Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

US Grant

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Staff. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wollongong NSW Australia

Great Staff

Posted Sep 6, 2014
We love San Diego have been there several times but this was the first time we stayed at this hotel and we are so glad we did. It is a great hotel so so central and really nothing to fault, but in amongst the exellence was the most amazing staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble, Simly stunning. If I have to complain it would be the $39 charge per 24 hours for parking. Thoroughly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The customer service, decor and comfort.
The customer service was top notch. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The location was ideal because you could walk or take public transportation easily to several tourist sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Enjoyed our local get away!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My wife and I were looking for a wonderful place to spend a memorable place to spend our 5th wedding anniversary. I use to work as a chef in a local San Diego Casino, and one if the chefs I use to work with VESA Lepalla use to be the Executive Chef for the Grant a while back. I told him in a conversation one time while speaking about the Grant thT one day I would like to stay there. Well, I got the chance to and loved it! The only thing I didn't like was the fact that I paid the amount I did for the room, and then had to pay $39 for parking? Parking should have been included in the price of the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and staff

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: See above
We stayed five nights and loved our stay. the hotel is beautiful and the staff are very attentive. Th elocution is great; beside the Gaslamp Quarter and shopping mall. Plenty of restaurant options and walking distance to see a Padres Game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allen, Texas

Elegant hotel with charm and rich history...

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: History, location, and friendliness. Grant Grill is outstanding food!
Cons: Difficult to find electrical outlets and the cost of Wifi was annoying.
Location: Macy's across the street. Wide variety of restaurants within walking distance.
The staff was very friendly, smiling, ready to help. Enjoyed this part of town. Room was comfortable with a 'bed and breakfast' feel to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Accommodations were beautiful and the service was excellent.
Location: Near Gaslamp district - great restaurants/shopping within walking distance. Seaport village with shopping/museums nearby. Balboa park- zoo, museums.
The hotel was beautiful and in a very convenient location. Close to shopping and great restaurants. The room was very comfortable and the staff was excellent. The valet parking was very prompt and gave us great directions. The concierge gave us fabulous recommendations for restaurants and made reservations for us. The art gallery was beautiful. I will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Great Stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: decor and staff
The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The decor was warm and somewhat grand. We had an issue with a clogged sink,but it was resolved right away. I had an excellent stay and highly recommend the US Grant. It's close to everything!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Pleased with what was given

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I liked the room amenities and the cleanliness.
Cons: Get rid of the parking/valet fee, I don't think it's necessary when the hotel per night is already a good amount of change.
Location: It is a great location for the downtown night life. Everything is within walking distance. There is a nearby plaza (mall) that is across the street.
My thought process of choosing US Grant was based off from location, quality and reviews from outside sources. The pictures that we're given on the site did it's job, gave the illusion of a spacious room when it really wasn't. Maybe it was my fault that I didn't the full research on the blueprint of a superior room. Overall, my stay there was quite pleasant with the staff and the environment. Did not know there was a pricey parking fee per night, which was not cool. I figured the high standards and pricing of the hotel something like that would already be included. I would suggest people to go here if there were going to stay in the downtown area for the night life but if they were to visit the city and the outskirts to go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel with Old World Charm.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The location is ideal, especially if you want to take public transit, walk a few blocks to dinner, walk to the water taxis etc. It is lacking things like a pool and gym, but they can send you to another hotel to use theirs. Would have also liked a coffee bar rather than going to the dining room. Lastly, the hike to our room from the elevator was a bother at times, but once inside your room, everything is excellent. The lobby is beautiful and we will return.