Ratings based on 1,656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Deceiving hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
It was my first stay at Westin. I was expecting super comfy beds. Not at all. The decor is dated. I booked king size bed and was given double.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ramos

Great stay!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I came to San Diego for a mini birthday getaway. The lady that checked me in was very friendly, she helped sign me up for the spg program and gave us a free dessert for my birthday! My only complaint is that they don't have anyone working by the pool taking food or drink orders. However the rooms were clean and comfortable with nice views of the beach! Definitely would stay therre again and it was Only a 5 dollar can ride to gaslamp district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
Dear Ramos, I am pleased to hear that we could make your birthday getaway special! Here at the Westin San Diego, we strive to make every stay feel like you are home and exceed all your expectations. I hope that you continually choose Westin for your travel and we see you again soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Clean Close to everywhere

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Nice Clean Near harbor , downtown , gaslamp area and airport .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
Hello Hussain, We are proud of the beautiful surroundings and know it helps our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived. We are a perfect choice for traveling to San Diego. Our location makes it easy to get around the harbor, Little Italy, Seaport Village and the Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Great location, close to Santa Fe Depot.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Close to Santa Fe Depot. Convenient for people taking amtrak to San Diego for quick staycation. As well as getting around town via Trolley
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
Our location makes it easy to travel around without a car. Centrally located between the busy Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, Seaport Village and the harbor, we are walking distance to great shops and dining. You can even take the ferry to Coronado! I hope we can welcome you back to San Diego again soon! Be Well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with amenities close to the harbor

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the proximity to the bay and the modern design.
Cons: The bathroom was small and needs an exhaust fan, not a lot of restaurants immediately around but the city is very walkable and the train is close.
Location: Harbor-USS Midway, Gaslamp district, outdoor shopping mall. If you're new to SD take the Old Town Trolley tour on your first day to get your bearings!
I spent two days at the hotel and would be very happy to stay there when I head back to San Diego. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even gave me a couple of free shuttle rides to various spots downtown when I thought I needed a cab. Unfortunately, I did not utilize most of the facilities at the hotel (bar/restaurant, outdoor pool, fitness room) as I was out seeing the sights. However, it was nice to know they were there if I wanted/needed them. I did use (and appreciate) the cafe for a quick-grab breakfast which worked well for me. This location is about 5-6 blocks from the harbor, which was very walkable. It's a little further from the Gaslamp district (10 blocks?) but is still walkable during the day. The Gaslamp district gets a little crazy at night so walking back to the hotel may be a little sketchy. Fortunately, cabs (car and pedal) abound in the district. The room was very comfortable; the bathroom was a little small but the vanity was nice and large. The room came with a refrigerator (no mini bar) but there is a bar in the hotel and a small gift/convenience shop attached for small sundries. I stayed in a room with one king bed which also included a lounge chair and a desk with chair. The climate controls worked very well; I slept like a baby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
Hello Michelle, Our location is ideal for walking around to the local areas and we are just blocks away from public transportation centers. I am pleased you enjoyed our Aroma Café for your grab and go breakfast. Thank you for your detailed review, recognizing our amazing staff and I hope to see you in San Diego again soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Beautiful hotel!! Luxury for a great price! Would definitely stay here in the future. Wooooooohhhhhhhhhoooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us in San Diego! Here at Westin, we always do our best to accommodate your needs. Whether it is getting you in the right room to service, we strive to exceed all your expectations. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you and your family back in San Diego again soon! Kind Regards, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Harbor Drive and the airport

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Hotel was in easy walking distance of most attractions along the Harbor Drive waterfront. Used the hotel shuttle for airport transportation and didn't need a rental car for a short day and a half trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
We are a great choice for traveling for leisure or business. Our location is ideal for walking around to the local areas and we are just blocks away from public transportation centers. We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel at a nice price

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Stayed one night in a none busy area. Walking distants from ports, shopping, and train station. The room we had, had a nice view of bay and was very quiet. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
We are proud of the beautiful surroundings and know it helps our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived. We are a perfect choice for traveling to San Diego. Our location makes it easy to get around the harbor, Little Italy, Seaport Village and the Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pleasant

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Here for Labor Day weekend, they accommodated us for 2 beds, only reason I'm giving it a 3 on cleanliness is because room smelled a bit like smoker, otherwise a 4-5. Staff Rebecca was very polite in helping us check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
I am so happy to hear you were able to spend the holiday weekend with us in San Diego. It was disappointing to hear your room smelled of smoke as we are a completely smoke free property. Thank you for recognizing Rebecca as our team always enjoys seeing their name's in reviews! We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles California

Close to everything

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Nice hotel, but expected more from the westin. That's all I could say..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by aturogm, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Thank you for your recent stay and 5 star review. I was disappointed to hear we did not live up to expectations. I hope we see you again so we can show you a true Westin experience! Be well, Alyssa Turowski General Manager