Ratings based on 1,405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Truly elegant hotel from a bygone era. Staff are genuinely happy, helpful and willing to share their knowledge of San Diego and the best spots.
Cons: Check in upon arrival. We stated in March our arrival would be late morning thus needing check in before 3PM. However we could not until 2:30PM.
Location: Museums, Seaport, Ships, downtown, Gaslight, churches, Coronado
Most pleasant experience. From arrival to departure. San Diego is very clean for the most part. The trolleys and buses were on time, frequent and easy to use. The US Grant Hotel was exceptional as was their staff. There was a large variety of foods to choose from such as seafood, Mexican, Asian, Suishi and Americana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with great service.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The staff were very friendly & helful. The bed was very comfortable. The decor was beautiful. Location was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Convenient, comfortable and elegant

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The hotel seems to be close to everything. The staff is great and the room is clean and comfortable. What more can you ask.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Downtown convenience, but high parking costs.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The service was amazing.
Cons: There is a pool in the basement that was used back in the prohibition era...Open It.
Location: Downtown restaurants..rent a bike..$7/hr. The bay tours walking distance.
The staff was amazing...Concierge, Valet, front desk, and service in the room. The hotel is a great piece of history and was fun to explore. You can use the pool at the other hotel, and parking was expensive..$42/day. If you want a historic hotel with great service and don't mind not having a pool....this was a great stay for us. Went on vacation with the family...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, La.

I loved it!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Before arriving, we had some flight delays, which made us arrive the morning after we were supposed to check in. They were very understanding. Upon arrival, we mentioned what happened to the concierge, and he upgraded us to the preferred guest floor. The room was spacious and beautiful. The room service/maid ladies were very sweet and we had a chocolate mint on our pillow every evening when we got back to the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manhattan beach

Worst 5 stars hotel we have ever been to

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Terrible concierage staff with attitude, when we complained about it to the manager, she was totally on the staff's side, making tons of excuses. Obviously being a spg member doesn't really mean anything. So not professional, bad management. There were food crumbs on the bed. Everything took forever, it took them two hour to come and finally change the sheets for us. Staff dropped the clean sheets on the ground several times. You can't find privacy sign in the room. Sink was dirty. There is no pool in this 5 star hotel. After this trip I realize you can't really rely on the star rating anymore. Definitely Recommend the hard rock hotel, nice staff, clean place and it's only a 4 star hotel. Seems like they got it backwards between the two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant, historic hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Historical elegance.
Cons: Valet parking only and we thought $42.00 per night was excessive. Otherwise very nice.
Location: Very easy walking to night life, shopping and harbor activities. Walking distance to main trolley station to go to other tourist areas by trolley.
Very nice staff, elegant hotel and comfy room. It's in an area of San Diego that has lots of fun bars, restaurants and shops. Fun to wonder around and explore the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Amazing One Night Stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
I was amazed at how friendly and professional the staff was. The Signature Suite was dreamy. The beds were so comfortable and everything was very clean. It was a very luxurious experience. I will absolutely be staying there again the next time I'm in San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Muy agradable

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Ubicación y comodidad
Cons: El color azul de los pasillos y mas iluminacion natural
Location: Mucha actividad para los turistas.
Confortable, amigable, bien ubicado, muchos restaurantes alrededor. Puedes ir caminando a sitios de interés como el porta aviones, y toda la zona de la calle Harbor, donde se puede admirar el mar. Cerca del puente que conecta con la isla Coronado, y muy cerca, a 10 minutos del aeropuerto, por lo que disfrutas tu estancia en el hotel hasta el último minuto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Kansas City

Nice Hotel-Great Location

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfy, pillows not so great. Turn down service was a nice surprise. Every evening upon returning from dinner the room was set for romance.
Cons: Clear information regarding parking fees. They did not even tell us the fee at check in, not until we parked the car.
Location: Museums, Balboa Park, shopping, restaurants, and night life.
The hotel was very nice. We were centrally located and within two miles (walking distance for us) of Balboa Park, Petco Park, USS Midway, Sea Harbor, and many great restaurants. The hotel staff provided us with a few bottles of water for free daily. The shower was large and water had nice flow. Our greatest disappointment was while the website stated parking was available it did not include the price. The only parking available was $42.00 per night. We didn't even need a car while we were there. The parking was more expensive than renting the car. Other parking near the hotel had a limit of eight hours.