The staff as a whole were extremely helpful and not to mention friendly. My room was always stocked and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night after a scrumptious turkeyday feast!

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The grandeur.
Cons: The complimentary water was not in the room and the frig. had an empty spot.
Location: There are many things to do downtown alas I got the flu and returned home. The Civic Theater is nearby & just blocks from the Harbor.
The Executive Chef, Mark Kropczynski, greeted us at one of the stations and then took the time to outline the many delicious stations for us to sample. Later, he dropped by to add us to his email list and spent a few minutes of his very busy day chatting. We will be back for Easter and Mother's Day. This is a gourmet adventure celebrating the "taste bud". A must when in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Hotel in gas lamp

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Very comfortable bed and bathroom. Kind of creepy vibe for a luxury hotel but I think they might be going for that style. Needs hallway carpet replaced. Excellent cleaning staff. Food service is delicious. Gas lamp area is your typical scary downtown with great food, lots of young homeless people and bars. Oh and scary abandoned building right behind hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Temecula, Ca

Beautiful Hotel but....

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, room style was modern, great location,
Cons: service in the Grill lounge was not very good so we walked and got dinner and drinks elsewhere. Parking was pricy
Location: Nightlife was great
Beautiful hotel. Steep on parking so be ready. Overall stay was great. Good location for hitting the town and walking. We would stay again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Treat yourself...

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Move it to San Francisco....
Location: Everything San Diego has to offer is nearby, especially the Gas Lamp Quarter.....
The property is fantastic The staff is very welcoming and customer-focused. My thanks to all especially Paul and Cecil.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Splendid stay.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location Location Location!!! Exceptional service.
Location: GasLamp is all you need.
Everything the Hotel had control over was exceptional. We stayed a Saturday night, and are not bar-hopper types, so we stayed in the room and vegged. Lots of traffic and people noise from the street below into the early morning hours, but nothing can be done about that so we are not complaining. You CANNOT beat the location! Walking distance to EVERYTHING that makes GasLamp. I wouldn't suggest bringing the family but prefect for adults. If you like a historic feel then this is the place. Rooms are small but that was how they were in 1910 when this place was built. Absolutely beautiful inside. While the room was modernized a "turn back the clock" feel definitely is present.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Nice older Hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Fitness facility.
Location: Great location.
Quiet and restful. Great music at night. Close to downtown. Easy to get around from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom flower mound, tx

Great location walk to everything.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
It was a beautiful hotel which was well maintained. The staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Elegant Hotel in the Heart of Downtown

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: I particularly valued the warm and helpful attention of the staff. Service at reception was outstanding.
The US Grant lives up to its name as a member of The Luxury Collection. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the foyer is elegant and welcoming, and the service exceptional. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic bldg in Gaslamp area

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Beautiful historic hotel with a courteous staff; very disruptive other guests made our stay less enjoyable