Ratings based on 1,096 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Accommodations were beautiful and the service was excellent.
Location: Near Gaslamp district - great restaurants/shopping within walking distance. Seaport village with shopping/museums nearby. Balboa park- zoo, museums.
The hotel was beautiful and in a very convenient location. Close to shopping and great restaurants. The room was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. The valet parking was very prompt and gave us great directions. The concierge gave us fabulous recommendations for restaurants and made reservations for us. The art gallery was beautiful. I will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Great Stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: decor and staff
The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The decor was warm and somewhat grand. We had an issue with a clogged sink,but it was resolved right away. I had an excellent stay and highly recommend the US Grant. It's close to everything!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Pleased with what was given

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I liked the room amenities and the cleanliness.
Cons: Get rid of the parking/valet fee, I don't think it's necessary when the hotel per night is already a good amount of change.
Location: It is a great location for the downtown night life. Everything is within walking distance. There is a nearby plaza (mall) that is across the street.
My thought process of choosing US Grant was based off from location, quality and reviews from outside sources. The pictures that we're given on the site did it's job, gave the illusion of a spacious room when it really wasn't. Maybe it was my fault that I didn't the full research on the blueprint of a superior room. Overall, my stay there was quite pleasant with the staff and the environment. Did not know there was a pricey parking fee per night, which was not cool. I figured the high standards and pricing of the hotel something like that would already be included. I would suggest people to go here if there were going to stay in the downtown area for the night life but if they were to visit the city and the outskirts to go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel with Old World Charm.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The location is ideal, especially if you want to take public transit, walk a few blocks to dinner, walk to the water taxis etc. It is lacking things like a pool and gym, but they can send you to another hotel to use theirs. Would have also liked a coffee bar rather than going to the dining room. Lastly, the hike to our room from the elevator was a bother at times, but once inside your room, everything is excellent. The lobby is beautiful and we will return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The concierge staff was very polite, knowledgeable and helpful.
Cons: as above
We travel extensively and do not skinge on spending on hotel stays. Our rooms both booked through you were different. We arrived at San Diego at 4pm and were told our rooms are not yet ready. They gave us one room at 415 pm and the second room was only given at 530 pm after repeated reminders. The first room seating area did not have a TV, just the sofa and study table. only one bedside table was given and there was hardly any room at the other end of the bed so there was no side table. And that was the side which had power socket to charge our phone!! So we had to keep our phone on the floor while it charged. There were no drawers/dresser area in which we could keep our clothes. The bathroom did not have bathtub. And turn down service was erratic and awful. Safety vault needed to be repaired. The second room had all the ammenities-bedroom area was spacious with bedside table at both ends, seating room had the TV with dresser to keep clothes but the ceiling lights in seating area but faulty/bathtub stopper was missing and could not be replaced. In all awful experience and too many things out of place for a single stay. Will never recommend anyone to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Most everything other than expensive valet and loud hallways.
Cons: Don't charge so much for valet.
Location: EVERYTHING was convenient from the Grant.
The US Grant was a convenient, luxurious hotel. The room size was decent, bathroom size was decent. You can hear everything that happens in the hallway and doors slamming was a common occurrence. Staff was very friendly and the hotel overall was very nice. I did not like paying $39 per day for valet service...you can't park yourself. You are 5 minutes of walking distance from great restaurants and the mall. Overall the experience was good and I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ

Hotel stay

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Allowed us to bring along our two pets.
Cons: A grassy area for the dogs.
Location: A tremendous amount of pet friendly restaurants.
Throughly enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again in the fall. Thank you. Jerry and Cecilia Spencer Peoria, AZ
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia

Beautiful hotel with a very friendly staff.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautifully updated. It would be perfect if it were not facing a run down hotel with homeless people everywhere.
Cons: Nothing on the hotel's part, just a run down area. Lower parking fees!
Location: scary location, rundown hotels and homeless people everywhere! Gaslamp area nearby.
The hotel was very beautiful and clean . The staff couldn't be more kind and friendly. Did not like paying $39.00 per night parking. It was more to park the car than it was to rent it! The downtown area is extremely trashy and homeless people are everywhere. Not th hotel's fault. It was so noisy outside that it was hard to sleep. I would avoid staying downtown from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, FL

US Grant Hotel -- San Diego -- An Awesome Place

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The service and staff were exceptional. They have 24 hour room service, albeit somewhat limited selection after 11 p.m. But still, the food was great.
Cons: More extensive choices for late night room service.
Checked-in late. Good speedy and great room service. Next morning, breakfast was waiting for me, and the coffee was spectacular!! Move over Starbucks. The bar downstairs was also good. No complaints. I plan on staying there anytime I'm in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Anniversary

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The staff was outstanding and made us feel welcomed. The hotel was fascinating and far exceeded our expectations. I look forward to returning the next time we are in San Diego.