Ratings based on 1,785 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little village hotel:)

Posted Jun 1, 2015
I lived staying here, I would just change the door of the restroom to improve privacy especially when traveling with friends! Everything is great :) will definitely come back
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tucson az

Hotel next to mall.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Close to mall.
Cons: Rooms need total renovation.
Location: Shopping, golf
Front desk lady was not friendly and never smiled. Terrible mattress, if one person moves the whole mattress moves waking other person, poor sleep, morning backache, definitely not a 3 1/2 star hotel mattress. Half TV (CRT old bulky) channels did not work and on second night tv and Internet service did not work. Hairdryer did not work. Room did not get clean because they said the do not disturb sign was up. Sorry I slept in. Prepare to pay $18 for parking and $14 resort fee. I could go on but you get the idea. We have stayed here before had a very comfortable room with a nice LED tv and ambience but, this time the place seemed deserted. The parking lot was almost and the empty grounds very neglected. At the end of our stay, I noticed a sign stating they were going into new ownership, so I guess that is why they don't care at this point. Won t go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Food Service

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful property and very nice staff
Cons: Walked into room and I am wowed until seeing the large stain on carpet and at closer look the carpet was pretty filthy.
Location: Great Location.. Fashion Mall right behind hotel and transit. And driving by car you can get to main attractions within 15 minutes.
The Terrace Café had 5 minutes left before closing and I hadn't had dinner so I asked if I could get something real fast and the gentleman said Oh Charleys were open and Trellis Grille so I could get something there >. Well by the time I ran around they both were closed ...he wasn't closed yet so was very disappointed he wouldn't help me. That happened on Monday night May 25 around 9:50pm I did find the general store open in the Lobby and the lady was still open and said I was her last customer.. That was much better service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate training space

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Unique charm feel to it on the outside.
Cons: Most of everything needs to be improved. Quality of rooms, cleanliness, updating, food quality, etc.
Location: Close to fashion valley mall and not far from the zoo or Sea World.
I was very disappointed in the overall quality of this hotel/ "resort". This pictures presented depict a different experience than one might expect. It does not quantify for what most would view as a "resort." This hotel is dated and needs major cleaning and maintenance to keep up with the rest of the industry. The outside grounds are well maintained and are about the only bright spot of the hotel. While it has potential for some unique charm and is in a decent location for good shopping experiences, it is lacking quality in some basic areas such as cleanliness, food choices, and basic customer service. The training space (which was why I was there) was more than adequate and I'm assuming why the trainers selected the site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd experience.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Everything.
Location: There's a large mall right around the corner that's convenient.
Random confusing hotel. It took 30 minutes to find our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom riverside

Old hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
the rooms look like they haven't been updated since the 50's. Huge stains on the carpet, hair on the ceiling, sticky stuff on the framed art, rust stains, and cracked walls. Thank God the beds were ok and clean. I'm surprised this place isn't a 1 1/2 star
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Landscaping & Location
Cons: Cleanliness of the room - e.g. trim around doors, door handles in bathroom area
Location: Handy to trolley & Fashion Valley
Check-in was easy & pleasant. No other comments regarding this stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Helsinki

Hyvä hotelli Mission Valleyssa.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Se oli kätevin vaihtoehto, jos halusi osallistua siellä pidettävään konferenssiin.
Cons: Kelley's steak house voitaisiin avata. Eastern high-rise rakennuksen huoneesta puuttui safety box.
Location: Sunset Cliffs ja Point Loma näkemisen arvoisia. Town and Countryn vieressä on San Diego Trolleyn pysäkki ja Fashion Valley Mall.
Olen osallistunut konferenssiin hotellin yhteydessä olevassa Convention Centerissä toistakymmentä kertaa. Se kuulemma puretaan. Kelley's steak house oli suljettu ja remontoitavana. Muutenkin vähän remonttia siellä sun täällä. Eastern high-rise rakennuksen parvekkeita maalattiin.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newark, NY

Beautiful grounds, rooms older but pleasant

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Gardens, peace and quiet, staff.
Cons: Beds
Location: Old Town San Diego is about a mile and a half away by car. A golf course is close enough to walk to.
We booked the hotel at the very last possible minute - standing in front of the desk as a matter of fact - after the first hotel we'd reserved for the weekend turned out to be pretty awful and we opted out. The manager gave us an upgrade to a garden suite (separate dressing room between the main room and bath), and the gardens - ALL the gardens! - at this place are absolutely beautiful! I don't know who takes care of all the roses, but they are just amazing, almost breathtaking. On the plus side, the room was very clean, and the furnishings quite pretty; a table with two chairs, and a TV cabinet/dresser, with more drawer space in the dressing room, made the room seem quite cozy and comfortable. It was quite a ways back from the front of the property, so it was also very quiet; no road noise to speak of at all. On the downside, the beds were full-size, not queen. Probably fine for one person per bed, but hubby and I felt cramped. We are used to a king or queen at home, and having to share a full-size bed - our son was traveling with us and had the other - made for a pretty restless couple of nights. Additionally, the mattresses were... 'bouncy' for lack of a better word. When one of us turned over, the other usually woke up at least a bit, so neither of us slept too well. Our son had no complaints - but he's a Marine who'd just come back from two weeks field training, sleeping on the ground, so... The additional 'resort fees', parking fees etc. were pricey, I thought.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Apr 29, 2015
The room was adequate other than the low water pressure. My main complaint is all the hidden fee's. The receptionist gave me a parking pass & didn't bother to mention that it would cost me $36 when I checked out. I asked for fridge & wasn't told about the $15 fee for that either. I ended up paying almost $100 in fees.