Ratings based on 1,391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod

Very nice hotel with great location.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The entire staff we met was very responsive to requests.
Cons: We should have been told that the handicap room we were assigned did not allow the shower water temperature, which was much to hot, to be adjusted.
Location: Easy walk to restaurants in the Gas Lamp District and an easy ride to Balboa Park, USS Midway, Little Italy, Coronado and Point Loma.
We stayed for four nights and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was a decent size, the furnishing were up-to-date and more importantly the bed was comfortable. Hotel restaurant had a limited menu but there are so many restaurants a short walk away that it didn't matter. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Not Ready

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location and reputation but the second is now questioned.
Cons: Preparation and communications. We would have rented a different room, we thought we got queens.
Location: GREAT location. Everything nearby; Gaslamp, Petco, Horton Plaza
We arrived @ 3:30 as per request (check in after 3 pm). There was a long line at reception and we were told the room was NOT ready and there was a waiting room for us. We are San Diegans and needed to get ready for a concert. We needed our room. Our room was VERY small with only double beds, not queens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
The room doesn't worth $400 per night. No facilities in the room! Generally I'm not happy with the money I paid for this hotel and definitely not coming anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

The US Grant is a wonderful hotel!

Posted May 14, 2015
Great location, good onsite food, pleasant, knowledgeable and professional staff! Would highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, OR

Beautiful 4 star hotel...should not be 5 stars

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It's beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We were asked many times if we needed anything.
Cons: Cleanliness (hallway floors were dirty), quality of beds, noise insulation, and the heating/cooling system should have a range for setting.
Location: Location is great on the East end of Gaslamp. Lots of restaurants close by and most things you'd like to see are within a 20 minute walk.
The beds are just ok and could use an upgrade. Our room had lots of little black flies in the bathroom (at one point I counted 20). My fault for not mentioning it and/or changing rooms. This was very irritating and made the room feel dirty. The hallways are noisy. Staff is excellent and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Veneta, OR

Nicely located

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The bed, the shower, the location.
Cons: It can be noisy.
Location: see above.
San Diego is a great walking town and this hotel is situated very well-close to the Gaslamp District, close to the trains, close to the water. They spoil you almost too much, but compared to other hotels, the extra attention is pretty enjoyable. FABULOUS BED!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange, CA

Nice hotel close to everything..

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The staff was super friendly and made me feel at home. I would definitely stay here the next time I'm in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Second Class Citizens?

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Beds and cleanliness of room fine. Foyer lovely and pleasant to sit in.
Cons: Customer service needs to be improved dramatically.
Location: San Diego Zoo/ Museums in Balboa Park. Oldtown a delight and charming. Harbour cruises very good value for money.
No tea and coffee facilities - had to request several times before they arrived. coffee machine and kettle sent up eventually BUT no tea bags or coffee and, again, several requests made before they arrived. BA lost our luggage and it arrived on day 2 in the middle of the night. When we enquired at the front desk, we were told it had arrived in the middle of the night and been put in storage. They promised they would send it up and, again, it never arrived - despite our having reminded them that we had been 3 days without a change of clothing. We had to trail down yet again to the front desk to ask where it was. We were made to feel like second class citizens by the desk staff - why I dont know - we are a mother and daughter and seasoned USA travellers. Hotel info book not accurate. The most unhelpful staff I have ever met - not offensive but very unconcerned about helping guests. The hotel itself was lovely but our room was next to the lift - very noisy with guests coming in in the early hours.- no pool though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Amazing historical value and interest.
Cons: Price of parking is ridiculous.
Location: We know SD so we had fun walking aVISITING OTHER PORT AREAS.
A wonderful find with rates that are a blessing to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lagos

Nice hotel close to every desire for tourism

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location, security, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Offer free wifi to every guest....It'll cost nothing.
Location: It has a fantastic location. It is central to every good thing
Very courteous staff, secure environment and fringe benefits as complimentary (e.g. I was offered complimentary free wifi even though they come at a cost).