Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
The room doesn't worth $400 per night. No facilities in the room! Generally I'm not happy with the money I paid for this hotel and definitely not coming anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

The US Grant is a wonderful hotel!

Posted May 14, 2015
Great location, good onsite food, pleasant, knowledgeable and professional staff! Would highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, OR

Beautiful 4 star hotel...should not be 5 stars

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It's beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We were asked many times if we needed anything.
Cons: Cleanliness (hallway floors were dirty), quality of beds, noise insulation, and the heating/cooling system should have a range for setting.
Location: Location is great on the East end of Gaslamp. Lots of restaurants close by and most things you'd like to see are within a 20 minute walk.
The beds are just ok and could use an upgrade. Our room had lots of little black flies in the bathroom (at one point I counted 20). My fault for not mentioning it and/or changing rooms. This was very irritating and made the room feel dirty. The hallways are noisy. Staff is excellent and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Veneta, OR

Nicely located

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The bed, the shower, the location.
Cons: It can be noisy.
Location: see above.
San Diego is a great walking town and this hotel is situated very well-close to the Gaslamp District, close to the trains, close to the water. They spoil you almost too much, but compared to other hotels, the extra attention is pretty enjoyable. FABULOUS BED!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange, CA

Nice hotel close to everything..

Posted Apr 8, 2015
The staff was super friendly and made me feel at home. I would definitely stay here the next time I'm in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Second Class Citizens?

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Beds and cleanliness of room fine. Foyer lovely and pleasant to sit in.
Cons: Customer service needs to be improved dramatically.
Location: San Diego Zoo/ Museums in Balboa Park. Oldtown a delight and charming. Harbour cruises very good value for money.
No tea and coffee facilities - had to request several times before they arrived. coffee machine and kettle sent up eventually BUT no tea bags or coffee and, again, several requests made before they arrived. BA lost our luggage and it arrived on day 2 in the middle of the night. When we enquired at the front desk, we were told it had arrived in the middle of the night and been put in storage. They promised they would send it up and, again, it never arrived - despite our having reminded them that we had been 3 days without a change of clothing. We had to trail down yet again to the front desk to ask where it was. We were made to feel like second class citizens by the desk staff - why I dont know - we are a mother and daughter and seasoned USA travellers. Hotel info book not accurate. The most unhelpful staff I have ever met - not offensive but very unconcerned about helping guests. The hotel itself was lovely but our room was next to the lift - very noisy with guests coming in in the early hours.- no pool though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Amazing historical value and interest.
Cons: Price of parking is ridiculous.
Location: We know SD so we had fun walking aVISITING OTHER PORT AREAS.
A wonderful find with rates that are a blessing to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lagos

Nice hotel close to every desire for tourism

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location, security, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Offer free wifi to every guest....It'll cost nothing.
Location: It has a fantastic location. It is central to every good thing
Very courteous staff, secure environment and fringe benefits as complimentary (e.g. I was offered complimentary free wifi even though they come at a cost).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Old World Charm in San Diego

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I have stayed in a number of hotels in San Diego, but the US Grant is somewhat of a sleeping giant. I felt relaxed as soon as I entered. During the day I went back and forth from a nearby Marriott where I was attending a conference. I couldn't wait to get back to the quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The carpets in the hallways were in need of replacement, but the quality and size of the rooms more than made up for it. The food in the restaurant was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Luxurious hotel in San Diego

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable room. Free internet access. Very nice lobby. Great location.
Cons: More friendly staff at the front desk.
Location: Great restaurants nearby. Close to a big mall. Close to the conference centre, the harbour and the Balboa Park.
I had a conference in San Diego and decided to stay at this hotel because there was a rebate on Expedia. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The lobby was very luxurious and had very comfortable seating. The room was quite large, very comfortable and very luxurious. The bathroom was big and had a large shower. The hotel was very well located with many great restaurants within a walking distance. The hotel it not far from the harbour, from the Balboa Park and from the conference centre. The hotel provided free internet access for Starwood members. The only negative comment I would make is that the staff at the front desk was not very friendly.